We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Peponi Scuba Diving ‑ CLOSED

Features Animals
Mombasa, Kenya
More
About Peponi Scuba Diving
Peponi Diving Mombasa are based at Bahari Beach Hotel at Mombasa North Coast. Affiliated with PADI & BSAC teaching all PADI courses up to the level of Divemaster. Teaching several PADI Speciality courses such as Shark Awareness and Turtle Awareness. Offering diving for certified divers. 25 tailor made dive sites for each diver certification/experience level. Under Swiss management.Free transport from any hotel at Mombasa North Coast. Safety is our religion!
61Reviews2Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 45
  • 15
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Alessandro S wrote a review Jan 2017
Taranto, Italy496 contributions139 helpful votes
+1
I spent 2 days in a row diving with Peponi and I have great memories of those days. First It is important to highlight the importance they give to safety by carefully checking experience of everyone, detailed briefings and lectures about the dive sites. The rest is pure fun...Mombasa really has great dive sites, clear water and beautiful colours to enjoy
Read more
Date of experience: February 2016
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Persoderqvist1983 wrote a review Mar 2016
Stockholm, Sweden1 contribution6 helpful votes
First off i would like to say that the staff and Chris the owner was so professional with everything. they helped us to book a dive and a fishing trip, both was really excellent! The dive site was amazing. We got to see many different fishes and nice corals. We were 5 guys and 3 of us already had Open water and for 2 guys this was the first time they went diving. we managed to combine everything so that we could do the dive together and the 2 guys that had never done this before was so impressed with this. I would definitely contact Chris and Peponi again the next time i'm in Mombasa. Many thanks!
Read more
Date of experience: March 2016
Helpful
Share
Jeremy H wrote a review Feb 2016
3 contributions5 helpful votes
We did the 7 days no limit diving, which sounded great until we found out that each visit to the marine park was going to cost us an additional $20 usd/ person for each visit to the marine park. (so if we wanted to go out twice in the same day it would cost us $40/ person in marine park fees). We wouldn't have a problem with paying these fees if the kenyan wild life services actually had some sort of enforcement or conservation effort in place. Every day we went out to dive we saw fisherman inside the marine park. We also were picking up garbage from the dive sites on basically every dive. We would have hoped with paying our marine park fees that there would have been enforcement patrols to keep the fishermen out of the park and maybe some sort of organized clean-up (that we would have been more than happy to take place in) once a week at least. The diving here is great and peponidivers is a wonderful company the staff is very Friendly and helpful, but we won't be diving in Kenya again unless something changes. We spent an additional $280 usd for 2 people to go diving for 7 days on top of what peponi charged that we feel was just a waste/money grab. We have nothing bad to say about peponi divers. But we are extremely disappointed in the kenyan wild life services.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2016
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris K, Owner at Peponi Scuba Diving
Responded Feb 20, 2016
Hi Jeremy and Kelsey, many thanks for your review here on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed the diving with us. We are also sad about the fact that Kenya Wildlife Services are charging US$ 20.- per trip and diver. The Mombasa beach operator association has really tried to stop that increase of the entry fees from US$ 10.- to US$ 20.- some years back but unfortunately without success. Also we are sad that there are fishermen in the park especially in the early morning hours which we have reported to KWS several times but it's still happening. May be you express your disappointment about your experience seeing fishermen inside the park direct to KWS to customerservice@kws.go.ke and/or kws@kws.go.ke. I believe your input at KWS can help to get things improved. Many thanks for diving with Peponi Divers Mombasa With best regards and always safe diving. Chris
Read more
Mike B wrote a review Jan 2016
Borough Green, United Kingdom44 contributions23 helpful votes
Very Nice people. Decent Boat. I used my own gear and am experienced diver. Recommended if your in town.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2016
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris K, Owner at Peponi Scuba Diving
Responded Jan 21, 2016
Hi Mike, many thanks for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the diving with us. I guess as a certified BSAC DiveLeader with over 350 dives you know what to expect. Kind regards Chris
Read more
VirginiaHaweater wrote a review Jan 2016
Nairobi, Kenya2 contributions1 helpful vote
I had a great day of diving with a very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable Peponi team. The equipment was well maintained, and I was given a free refresher in the pool before the dive. My divemaster Julius was fantastic, and the owner Chris was very welcoming and accommodating. I highly recommend Peponi Divers in Mombasa.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2015
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris K, Owner at Peponi Scuba Diving
Responded Jan 21, 2016
Hi Virginia, we are glad you enjoyed our services and the scuba diving with us. Please let us know when you are nearby next time so we can introduce you some more exiting dive sites. Best regards and always happy bubbles. Chris
Read more
Previous
1234569