Utamaduni Craft Centre

Utamaduni Craft Centre, Nairobi: Hours, Address, Utamaduni Craft Centre Reviews: 4.5/5

Utamaduni Craft Centre
4.5
Speciality & Gift Shops
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
About
Utamaduni is the best African artisan market in Nairobi. Perfectly located in the leafy suburb of Langata the shop is easy to drop into on you way to some of the exciting venues in Nairobi such as the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust or the Giraffe Centre. You can sit in the beautiful garden with refreshments and then wind your way through a treasure trove of shops, with friendly staff to assist and help pack or ship if needed. Make sure you make Utamaduni a part of your Kenya holiday itinerary.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
Top ways to experience Utamaduni Craft Centre
Popular mentions

4.5
148 reviews
Excellent
77
Very good
52
Average
11
Poor
4
Terrible
4

Meeshmartin
San Jose, CA149 contributions
Dragged my husband and even he liked it!
Oct 2021 • Couples
Took a shopping tour and this was the best stop by far. The prices are set and very fair and the goods are simply beautiful and authentic. Highly recommend! There is also a nice cafe to park your other half if they don’t want to shop.
Written October 11, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Marlene693
Johannesburg, South Africa79 contributions
Visit to restaurant and art center
Apr 2021 • Couples
We have visited this art center and restaurant and it was interesting.The restaurant has an indoor and outdoor seating making it an ideal place for meeting and enjoying craft and art that this place has to offer .The food was tasty prepared by the chef in place . We have black rice noodles with vegetables and steamed tufo sandwich wich were very tasty.The service was good and the staff were friendly.I highly recommend the restaurant for any guest looking for a peace of mind and enjoy some art and food.We will come back .
Thank you
Written May 24, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Bidule05
France614 contributions
Isabelle (France)
Feb 2020
We came from Sheldrick Wildlife Trust. We stopped for lunch in this excellent restaurant that is close Sheldrick Wildlife Trust and Giraffe centre. The restaurant is located in very a beautiful and peaceful garden.
The staff is friendly and very effective.
I highly recommend this excellent and relaxing restaurant.
Written January 14, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

zalishariff
Karachi, Pakistan140 contributions
Your one-stop shopping place for handicrafts
Mar 2020
The collection of handicrafts, artifacts, art objects, household goods of daily use, etc., is humongous. Quality of all products is very good. Whether buying for yourself or gift shopping, you need not really go anywhere else. One caveat though: everything is very high-priced! They are really going all out for the tourist dollar and would be well-advised to reduce prices to greatly increase sales. I saw most visitors browsing, with very few actually buying anything. What is the point of holding such huge inventory and selling very little? And all the salespersons (mostly young women) really need coaching in being more friendly and helpful as practically the whole lot seemed highly disinterested in both the visitors and their job, and were more occupied in either gossiping among themselves or with their cellphones.
Written March 29, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Terry-Ngina
1 contribution
Disappointed
Feb 2020 • Family
As a frequent visitor today I am extremely disappointed. I have been sitting at the garden no one interested because I am not a tourist 🙄🙄The waiters come out to welcome the tourists and ignore me !!! I am invisible !!!
Written February 11, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

annminky
United States1,389 contributions
Nice Place to Visit after Running Errands :-)
Jan 2020
My driver and I had the pleasure to stop here for lunch. What a nice, pleasant place to rest after running errands that day. The staff/employees were all nice and attentive. Our food was excellent. I think I had the dish with shrimp and a bowl of rice with Tusker beer, of course. The shop next door offered a variety of crafts. I was able to purchase a t-shirt. Such relaxing place for lunch.
Written February 9, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you so much for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back here again to relax and enjoy our restaurant and shops. Karibuni.
Written February 12, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

mewells56
Paris, KY30 contributions
Lovely cafe/gift shop with outdoor seating
Dec 2019
We stopped here while out with a guide seeing some sites around Nairobi (per his recommendation) It was gloomy and had been raining most of the morning. We were able to be seated next to a fireplace that one of the staff had just started a fire in so it was very nice to warm up a bit. Food was good , not great but certainly worth the money and service was adequate. There is also a nice gift area that had all the tourist related items in place
Written January 11, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

CARLYE P
Portland, OR137 contributions
Finally - A Store With Quality Goods
Nov 2019
I have to admit - I found myself beginning to yell back at vendors yelling "Come into my shop and look around" by saying "Why? It's the same junk as every other store...."
Thank goodness I found my way to the Utamaduni Craft Center. Some actually unique items, fair prices, and much better quailty than the norm.
My treasure - a piece of indigo dyed fabric with a pattern that had been done shibori-style using straw for thread. It was the only one there, but who knows what you might find on another day.
Lots of other things I would have loved to have brought home.
Written November 20, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for the wonderful review. We pride ourselves on our quality but it is lovely to hear that you appreciated it and we hope you will come back another time and find another lovely little one-off treasure.
Written November 22, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Lisa P
Niwot, CO12 contributions
Excellent Selection of Crafts
Sep 2019
Before we left Karen to go out on a 2 week safari we stopped here because we had been here in 2011 and remembered it well. They have a fantastic selection of Kenyan crafts. After 2 weeks out on safari and before we flew home, we went back and bought more. While on safari, you never know if you will see exactly what you might want at the local shops or at your camp. If you miss it on safari, you may be able to pick it up at Utamaduni! Prices are about the same or possibly little more than at camps but it is worth it!
Written October 28, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your nice review. We are happy that you came back and hope to see you next time. Hope you had a wonderful safari. Best regards Utamaduni.
Written October 30, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

travelcrazy63
Mount Vernon, WA107 contributions
Excellent restaurant
Oct 2019
The craft center was a bit disappointing. Not as large as we expected, and everything very expensive. Still interesting. The restaurant was great, with good seating area outdoors.
Written October 26, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for coming to visit us and sorry that you found us not as large as expected. We are actually one of the largest Craft Centres in Kenya, though of course the markets are much larger. Our business model is to have the best crafts available at fair and fixed prices, in a quiet environment. Larger places tend to be more stressful to navigate. We have 20 shops all dedicated to different crafts to make it easier for the shoppers. We hope you had a lovely trip to Kenya and welcome you back again.
Written October 29, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 129
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Utamaduni Craft Centre

Utamaduni Craft Centre is open:
  • Sun - Sat 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Buy tickets in advance on Tripadvisor. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel at least 24 hours before the start date of your tour for a full refund.

We recommend booking Utamaduni Craft Centre tours ahead of time to secure your spot. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel up to 24 hours before your tour starts for a full refund. See all 5 Utamaduni Craft Centre tours on Tripadvisor


Hotels near Utamaduni Craft Centre: View all hotels near Utamaduni Craft Centre on Tripadvisor