We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nguuni Nature Sanctuary

Features Animals
Closed Now: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Review Highlights
Amazing to get so close to Giraffes but beware the ticks!

We loved the fact we could enter this park as foreigners in a lowkey fashion and not be hit with... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
ramonalea
,
Melbourne, Australia
Excellent for all thebfamily

A most excellent experience and one to cherish. A tranquil site where you are able have a barbecue... read more

Reviewed February 2, 2019
Greville D
,
London, United Kingdom
Read all 55 reviews
All photos (97)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good32%
  • Average7%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“boda boda”(2 reviews)
“picnic spot”(2 reviews)
About
Only 4 kilometers away from Bamburi Cement Factory, a small nature sanctuary in a completely unique “out of Africa” environment. Rain-fed ponds are inhabited by fish and birds. Large Doum Palm crowned by Leopard Orchids are scattered in the...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
Bamburi - Mombasa | Off Kiembeni Road, Mombasa 80101, Kenya
Website
+254 700 337068
Call
Improve This Listing
Recommended experiences in and around Mombasa
from $180.53
More Info
from $625.00
More Info
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveler rating
26
16
3
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
26
16
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boda boda picnic spot pair of binoculars giraffes visitors signage charger park bush shillings kenya
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved the fact we could enter this park as foreigners in a lowkey fashion and not be hit with mysterious additional fees (as sometimes happens in Kenya unfortunately). We drove up to the picnic area and saw school groups with giraffes - the only...More

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank ramonalea
Reviewed June 6, 2019

The Sanctuary is well kept and maintained. It also has a camping site and ideal place for a weekend out. The Giraffes are lovely and feels great to watch them.The fire place is cosy. Have even had big celebrations. Lots of memories.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Guju64
Nguuni, Manager at Nguuni Nature Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2019

Thank you and glad you have a lovely time each time you visit!

Reviewed February 2, 2019

A most excellent experience and one to cherish. A tranquil site where you are able have a barbecue should you so wish.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Greville D
Nguuni, Manager at Nguuni Nature Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2019

Thank you and glad you had a wonderful time. Please visit us again when you are next in Mombasa! Best wishes, The team at Nguuni

Reviewed December 1, 2018

My experience with the animals was amazing, the giraffes are the highlight of this attraction. The guide was wonderful also. He took us around the park for a tour around the lake and all the other giraffes that were hiding in the bushes. I really...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank crpyom
Nguuni, Manager at Nguuni Nature Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2018

Hello, Thank you for visiting the Sanctuary. Your comments have been noted and we apologise for the payment part you experienced. Our rates were adjusted in July 2018 which means yes, our charges before that was Kshs.600.00 for a Non-Resident. Our full Rate List is...More

Reviewed September 7, 2018 via mobile

The sanctuary is approx 45 mins from town. It has a nice rustic picteresque feel to it. Amazing close up experience with the giraffes and ostrich. The highlight is of course feeding the giraffes ..watch out for the slimy tongue but well worth the experience!!...More

Date of experience: September 2018
3  Thank munira21
Nguuni, Manager at Nguuni Nature Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2018

Dear Munira, Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased you had a wonderful visit. Just to clarify, we do have a drop-and-pick tour van which is charged at Kshs.250.00 per trip (Reception to Main Venue) and not Kshs.2,000.00 An environmental tour (1 &...More

Reviewed June 13, 2018

breathtaking scenery that allows all kinds of family activities including camps and picnics. feeding of the giraffes in the evenings is amazing!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank shieldgladys
Nguuni, Manager at Nguuni Nature Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2018

Thank you! On behalf of our team at Nguuni, we are glad you had a wonderful time and we look forward to having you back again!

Reviewed June 10, 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely afternoon at the sanctuary, so beautiful, peaceful animals. Once inside its a walk in the nature itself. There's a picnic area where you can have your meals while you watch the animals. Wear comfortable shoes. Also you'll be required to pay...More

Date of experience: June 2018
2  Thank lucianaa75
Nguuni, Manager at Nguuni Nature Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2018

Hello Luciana, We are glad you had a lovely time at the Sanctuary. And that you could also use our Environmental Van drop-off to the main site. Maybe next time, you could do a environmental tour around the sanctuary with our guide! With best wishes,...More

Reviewed May 29, 2018

This is one of the best place to relax.. We meet giraffes. You can walk to where the giraffes are. they are so many. You can also picnic there, take your drink/food and enjoy the evening sundowner.. We had the best time ever.

Date of experience: June 2017
2  Thank dolphin904
Reviewed February 18, 2018

What a wonderful part of the world ,.. beautiful, helpful people ,..you get a real sense of how big this country is ,when you are out there among the grass and animals ,.with a decent pair of binoculars you can view the far away animals,...More

Date of experience: November 2017
3  Thank Bob P
Nguuni, Manager at Nguuni Nature Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2018

Dear Bob, Thank you for your message. We were happy to have you at the Sanctuary and look forward to your next visit! With best wishes, our team at Nguuni !

Reviewed October 5, 2017

A santuary within urban limits, atop a hill... Giraffes, water bucks, Ostriches roam free and as one visits this place, you can cut off from the city hustle and bustle and enjoy the serene animals as they feed during sunset and come and feed from...More

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank sukeshad
Nguuni, Manager at Nguuni Nature Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017

Dear Sukesha, Thank you for visiting us - hope to see you at the Sanctuary soon!

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 75 nearby hotels
Azul Margarita Beach Resort
32 reviews
2.22 miles away
Milele Beach Hotel
30 reviews
2.23 miles away
Pa Pweza Adamsville Beach Suites
28 reviews
2.33 miles away
Baobab Holiday Resort
190 reviews
2.34 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 171 nearby restaurants
Cafesserie Mombasa
489 reviews
2.50 miles away
Misono
131 reviews
2.60 miles away
La Veranda Restaurant
121 reviews
2.55 miles away
Shukrani Cafe
10 reviews
2.50 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 267 nearby attractions
Eastern Vacations Tours Limited
63 reviews
2.43 miles away
Tropical Diving Kenya
23 reviews
2.83 miles away
Bamburi Nature Trail
8 reviews
1.67 miles away
Haller Park
1,100 reviews
2.06 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Sightseer734481
July 23, 2019|
Answer
Response from Haller P | Property representative |
Hello, It would be about Kshs.1,000. Would be cheaper via Uber
0
Votes
Sightseer734481
July 23, 2019|
Answer
Response from Haller P | Property representative |
Hello, Non-Residents : Kshs.800.00 Adult Kshs.300.00 Child 7-12 years
0
Votes