Hong Kong Free Tours
Hong Kong Free Tours
5
City ToursWalking ToursNight ToursPrivate ToursFood Tours
11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Sunday
11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
About
Discover HK with Hong Kong Free Tours! We offer daily walking tours in different themes, all conducted in English. Travel beyond sightseeing, we connect you with true local culture. Join our us and explore our unique HK stories!
Hong Kong, China

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours and Tickets by Hong Kong Free Tours

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.


5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles1,373 reviews
Excellent
1,287
Very good
67
Average
9
Poor
3
Terrible
7

Digital Nomad
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2020
Terry is a phenomenal guide. I did the "Kowloon Free Tour" at the end of 2018 and it was this memorable that I needed to get back to this to write a review! Not only did Terry have a great spirit throughout the journey, but he was efficient and exceptionally informative too. I highly recommend this tour if you're interested in a unique, local experience.
Written March 9, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Blackhorse
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2019 • Couples
We did four tours in three days with Michael and the gang and can’t recommend them enough. Each tour was of outstanding quality, this is a must do while in HK. Each guide has an abundance of local knowledge that can’t be found in travel guides like Lonely Planet and the passion they possess is infectious.

The fours tours we did were;

1.Walking Tour / Carmen
2.Kowloon Tour / Michael
3.Delicacy Tour / Michael
4.Dragons Back / Bob
Written January 8, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Dea S
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020
We had a wonderful tour with Carmen! She was very knowledgeable, personable, and helpful. We enjoyed learning more about Hong Kong and hearing her personal stories of history and experience. Thank you so much for your quick responses to our questions in planning our tour. Excellent job!
Written January 20, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Derek S
Roslyn, NY853 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2024 • Couples
We did both the dark side tour and the intro tour. The guide was friendly but he was a little hard to understand. He provided free maps with a lot of information which was nice. The sights were okay. The dark side tour was too expensive for what it was but overall nothing was bad.
Written January 30, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Karen D
Balwyn, Australia33 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2017 • Family
Our group of ten took the Free Walking Tour on our first full day in Hong Kong to learn more about this fascinating city. Our guide Alla was very good, and pointed out interesting features as well as telling us about some of the history and culture of the place. We were happy to pay the optional $100HKD per person as we felt it was very good value. Michael took over the Skip the Line to Victoria Peak section and he was also very knowledgeable and helpful. The queue on the last Saturday in December was huge, and I don’t know if we would have bothered without this alternative. At Michael’s suggestion we ate at Mak’s Noidles at The Peak and also did the 3km circular walk: both recommended, in particular the walk.
Written January 6, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Nick H
Chicago, IL12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2017 • Solo
This was probably my best decision of the trip.

I started by taking the free historical tour at 10am on a Saturday. We walked through the streets, down to the waterfront, around buildings, and finally stopped at the church right across from the tram station.

The historical tour was really nice. The tour guide spoke fluent English, and being a true local, had a lot of knowledge about different buildings, landmarks, and sites. There was plenty of time for photos, and even a stop halfway through for the restroom.

The skip-the-line part was quick (which is the beauty of it). We walked up to the station and saw a line that weaved around about 10 times at the station, then across the street, and then about 5 more times. With the tour guide's pass, we jumped right to the front of what I thought was about a 1.5-2 hour wait. We got the best seats on the tram (the right side) and when the 10-minute ride was over, so was the "tour". Like the headline says, it wasn't exactly a tour as much as it was a VIP package that let us use the tour guide's pass to save time.

Boy the looks on some of the faces of the people waiting in line, though, when they saw us just mosey up to the front. Priceless!
Written November 27, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

James M
Milsons Point, Australia5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Both the food tour and Kowloon walking tour were fantastic and so much fun. I would have done another one if I had time. Michael was incredible! This truly made my visit to Hong Kong a lot better. And I got to meet some fellow travellers along the way
Written March 10, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Joshua G
Milan, Italy12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Hong Kong peak tram is a must do, however queues can be anything up to 2-3 hours long. Michael can have you better educated and on the tram in half an hour, then meet you at the top to give more tips for getting the best out of the Sky Observatory. Friendly and worldly guide who can bridge the cultural divide and discuss the ins and outs of life in Hong Kong. All of this for only a little more than the price of entry if you tried to do it all yourself. We felt really clever to have stumbled upon this guy and his ability improve our understanding of the nuances of Hong Kong while we skipped long queues.
Written January 4, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Reez O
Paris, France1,469 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2016 • Family
Michael offers personal tours but he does not take you where you want to personally go. I've never dealt with a tour guide who didn't want to take you where you wanted to go on your personal tour.

He was informed of the ages of the people and the number of people. We agreed to a rate and the content of the tour. He had no issues with taking us at this point. We even agreed on a pick up time and pick up place, and we both agreed it would be fine to take public transit.

However, once we mentioned we were Muslim, he began making excuses about not being able to take us to a restaurant for Muslims and he wanted to cancel our tour, even though I gave him multiple options throughout Hong Kong.

This is the excuse he sent me: "Just that I am not confident that I could provide the best experience at this point given the group size, age group and the dietary requirement". It was just 6 people and his walking tours often have way more. So what is honestly the problem here?

When I told him they had no issues with walking or taking public transportation, he began to say he had no issue with taking people based on their age. Yet he said "Look, I know they will probably be tired earlier in the walking tour so care should be taken in terms of walking pace and timing of having lunch" and "Knowing these parameters, my best guess is that they will not enjoy the journey with a lot of walking to and from a to b to c"

When I asked if he had an issue with muslims, he began to say he had Muslim friends :S

When I told him that he can take them to any vegetarian restaurants, he STILL REFUSED to take them on the tour.

Honestly everything was fine until I said Muslim and in no circumstance would he accept the tour even after I removed all limitations (specific restaurant, transportation issues etc.).

Even if a customer asks to go to a restaurant or site, a professional tour guide will take you where you want, and not try to change your request based on what he wants.

Dont book this guy for personal tours. He is unaccomodating, discriminatory and unprofessional.
Written December 5, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi there. Thank you for your review. I think it is worth clarifying that we identified the issue when we are at the planning stage, and we tried to worked out the differences over e-mail and whatsapp. We suggested to pass this opportunity when it became clear that we are unable to provide a private tour for your group. The tour never started and we did not rendered the service. You have requested for an 8 hours tour with a group of five people who are in their sixties. We proposed a tour to start in Central and move onto other places in Kowloon later in the day. In addition to the proposed itinerary, you have requested to visit Big Buddha in Lantau Island, dine at a specific Muslim restaurant in Kowloon City, and go to a night market. We have raised two concerns for your request: 1. Dining at a specific restaurant in Kowloon City is too far from the rest of the locations, the group will spend a long time in commuting between locations. 2. A group of five people in their sixties will be wore out very quickly in a tour itinerary like this. We made these points clear so we ended up changing the itinerary. However, we still could not resolve the dietary requirement on having to go to the specific restaurant. In order to provide a tour in this parameters, we need to start early or hire taxi to go to most places, but you insist that the group have taken public transportation around the world and they have no problem walking. We have always tried our very best to provide the best tour to our guest. At the end of the discussion, we knew it was not possible to provide a tour unless you remove most of your requirements so we decided to pass this opportunity. We sincerely apologize for your experience. Regarding the discrimination comment: If you check my first reply to your e-mail dated November 2. Point 4: “No problem on the halal food, I will try my best to find a good one there. There is always a vegetarian restaurant at the temple which will be OK.” We welcome all Muslim and we worked with everyone in our tour. Regards, Michael
Written December 6, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

James
Sydney, Australia39 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Informative tour with a focus on what it is like for a normal person on a normal wage living in Hong Kong. Terry is a local and was happy to answer all our questions (even some more direct ones) honestly and without getting offended which is nice.
Written July 9, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 1,290

Hong Kong Free Tours - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Hong Kong HotelsHong Kong Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Hong Kong
All things to do in Hong Kong
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars