SeaTrek Sailing Adventures
SeaTrek Sailing Adventures
5
Scuba & SnorkellingBoat ToursBoat Rentals
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
About
SeaTrek Sailing Adventures is an expedition travel company specialising in small-ship cruising adventures through the many islands of the eastern Indonesian archipelago; a region that is home to myriad cultures, the Spice Islands, mighty Komodo dragons, giant manta rays, exquisite birds of paradise, and is all-in-all one of the last and most astonishing frontiers in adventure travel on Earth.
Bali, Indonesia
Meets animal welfare guidelines

Awards
Travelers' Choice
2024

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Travelers talk about
(11 reviews)
(11 reviews)
(9 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles80 reviews
Excellent
79
Very good
0
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
1

John D
Brisbane, Australia22 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020

Stepping aboard the wooden motor sailing yacht M/S Katharina located in the turquoise waters of Raja Ampat a snorkelling adventure in paradise awaits you. Slipping over the side of Katharina’s zodiac into the waters to a kaleidoscopic vista be it from off the coral or unlimited tropical fish confirms you’re in an underwater paradise.

All this happens because the crew of the Katharina are very good at their on board position
Be it the water event tour guide knowing best reef to snorkel over, the chef working out of his pocket size galley producing wonderful creations three time a day or the welcoming back on board team with smiling faces and lending hands.

But a few ideas to make one’s adventure more comfortable
Consider requesting a bunk bed cabin. They offer more personal space when resting
Pack more than one pair of swimmers.
Ensure you have enough protection from the sun while snorkelling. Long sleeve cotton tops for the body and for the lower half half, shorts. Tropical sunshine bites,
Substantial walking shoes are a must for land based hikes looking for the Birds of Paradise
A small head worn torch will come in handy on more then one occasion.





Written February 24, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Some great tips there for future guests, thanks very much. I would say that for couples, however, that bunk beds might take a little bit of the romance away that these cruises most certainly offer. Our crews and tour leaders certainly deserve your praise, so thank you very much for that. They really do go the extra mile to make sure our guests have the time of their lives. It certainly sounds like they did that for you. We look forward to having you back on the boat sometime. Kind regards, Michael and the SeaTrek Team.
Written February 27, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Judi K
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2019
This was our second trip with SeaTrek, this time on the Katharina sailing around West Papua and Raja Ampat as a family with our college aged daughter. Our first trip with SeaTrek was last April sailing from Bali to Komodo on the Ombak Putih which we loved so much we decided to do another trip with them this time. Can never say enough about the boats and the crew. The service and attention is top notch on both vessels. Each trip was a different experience and we wrote a prior review for the Bali to Komodo dancing with Dragons trip. On this trip our guide Arie was extremely experience and knew all the best spots to go and made the 10 days on board quite the adventure. Snorkeling with the whale sharks was an awesome experience that is hard to describe unless you have done it. Likewise snorkeling with the jelly fish that have lost their ability to sting because where they are located they have no predators was an amazing experience. The variety and all the different colors of the coral in Raja Ampat is hard to describe, but it was one of the most alive and vibrant coral snorkeling trips we have ever been on. The abundance of reef fish, sea turtles and occasional reef sharks added to the amazing experience on each snorkeling adventure. Of course seeing and watching three different types of birds of paradise was the icing on the cake, as was seeing the dolphins swim by the boat as well as the whale sighting. If you want a trip that has a bit of all you would want in a paradise adventure, great snorkeling, good hike with great views of the islands of Raja Ampat, snorkeling with sea creatures that are not found in most places in the world, and birds with magnificent colors and unusual dancing behaviors then we would say this is the trip to do. It was a great 10 days on board a smaller (not cruise ship style) locally design sailing boat with awesome food, good accomodations on board and with a limited number of guests so that there was always a place to escape to if you wanted a little time to yourself. We would recommend this for anyone who loves to snorkel in a warm tropical paradise.
Written January 17, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Robert and Judi, Wow, it's breathtaking just reading your description of the cruise, let alone actually being there. Thanks so much for your kind words, and indeed for returning so quickly to sail with us again. We are delighted that could once again deliver such a great variety of experiences to you, and especially with your daughter in tow. Now you know that no two trips are the same we look forward to hosting you again one day. All the best, Michael
Written January 21, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Deborah W
New York Mills, NY69 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020
12 days on a beautiful sailing/power boat, large cabins with ensuite baths, fabulous crew and guides on an exquisitely maintained traditonal "pinisi" originally for fishing and transportation. Our tour was all about seeing the Birds of Paradise through the eyes of Alfred Russel Wallace, the natural selection 19th century explorer. We had a daily lecture by an expert about Wallace whose knowledge bars none. Further his knowledge, of not only birds, but underwater sea life, along with two tops guides from SeaTrek made the at least once a day snorkeling most interesting. The bird watching often required 4 am wake up calls in order to get to the sites to see the Bird of Paradise perform their ritual mating dance. Snorkeling gear is provided by SeaTrek. SeaTrek also provides different kinds of tours - check their website. Their were occasional visits to local villages to understand the local cultural life.
I can't say enough for the quality of the SeaTrek tour guides and the care of the crew for all of the passengers' welfare.
I plan to do this journey again!
Written February 19, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Deborah, So glad you had a great time with us ans that you were able to learn so much and be inspired by our tour leaders,m crews and experts. Thanks so much for sharing your experiences with us and potential future guests. We look forward to having you back again someday, but one question we have for you is, is 12 days enough? All the best, Michael & the SeaTrek Team.
Written February 23, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

CalifornianTraveler
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2019
This company appears is crooked. They cancelled a trip that was due to occur September 2020, are unable to provide an equivalent cruise, and refuse to provide a refund despite their website clearly saying that "On very rare occasions that a trip cancellation may occur, we will offer you either an alternative cruise or a full refund."
I should have been warned when I found out they do not accept credit cards for payment.
Beware.
Written July 27, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Californian Traveler 2, Thank you for reaching out. It’s always good to get feedback from guests, good and bad. I would like to point out a few things in response, if I may. Covid 19 has thrown everyone in the travel industry into a spin as to how to honour their guests’ bookings. On the whole, many tour operators have opted not to give refunds, but have instead responded by offering to rebook or to offer credit notes for the full value of the monies paid to them.to guests who have had their travel plans disrupted Giving credit on future trips is indeed the road that many of the world’s major airlines have chosen. Doing right by our guests is important to us, so SeaTrek is offering one of two choices: the first is to offer guests the chance to rebook to a future date; if they are not able to make a decision on a cruise, we have issued a credit note for the full amount that we have been paid for use against a future cruise. These are the two choices we have offered you on the trips that you have booked. Your deposit monies are safe and can be used against any cruise in 2021 that you choose to take. As for accepting credit card payments, we can and do accept them through PayPal, but the fees amount to close to 7% of the amount to be paid, so the vast majority of our guests choose to pay by bank transfer rather than pay this fee. This was explained to you late last year when the deposits were made. We have worked closely with our affected guests over recent months to come to a resolution and they have been very understanding and patient with us in what are difficult times. We understand how frustrating it all can be, so we are very appreciative of the support they have shown and continue to show. We would very much like to resolve the issue and bring a smile to your face with a rebooking or a credit note, Californian Traveler 2, so please do get in touch. We will be happy to help. Kind regards, Michael
Written July 29, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Richard J
alameda, United States9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2022
We were treated to incredible wildlife and cultural experiences that were authentic, safe, and 'once in a lifetime' experiences.

The crew of the Katharina was, to a person, kind, friendly, helpful as well as musically talented! We were treated to a beach party where the entire crew played instruments, sang songs and danced with us.

Swimming with whale sharks and a manta ray; up close and personal with Komodo Dragons, the most beautiful and diverse coral and reef fish we've seen in 20 years, Balinese and Indonesian culture that was wildly different and intriguing from island to island.

We curated a cruise that was preceded by three days of land based tours in Bali, proper, operating out of a beautiful resort, Kamandalu, making the trip from America all the more worthwhile. I'm now a fan of Balinese dancing (subtle and sophisticated hand, finger and eye movements told a captivating story for us and the instruments of the orchestra supporting the dancers were unlike any I've seen.

And, who knew? I'm now a fan of making Batik art!
Written August 30, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
You are so right on that. Beaches are never underrated, but there is so much more to see and experience in Indonesia when you leave the sun lounger far behind. Especially when you combine it with a cruise on a beautiful pinisi boat like Katharina. We hope that your batik art is still going strong and your love of Balinese dance is as strong as ever. We would love to see you down this way again some day. All the best, The SeaTrek Team
Written August 2, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Renee G
Vancouver, Canada18 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2022 • Couples
Our 2nd 10 day tour on Seatrek’s Ombak Putih filled with snorkelling, light hiking, Birds of Paradise, whale sharks, waterfalls, and beach days with white sugar sand and crystal clear water and beautiful sunsets. We really enjoyed the 10 days but especially appreciated the crew who all seemed happy in their work, worked hard for long hours, but were still consistently warm and friendly. We had a fabulous time: good communication pre-trip, really great crew, great group of passengers, good tour leaders, food was good and varied, our cabin was very well maintained, laundry was a fantastic perk, especially after travelling for several weeks, and we loved that every crew member was able to participate in many activities like raising the sails, driving the dinghies, visiting the waterfall, and coming to the beach with us on beach days. The alcohol they sell on board is very reasonably priced - it’s nice to not feel like you’re getting gouged on board. We’d definitely go again. Highly recommended.
Written November 19, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks very much for the fine details in your review. It's really useful. Our policy on alcohol is to let people have a good time, not an expensive one like on the larger cruise ships After two times on Ombak Putih you are becoming an old hand at this. Third one is a charm! Kind regards, The SeaTrek Team
Written August 14, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

MMM1968
RIVERVIEW, FL202 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2022 • Solo
Trekked aboard the Katharina what a awesome experience! The ship has such charm, and the crew is top-notch! There were only seven guests, which was just perfect! We sailed from Labuan Bajo to Bali during the first part of September 2022. I have sailed on cruise ships before, but this was just—well You need to see it and experience it for yourself!! Every day we had two activities either on land or sea. Though I love to snorkel, I tend to be a big chicken, so I was very happy just going ashore and beachcombing when others did the water activities. The actual owner of the company was on our trip, so it made it so much more fun and we were able to give him feedback. The day we went to see the Komodo dragons was unbelievable. The one day I did go snorkeling: we had a lady who was a chicken like me, but Dani our tour leader took a life ring, and had her hold onto it, and she was able to navigate without fear. I just held onto it lightly just knowing it was there and made me feel more comfortable. That’s the kind of guide Dani was—very accommodating and doing his very best to ensure we were all safe and had a great time. On one of the islands, we were able to see the insides of one of the traditional ships as it was in the process of being built, which was really fascinating.! I don’t know how they did it in such a small space, but the chefs did such a great job making sure we didn’t go hungry! One night we even had a beach barbecue! I was actually so inspired by the trip, and the ship itself that I wrote two poems which I hadn’t done in a long time. So this is definitely one of those adventures that’s kind of off the beaten path. If you want to sit on the beach all day and fry yourself that’s one thing if you want to explore, this is the type of adventure to go on!! Hoping to do the eastern park of the Indonesian islands soon!
Written March 11, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks so much for the lovely recommendation. You are right, it's certainly not a lie-in-the-sun holiday experience, and for anyone looking for a fun and action-packed Indonesian experience then SeaTrek is the only place to be. We would love to have you back to explore the eastern reaches of the country, so if and when you are ready just drop us a line. Regards, The SeaTrek Team
Written August 3, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Joanne P
Denver, CO46 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2023
AMAZING! No lie, this was one of the best trips my husband and I have ever taken. No, it's not cheap, but worth every penny. We wanted celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary in a way we've never done, and this was the way to go!

On the Ombak Putih, with 12 passenger cabins, we had 20 passengers, 2 guides (Tinae and Narto), and about 15 crew members. Every day there were at least 2 excursions, one including a snorkel. We visited small villages where we met local people, snorkeled with all kinds of fish, and were lucky enough to see sea turtles, a manta ray, and whale sharks (!!). We saw dolphins swim by the boat, had great food, and relaxed in between excursions on the boat. Upper deck was where I usually hung out. *sigh* We would eat outside on the lower deck with everyone, and have briefings inside about what our plans were for the next day (ex. describing komodo dragons and their habits)

Our cabins were small but comfortable, and the crew cleaned them every day. Buffet meals were made in a tiny kitchen and put out on the bar. The only decisions I had to make each day were "should I have an omelette, or fruit?" "This bathing suit or that one?" (it was great) No wifi and no cell service made it wonderful to disconnect from the outside world and live in this floating bubble.

But the real stars were the crew, the guides, and the other passengers. The crew was so professional and happy to help with anything. The guides (especially Tinae) handled our endless questions about things like pros. They were well-informed, incredibly helpful, but also so fun to be with. And my husband and I feel like we lucked out with the group of passengers we ended up with. Such a fun bunch, sharing moments dancing on the deck, listening to the crew sing and play music, and experiencing our last night together on a tiny island for an amazing cookout the crew set up, with a huge speaker, lights, decorations, the works!

Tinae also acted as the photographer and I just got the pictures she took, which was great because I have no other underwater photos. Just going the extra mile like that is what made this experience so wonderful. The memories I have from here will be treasured for a long time to come!
Written August 7, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Jo, We are delighted that we were able to bring such happiness to your very special anniversary (congratulations, by the way). Thank you so much for spreading the good cheer to everyone. Here's to the next 25 years, The SeaTrek Team
Written August 14, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

boxrental
Santa Clarita, CA22 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2024 • Couples
This was one of the best trips we have been on, it's not the cheapest, but worth every Penney. From the time we were picked up at the airport we were treated as Family by all of the crew guiding us and taking care of every need and some I did even know about. Nita our Team Leader is wonderful relaying all the interesting info of what we were about to experience. From giant Fruit Bats flying out at dusk to feed to Komodo Dragons and Whale Sharks. At the end of each day we would talk about what a great day it was and how will they beat that, but they did each and every day. A well thought out itinerary for sure. We never had to take a dollar out of our pockets for anything such as Park and Guide fees to Motorbikes in the jungle to hiring locals to help with any gear on land. The water is warm and clear, I have been a dive for over 50 years and there was no need for SCUBA as what we saw in 15-20 feet was as good as any dive I've been on. After each excursion when we returned to the ship we were always greated by the crew waving and cheering to us and a fresh fruit smoothy and a snack as we boarded. The Indoneasian people are happy warm welcoming people which made us all feel comfortable and part of the family, The food everyday was amazing with a variety for all. Our cabine was. a good size with a private bath/shower. If your looking for adventure and something different this has it all !!!

Thank you to the crew of tha Katherina
Written June 11, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you, Ted. That is some high praise, indeed. We agree with you whole heartedly about the snorkelling. With water clarity like this and healthy corals everywhere, there's absolutely no need for cumbersome scuba gear. We are so glad to have met and hopefully exceeded your expectations. Until the next time, The SeaTrek Team
Written June 20, 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Mary W
Denver, CO226 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 • Couples
Absolutely the best! This was our 4th trip with Seatrek and a third of the guests had been with them for many cruises. We plan on going again.
The company has two vessels and we’ve been on both. The Ombak Puti is the larger (12cabins) and more deck space but the Katarina (6 cabins) has its own charm.
These are active tours to remote parts of Indonesia - nature, cultural, snorkeling. For your own safety and enjoyment it’s best if you are in reasonable shape - lots of climbing in and out of boats and some ladders. The staff is solicitous and safety conscious and the guests are interesting. Caters to the 50+ crowd. No divers.
Written February 21, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wow! The fact that you have done four trips speaks absolute volumes that we are getting it right. And thanks for passing on the tips to other guests, bit we aren't just for the 50+ crowd, you know? Kids love us and honeymooners are on the ascendent. I would say that it's for the young at heart, and if anything's too touch, then you can always stay and relax on the boat. Our crew will take care of you! No dinvers, indeed! Just lots of really fantastic snorkelling. Can't wait to have you back for cruise number 5. All the best, and thanks so much for the kind words. Michael and the SeaTrek Team
Written February 23, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 77

SeaTrek Sailing Adventures - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All things to do in Bali
Amusement Parks in BaliZoos & Aquariums in Bali
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars