We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Great Wall Adventure Club

Beijing, China
More
About Great Wall Adventure Club
Since 2003, Great Wall Adventure Club has been bringing the excitement and wonder of the Great Wall of China to over 74,000 satisfied hikers from 55 countries around the world. Since we began operating our Great Wall hiking and trekking programs, some of our clients have included Google, NBC Television, British Airways, NASA, USA Olympic Teams, and Microsoft. Our commitment to customer service and satisfaction has led our Great Wall programs to receive positive write-ups in prestigious publications such as The New York Times, USA Today, National Geographic, CNN Travel, and Fodor's China. Great Wall Adventure Club was also featured in an episode of TLC's 19 Kids & Counting. While our bread and butter have always been Great Wall hiking and trekking, we also specialize in all forms of China travel and touring, from the snow-capped peaks of Tibet to the rolling sand dunes of the Gobi Desert. For 2014, we have developed new express train tours to Xian, home of the immortal Terracotta Warri
Open Now
Hours Today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Great Wall Adventure Club

Super Discount Group Hike to Great Wall at Jinshanling and West Simatai

* Suitable for families with kids or seniors.
* Group size varies from 5 people to 25 people
* English-speaking tour guide.
* Easy-to-get-to meeting point at Subway Line 2 Chaoyangmen Station Exit A
* Included: snack for the early morning departure and gourmet Chinese lunch prepared freshly!
*Super discounted prices
* Included: Hotel (or nearby meeting point) pickup in the morning if your hotel is within the 2nd Ring Road Loop.
* The only Great Wall hiking service that departs 365 days a year.

FEEDBACK:
"I just wanted to say that I had such an amazing time on the great wall with this tour! I was a bit nervous I wouldn't like it, due to my experience with a tour group on Mt. Fuji. But, I absolutely loved this group and how the tour was set up. If I ever find myself in Beijing again I'm definitely going on another tour with you guys." -- Lauren, USA, toured on August 15, 2019
Read more
8 to 9 hours
from $59.00

Mutianyu Great Wall Small-Group Tour in Small Group with Free Pickup

Escape the crowds on this guided visit to Mutianyu Great Wall, one of the best-preserved—and under-visited—stretches of the ancient UNESCO-listed barricade. Wander through rolling, cypress-covered hills along the centuries-old fortification and stunning on-site replica, and upgrade to include a cable car or toboggan ride. Tours skip the shopping stops, giving you more time to sightsee.
Read more
6 to 8 hours
from $44.99

Flat-rate Great Wall Camping with Full-day Great Wall Group Hiking

* If you are looking for breathtaking views with a relatively more affordable walk, then this hike will be right up your alley!
* Catch stunning views and meet NO crowds on great rolling terrain.
* 3.5 hours of walking on the Great Wall with a distance of roughly 6 km with an English-speaking guide.
* Walk from the restored part to the original wild side in two famous sections.
* The affordable camping experience of sleeping on the Great Wall, the same way that ancient warriors did hundreds of years ago.
* Available every day. Last-minute booking 10 hours before the tour is accepted.
* Group size varies from 5 people to 35 people depending on the signups of each day
* Lunch, dinner, and breakfast are included.
Read more
2 days
from $197.00

The Forbidden City and Beyond- the Best Forbidden City In-depth Tour

HASSLE-FREE WITH US

The Forbidden City requires every guest to buy the tickets online with local currency. No paper tickets are sold on site. As the museum's Website is in Chinese, it is a hassle to international tourists to purchase. In high season, the tickets can be sold out extremely fast as there is a traffic limit every day and the closure of the museum every Monday. Book this tour and leave the hassle to us!

While touring the Hutong area in Downtown Beijing, you may try to have a ride on the unique rick-shaw for extra 80 CNY. A Hutong rickshaw (or bicycle) tour of Beijing is a unique cultural experience that allows you to take a glance at the city’s traditional local life. It's a pretty funny experience!
Read more
6 to 7 hours
from $59.00

Best of Shanghai Landmarks and Best of Hangzhou of the Lake

This 2-day tour covers the best of Shanghai and Hangzhou, famous for the West Lake and the historic attractions inside the park!

1) We are a trusted international tour company serving over 78,000 guests in the past 20 years.
2) Excellent and licensed English-speaking guide (Russian, Spanish, German, French language-speaking guides also available upon request).
3) Our chauffeurs have 100% excellent safe-driving records.
4) Safe food to serve you in a restaurant certified by us.
5) An in-depth tour of the attractions listed. No hurry-up. Just enjoy your time!
6) Hotel pickup and drop-off at your hotel.
7) Private tour only for you with no strangers in the group.
8) Guaranteed no shopping! 90% of Chinese tour companies tend to rip you off by taking you to the shops. Not us!
9) One-night hotel in Hangzhou included. You won't have to search for and book.
Read more
1 day 12 hours
from $505.00
290Reviews2Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 215
  • 57
  • 11
  • 3
  • 3
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
liveAdream wrote a review Jan 2020
Ireland12 contributions5 helpful votes
We always dreamed about a visit to the Great Wall but never imagined how good it would actually be. The tour guide spoke english and meet us with a welcome. The hike we took was out of this world, the views from jinshanling were so beautiful its hard to describe with words. Our Tour guide was excellent he was with us all through the hike and taught us about the Great wall and had in-depth knowledge and interesting stories we never heard. A truly fantastic experience we will never forget! Thank you Great Wall Adventure Club!
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from LydiaLee1, Guest Relations Manager at Great Wall Adventure Club
Responded Jan 26, 2020
We were so glad to have brought your dream come true! Thank you for having given us the opportunity to do so. We will work harder to deliver every guest with the same happy experience. Happy Chinese New Year!
Read more
Prashant26 wrote a review Dec 2019
Selden, New York74 contributions39 helpful votes
We decided to take the benefit of 72 hour transit free Beijing tour on our trip to India. After intensive research and reading 100s of reviews online of the tour companies in Beijing, we decided to go with Great Wall Adventure Club. Angela from Great wall Adventure Club kept in constant touch with us through email and WhatsApp. I had booked one day Private tour which included Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City and Great Wall along with airport pick up and drop off. At Beijing airport, our extremely courteous driver was waiting for us with my name on time and helped us with the luggage. Next day Mr.Oliver (our guide) met us at the hotel right on time with a driver and a nice clean car. He gave us enough time to finish our breakfast at hotel and made sure we carried everything we needed. He is the most amazing guide I have ever met along with the driver who was beyond respectful. Our day started with tour around Tiananmen square and Oliver made sure to explain everything. We walked around the square, took plenty of pictures and headed to Forbidden city. He explained the wonderful culture and history behind every building in a most interesting way. After those two attractions, we made our way to Great Wall which was about an hour and half ride from Forbidden city. We stopped at local Chinese restaurant for lunch which was included in our trip. As per request, since my wife is vegetarian, Mr. Oliver made sure to order enough vegetarian food for her and chicken for me. We made our way to Great wall after lunch. Mr. Oliver helped us get the cable car ticket to great wall and was with us throughout our time on great wall. He never failed to mention the history behind everything and took amazing pictures of us. My wife didn't walk much on the wall since the steps could be steep at some part of the wall but me and Mr.Oliver hiked about a mile which was amazing. Great Wall is something everyone should see in their lifetime. Our private tour felt like touring the city with friends. Both driver and our guide were beyond amazing and courteous. Funny and interesting. On our third day, our driver came to pick us up at the hotel on time, helped with our luggage and dropped us off to the airport. Everything on time and as scheduled. Just amazing !!! Ask for Mr.Oliver as your guide.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from LydiaLee1, Guest Relations Manager at Great Wall Adventure Club
Responded Jan 26, 2020
Thanks for the survey that you had completed during your Great Wall trip! W are very glad you had a good time with us! The details that you provided contained a lot of information that will help us to continue improving our service. The fact that you have put both time and energy into planning, researching, and hiring us to be your China travel agency means the world to us. The trust you have put in us means that we met your standards to make your China experience both an enjoyable and unforgettable one. Once again we are thrilled to hear from you, and if you have any further questions or comments please do let us know. Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the future! Have a wonderful New Year!
Read more
iluv2travelwmyboys wrote a review Nov 2019
New York City, New York48 contributions18 helpful votes
Here's the letter I sent to the company. I rarely write letters. this time, I couldn't NOT write: We’re on the flight home, departing from Beijing and returning to the States. I thought it would be important for you and your business to hear about our day with your company. I spent many years in business, listening to and serving customers. I always valued their input. It is in that spirit that we write to you. Let us start by saying that it has been a lifelong dream for both of us to see the Great Wall and visit Beijing. I researched many companies, most of which offered the same thing for the same price. We chose your company because of your responsiveness and excellent communication. We planned to meet the guide by 8:00am. Our flight was slightly delayed, we called him and met him at 8:20. From the start, there was some back and forth about our schedule based on traffic. We deferred to the guide who recommended that we go the wall first. Fine by us. When we arrived we were both surprised to hear that the cost for riding the cable car wasn’t included. For a $460 fee it seemed odd, especially when we knew that the total of admission costs for both the Great Wall and Forbidden Palace for the two of us amounted to $30. We walked up instead, and loved our experience. On the way down, we insisted that we didn’t want lunch at a touristy restaurant. Based on the information on your website, we suspected you’d pick a great place anyway. Ironically, our guide suggested the dumpling house at bottom of the wall. We declined. On the guide’s suggestion (not realizing it would use up time that we needed elsewhere), we visited the tea shop for a ‘tea ceremony.’ It was a superficial experience that only led to a situation where they tried to sell us tea that was 6 times the price we could buy anywhere else. Bottom line: It was insulting. We expressed interest in a small local restaurant. We were told we had to rush back to make the Forbidden Palace close at 3:30. Since we had taken a red eye flight, we hadn’t eaten but needed to put that off until after the Forbidden Palace. It was such a shame that we had wasted all that time at the tea shop. After spending a half hour literally running through the Palace (with less information than we would have liked) our driver couldn’t find us and we continued to walk to try to meet up. After 25 minutes, the guide decided to have us eat at dingy, unimpressive restaurant nearby. It was the only thing he could find. It was a too cold to keep walking. Despite the expectations about a local nice place, we had lunch at this dump. In addition to our guide being difficult to understand (his English was not good), distracted and on his cell phone much of the time, he clearly didn’t have a plan for our day. What a shame when we had so little time, and the importance of a tight and scheduled plan is so critical to getting everything done. Quite a contrast to the expectations set by the company and the responsiveness of Angela in organizing the tour. It was so difficult having come directly from 12 days in Myanmar with a gracious, organized, communicative guide who couldn’t do enough to make his guests feel welcomed and fall in love with his beautiful country After our lunch, the driver STILL was not available and we had to wait another 20 minutes for him to arrive. Clearly we were not going to have time to really absorb Tiananmen Square. Finally, and the last draw, I can’t remember any correspondence that suggested we would need to pay in cash instard of using the same credit card I used to pay the deposit. In the midst of a crowded, disorganized day, we needed to find a cash machine to withdraw money for which I will now be charged extra by thr bank. After all your reviews and the expectations set for our visit to Beijing and the Great Wall, we end our trip with such disappointment. What a shame.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from LydiaLee1, Guest Relations Manager at Great Wall Adventure Club
Responded Jan 26, 2020
I am sorry to hear the problems you told us here and over the emails you had sent to us. I heard from Angela that we had refunded you the partial service fee to remedy what we hadn't done to your satisfaction. In her email, Angela had informed you we had done a thorough investigation and the corrections we would do soon. There had been some miscommunication during the service on a very cold day and on a very short day. We will certainly do better as we usually do for any future customers. I also heard Angela had promised to offer you a free tour next time when you visit China to impress you with a different team to your satisfaction. Thank you very much and Happy New Year!
Read more
Louise H wrote a review Nov 2019
Dubai, United Arab Emirates145 contributions80 helpful votes
+1
We decided we wanted to see the lake area of the Wall, away from all the crowds (which was about 90 mins drive from our hotel in central Beijing). I researched via Trip and decided to go with Great Wall Adventure Club. All of the arrangements beforehand via email with Angela were first rate - quick response, answering my many questions in details. I liked the way we were informed two weeks before who our guide would be, with full contact details including photo. We had the most amazing day with Oliver (and driver Mr Wong). If you are pretty fit and want to get away from the crowds, I thoroughly recommend making doing the 1D itinerary. Spectacular scenery. Learnt so much from Oliver during our walk. He was patient, funny and great company. Mr Wong was a careful driver. Car was spotless. And I have to say the lunch was the best food I have ever had on an excursion. Absolutely delicious and so much of it!
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from LydiaLee1, Guest Relations Manager at Great Wall Adventure Club
Responded Jan 26, 2020
Thank you for your fast feedback! We were so happy to have brought you a very happy and genuine Great Wall experience. Our guides and drivers are very trained and exceptionally experienced to make our strong teams. I am so happy they had done what we had promised. If we have anywhere to be improved, please do not hesitate to email us. Have a very Happy New Year!
Read more
Gina G wrote a review Nov 2019
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Wonderful! We had a great time! Luis was fantastic, knowledgeable, and fun! I very much recommend! The parts of the wall you see had no to few people, the food and lodging were great.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Terrence O, Guest Relations Manager at Great Wall Adventure Club
Responded Nov 4, 2019
Thanks so much, Gina for your great comments! We are very glad to have brought you what we had promised to. If you think about anywhere we need to improve, please do not hesitate to email us. We look forward to your next visit in the future! Happy holidays!
Read more
Previous