We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hot Air Safaris

Features Animals
Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
More
Closed Now
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 1:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about
146Reviews4Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 110
  • 17
  • 8
  • 6
  • 5
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Vince Scaini wrote a review Feb 2020
Hamilton, Canada2 contributions
Our Pilot David made us feel comfortable, this being our first balloon ride. David kept the balloon at lower altitudes so that we could see wild life close up. We managed to see two very fast kills during our ride. I guess we were lucky. The after ride breakfast experience was
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Renee B wrote a review Jan 2020
Saint James City, Florida12 contributions8 helpful votes
An incredible way to see the Mara and the wildlife. The captain was professional and safety was paramount.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
KommandantTampa wrote a review Nov 2019
Brooksville, Florida111 contributions34 helpful votes
Yes, I was scared and yes I had second thoughts, but...After that balloon lifted off and we saw all the trails and animals below, we knew that we had made a great choice well worth the money.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Pathfinder608595 wrote a review Oct 2019
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We took this balloon ride recently and it was quite underwhelming for the price we paid ($400 for adults and $350 for kids). The balloon path appears to be pre determined (contrary to what they claim about it being entirely dependent on the wind direction) and it travelled over
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from RizJ, Chief Pilot at Hot Air Safaris
Responded Oct 22, 2019
Thank you for your review. It's unfortunate that your experience did not match your expectations. We appreciate your frank review and will work harder to ensure anyone considering a balloon flight over the Masai Mara has a clearer picture of what to expect. Unfortunately the nature of the industry is to try and sell, and in the process there are opportunities for people to embellish the facts. We are clear that the experience we offer is a 'Hot Air Balloon ride, and the animals are a obviously a 'bonus'. The feature of a 'Game Reserve' in Kenya is the fact that the animals are free to roam, both within and outside of the protected area. It's not a Zoo. The animals move. We do not control them. You may be surprised to hear that almost 1.5 million wildebeest regularly move between the Masai Mara and the Serengeti. Look up the 'Wildbeest Migration' on google- eye opening. Secondly, it's nigh impossible to 'predetermine' the flight path of a balloon, but consistent and reliably predictable winds allow the Mara to rank amongst the top three ballooning destinations worldwide. Part of the reason we are as successful as we are in the Mara is the quality of the Pilots who fly here, and the weather. Consistency equates to efficiency in aviation and the hospitality industry as a whole, and this is how we can afford to offer this once in a lifetime (for most) experience in such a unique and remote wilderness area. No single balloon flight is ever the same anywhere, and we pride ourselves on consistently being one of the top balloon companies in the region offering a product that speaks for itself. Once again we are sorry your expectations outweighed your experience. Best regards,
Read more
Edward A wrote a review Oct 2019
Rochdale, United Kingdom207 contributions75 helpful votes
Booked this for when we were on safari in Kenya. Organisation on arrival was poor- not clear which ballon we were meant to go to.there were no toilet facilities. We were crammed into a small section on the ballon with 2 others- total 4- total in ballon 17. In our 4 none of us
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RizJ, Chief Pilot at Hot Air Safaris
Responded Oct 22, 2019
Thank you for your frank review. Sorry that the experience wasn't to your satisfaction. Adventure activities are indeed not for everyone. Fortunately for you this wasn't a balloon ride in Turkey, where 6 passengers stand in the same space as the 4 of you were seated. You may want to consider giving that a try for comparison. All the same, we appreciate your feedback, and hope you aren't suffering any lasting discomfort from your safari! Kind regards,
Read more
Previous
Recommended experiences in and around Maasai Mara National Reserve
from $400.00
More Info
from $180.00
More Info
from $640.00
More Info
from $923.08
More Info