We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Utamaduni Craft Centre

Bogani East Rd, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 722 205028
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Highly recommended

This place is fantastic. The only thing I regret is that we did not realise how good the shopping... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Michelle B
,
Noosa, Australia
via mobile
Such a wonderful place!

I love this place. Not only is it centrally locates bear many attractions, it’s also a hidden gem... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
DWTisha
,
Bronx, New York
via mobile
Read all 101 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Utamaduni is the best African artisan market in Nairobi. Perfectly located in the leafy suburb of Langata the shop is easy to drop into on you way to some of the exciting venues in Nairobi such as the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust or the Giraffe Centre. You can sit in the beautiful garden with refreshments and then wind your way through a treasure trove of shops, with friendly staff to assist and help pack or ship if needed. Make sure you make Utamaduni a part of your Kenya holiday itinerary.
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good30%
  • Average8%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“local crafts” (5 reviews)
“t shirts” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
LOCATION
Bogani East Rd, Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi Central Business District
CONTACT
Website
+254 722 205028
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Nairobi
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"local crafts"
in 5 reviews
"under one roof"
in 6 reviews
"t shirts"
in 6 reviews
"craft items"
in 4 reviews
"one stop shop"
in 4 reviews
"shopping experience"
in 4 reviews
"shopping list"
in 2 reviews
"great shopping"
in 3 reviews
"great collection"
in 2 reviews
"for sale"
in 3 reviews
"other attractions"
in 2 reviews
"maasai market"
in 2 reviews
"giraffe centre"
in 3 reviews
"elephant orphanage"
in 2 reviews
"clothing"
in 10 reviews
"textiles"
in 7 reviews
"souvenirs"
in 12 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

This place is fantastic. The only thing I regret is that we did not realise how good the shopping was nor that there was a restaurant on site, so we did not allow enough time to spend here. There are a number of different, high...More

Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utamadunicrafts, General Manager at Utamaduni Craft Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you so much for your nice review. We appreciate your visit and welcome you back and hope you have a longer visit next time. Karibu Sana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I love this place. Not only is it centrally locates bear many attractions, it’s also a hidden gem. The restaurant serves fresh and delicious food (suggestion: place your lunch order and shop while it’s being prepared). This is the best place for one-stop shopping for...More

Thank DWTisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utamadunicrafts, General Manager at Utamaduni Craft Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much. We welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A lovely centre to wander and view authentic African art and craft. Lots of small rooms with really interesting pieces to take home as gifts of keepsakes. Prices are fixed, so eliminates the need to haggle for those who don't enjoy the experience. There is...More

Thank Valerie037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utamadunicrafts, General Manager at Utamaduni Craft Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you back here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Here you will find authentic gifts and keepsakes at a reasonable price. Though small, you will find many rooms with different authentic gift ideas. Have a Tusker or glass of wine when you are finished!

Thank no_pillow_so_soft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utamadunicrafts, General Manager at Utamaduni Craft Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your nice review. We hope to see you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I needed to look for a bunch of items to bring home, but did not want to deal with the local Maasai Market (too much vendor pressure and haggling over prices) or go to a Mall. My Driver suggested Utamaduni as an alternative - and...More

Thank Canechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utamadunicrafts, General Manager at Utamaduni Craft Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for spending the time to review and explain the concept of Utamaduni. We are happy that you enjoyed your experience here and welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Well laid out, bright and easy. No hassling to buy nor haggling required. Granted you could probably hunt around for cheaper prices elsewhere but this gives you a clear understanding of value. We had lunch in the garden...food average garden setting lovely. They even had...More

Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utamadunicrafts, General Manager at Utamaduni Craft Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for review and your visit. We welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Don't waste your time on this tourist trap. We asked "how long will it be" to get a response of "go ask the chef". Food doesnt arrive, items missing, 40 minutes between one person's food and another's. 3 out of 8 meals arrived as described...More

Thank alex h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utamadunicrafts, General Manager at Utamaduni Craft Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I'm sorry that you had such an experience and we apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused. I would like to mention that Utamaduni Craft Centre and the restaurant Makatano Garden are different entities, though I fully understand that we should take this very...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The restaurant experience was the worst we’ve had for years. We were left waiting for drinks for ages and food took over an hour. We tried many times to ask the staff how long it would be, one response was “go into the kitchen and...More

Thank 10J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utamadunicrafts, General Manager at Utamaduni Craft Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are so sorry about your restaurant experience and have taken it up with the Mukatano Restaurant, which in fact is a different entity than Utamadanu Craft Centre and should be reflected in reviews. However we take any complaint seriously as we are mutually dependent...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2018 via mobile

I was so glad our driver took us to this shopping area. The Center is 10-15 small shops linked together. Each shop has its special take on authentic Kenyan gifts. So interesting and fun supporting the local cal community.

Thank mkaiser358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utamadunicrafts, General Manager at Utamaduni Craft Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your visit and review. We welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2018 via mobile

Perfect stop over for our clients during Nairobi excursions.Expect a perfect combination of delicious lunch,peaceful area and gift shop...we highly recommend

Thank Wasili kenya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utamadunicrafts, General Manager at Utamaduni Craft Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your nice comments. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 189 hotels in Nairobi
Park Place Hotel
18 reviews
.84 miles away
House of Waine
279 reviews
2.00 miles away
Acacia Tree Lodge
95 reviews
2.79 miles away
Hemingways Nairobi
640 reviews
3.18 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Matbronze Cafe
60 reviews
.96 miles away
Sakinas Bbq
23 reviews
.77 miles away
BBROOD Kenya
11 reviews
.84 miles away
News Cafe
30 reviews
.95 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Kereita Forest
10 reviews
2.06 miles away
Giraffe Centre
3,586 reviews
1.60 miles away
Nairobi National Park
2,674 reviews
2.42 miles away
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden and Cottages
397 reviews
2.58 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Mor A
February 2, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from utamadunicrafts | Property representative |
Yes we accept all credit cards (visa, master, American Amex etc). Looking forward to seeing you here.
0
Votes
lummels
January 22, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from utamadunicrafts | Property representative |
Yes we ship to all parts of the world and have been doing this for 20 years. We are known for our reliable and efficient shipping. But please feel free to ask more specifically where you would like goods shipped and we can... More
0
Votes
Travelbug_Chicago09
May 21, 2015|
Answer
Response from Helen A | Reviewed this property |
Utamaduni doesn't stock a lot of furniture, although last time I visited there were a few beaded/mosaic tables and stools. I would suggest you try Sunny Daze, which has a range of good quality indoor and outdoor furniture... More
0
Votes