We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Imperial Tours: Private and Group Itineraries

#233 of 637 Tours in Beijing
Beijing, China
More
About Imperial Tours: Private and Group Itineraries
Imperial Tours offers private and customized group tours combining local expertise with the high service and quality levels expected by sophisticated travelers. We offer two types of bespoke vacations. “Ultimate China” is for those seeking a ‘hosted’ luxury experience and where the ‘absolute best’ is expected. A bilingual Western Host accompanies travelers throughout, ensuring a flawless experience. “China Escapades” is targeted to more independent travelers desiring autonomy to explore China via less mediation. Contact Imperial Tours for when you're seeking the very best that China can offer...in style.
Read more

Imperial Tours: Private and Group Itineraries
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
21Reviews2Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 19
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Global Traveler. From NYC. wrote a review Mar 2019
New York City, New York187 contributions43 helpful votes
Booked two half days in Xi'an - which was action packed; but one of the highlights of my time in China. We arrived and went to walk along the wall; after that we went to the Muslim Quarter and Wang was super helpful in finding us something we'd enjoy to eat; and patient as we tried different snacks. Then we saw the Mosque. The next day, we went to the Terra Cotta Warriors and our guide Wang was knowledgable about the history and made sure we were one of the first in the pit which was truly an unforgettable experience to see the warriors without anyone else. Wang was also a great photographer offering to take multiple pictures of us at different spots during the tours. Mr Peng our driver had the cleanest car we encountered and was kind and always had cold waters for us. Also, the boxed lunch they picked us up was really good western style sandwiches and salads. Would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Guy R, Owner at Imperial Tours: Private and Group Itineraries
Responded Mar 29, 2019
Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your day in Xi'an, as well as our services there. Xi'an is such a fun town with so much to see and do. And that's to say nothing of the noodles...
Read more
T-TEMPLEMAN wrote a review Jan 2018
Brisbane, Australia647 contributions56 helpful votes
+1
Our tour traveled to the Great Wall for a birthday lunch for myself and my son. This was my first trip to China and also the first tour so I was a little apprehensive about the day. Our guide Leon arrived promptly and proceeded to brief us on our days itinerary with fluent English. He was a lovely guy and his great company really added to our day. Our driver was excellent and we had ample water and good heating in the car for the chilly winter weather. The trip to our location on the wall took 2 hours with Leon giving a running commentary about the history of the wall and life in Beijing which was excellent. I was also very impressed about his contacting the chef who was already at our lunch spot for updates about weather and location for our lunch. We arrived at our site to a very empty car park as this site doesn't get a lot of visitors especially at our time of year. I should say at this point that the location is part of a section called the wild wall as it is in it's raw untouched state and utterly amazing. After a short walk we arrived at our lunch spot. Wow, there were white table cloths and fantastic food overlooking the great wall in both directions. Our chef and guide Leon served our food and wine and then left us to enjoy our fantastic lunch. After lunch we began our guided walk along the wild wall. As we were (semi) fit we were able to get to the end of the planned walk. Some sections are tricky with loose gravel and a few climbs over crumbly bits of the wall but Leon was always ready to help. I must also mention my 14 year old son loved this tour even with all the history stuff. Only brickbat was the drive back to Beijing with evening traffic. This is in no way the tour's fault but it is probably not a good idea to plan an evening activity on the same day in case there are delays. We had nothing planned except a relaxing evening reliving our adventures and looking at all the fantastic photos we got during the tour back our hotel. This was our family's trip highlight of our time in Beijing.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2017
Helpful
Share
walterfscottiii wrote a review Aug 2017
St. Petersburg, Florida6 contributions3 helpful votes
Our guide did not carry water, have umbrellas for the sun, sited facts not stories and was just not fun. The van they put is for hours was poor and did not have seats that reclined. In the service description they said we would have a Kungfu demonstration by Shaolin Monks. That was just not true and completely advertising. The luxury picnic on the Great Wall as terrible.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2017
Helpful
Share
Response from Guy R, Owner at Imperial Tours: Private and Group Itineraries
Responded Jan 9, 2018
Dear Mr Scott, We are sorry you did not enjoy your tour in Beijing as much as your experiences in Xi'an. In Beijing, both the extreme heat of August and the rain it precipitated made it difficult to provide services there. The rain meant that the martial arts performance could not occur in its intended location and was truncated. We have apologized for this, provided a full refund and have learned that in such circumstances it makes more sense to cancel it completely. The rainy weather during your short time in Beijing also made it difficult to provide a great experience on the Great Wall. With vans, you did not like the 15 seat MB100 in Beijing, but did like the 19 seat Coaster van in Xi'an. Our past feedback has shown that people find the 19 seat Coaster too large for small groups, so we apologize for the choice of the smaller vehicle. Except for the last row, the seats on the MB100 do typically recline, however it must have been frustrating that you did not know how to do this and did not feel as though you could ask your guide about this. I am sorry you did not like your guide in Beijing. He has worked with us for over a decade, is a senior guide and has led many trips both for clients and travel agents with excellent feedback. Maybe he had an off day, but when your Itinerary Designer phoned you prior to the day on the Great Wall, you commented that both he and the driver were doing a good job. Certainly, if after this you felt that he was not performing as you would have wanted, had we been informed, we could have changed the guide for you. Whilst it was good that you enjoyed your time in Xi'an, it is sad that you were not able to enjoy Beijing comfortably because of the weather and that you were disappointed by our Beijing services. We have made restitution to you and will endeavor to perform better in the future.
Read more
travelbuddy2010_10 wrote a review Nov 2015
Louisville, Kentucky114 contributions35 helpful votes
We traveled to China for three weeks with Imperial. We wonder if there is another comparable tour company in the world...if so we have not found it. Our tour several years ago was with the best guides, the best hotels, the best personalized service, the best cuisine....on and on. Special experiences from surprise gourmet dinner on the Great Wall, private clubs, in home experiences, and much more is well worth the BEST description. In one case one tour member had a health snag, and the personalized care given to her was admirable. Just can't rave enough about this unmatched experience. The only downside is my benchmark set with imperial makes it hard for anyone else to match!
Read more
Date of experience: December 2014
Helpful
Share
Response from margot k, Manager at Imperial Tours: Private and Group Itineraries
Responded Nov 19, 2015
I'm sorry we set the bar so high, making it tough for you to find a comparable experience elsewhere in the world. I think the solution to this dilemma would be to do a return trip to China with Imperial Tours! We look forward to welcoming you back with open arms. In the meantime, thanks so much for your kind review.
Read more
NickiG555 wrote a review Jan 2015
San Diego, California266 contributions114 helpful votes
I have travel the world with a variety of tour operators, especially geared toward photography, since I am a Nature Photographer. That being said, I do enjoy cultural photography as well. Imperial Tours not only put my tour together based upon my travel preferences regarding personalized tours, hotel arrangements, food, EVERYTHING; they even provided us with a personal concierge and the phone with which to call him, any time. That was invaluable when we made a couple of changes in our itinerary. Our particular trip was all over China, from Bejing to Dunhuang, Chengdu to see the pandas and have a one on one interaction with a baby panda, Lijiang, Tibet, Guilin, the rice terraces of Longshen, and then Shanghai. The airline connections were perfect, and the local guides that met us at each location were superb. I literally felt like a princess on the wonderful Imperial tour of China. This was our second trip with Imperial, and I would do it again. It is on the pricey side, but I didn't care because every penny was worth the quality of the 3 week trip.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2014
Helpful
Share
Response from Guy R, Owner at Imperial Tours: Private and Group Itineraries
Responded Jan 26, 2015
Dear Nicki, Thanks so much for posting such a great review for Imperial Tours. We're delighted you so enjoyed your second trip to China, and look forward to the third! Regards, Guy
Read more
Previous