We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Anselm Kitengela Hot Glass

Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Off Masai Lodge/Magadi Rd, nr. Ongata Rongai, Nairobi, Kenya
Phone Number: +254 722 523284
Website
Description:

Kitengela Glass split into two separately owned glass companies 20 years...

Kitengela Glass split into two separately owned glass companies 20 years ago. Anselm's glass blowing studio (with 25 years of expertise) in the planetarium dome makes blown & cast items, beads, lighting and architectural installations in an eco-friendly environment next to the Nairobi National Park. He also has a small cafe serving fresh sandwiches, coffee and juices. Alternatively Nani's company offers stained glass, rudimentary glass blowing, accommodation and animals. A visit to both companies is recommended, as they have very different ethos and products. Welcome!

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 53 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 28
    Excellent
  • 13
    Very good
  • 4
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Bumpy Ride But Worth a Visit

It's a rough road. Once you pass Nazarene University, the road is no longer paved. It is really bumpy. I should note that even some of the paved part are bumpy because of... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed 2 weeks ago
MrsJeff
,
New York City, New York
Add Photo Write a Review

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 48: English reviews
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's a rough road. Once you pass Nazarene University, the road is no longer paved. It is really bumpy. I should note that even some of the paved part are bumpy because of potholes. I'm happy to say that it's worth the drive, as long as you have a 4x4 with a high clearance off the ground. Don't take a... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrsJeff
Kitengelaglass, Owner at Anselm Kitengela Hot Glass, responded to this review

Thanks for the sweet review. You are very kind. Anselm More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The road was a bit bumpy, but trust me, when you get there you shall be most pleasantly surprised! A demonstration should be treated as an eyebrow opener!!! There is also a coffee shop, well worth having an espresso for a short break. Only grey area was the display of broken ornaments which was over priced- come on- who on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stavros C
Nairobi Region, Kenya
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016

I visited during the holiday in June 1. What a huge disconnect between the store fronts they have in upmarket malls and the place where they produce the glass work. Kitengela Glass could do with some serious refurbishing/renovating/sprucing up. It looked so neglected. Not worth the visit especially considering the terrible road (which is not their fault really). Better buy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sightseer254
Kitengelaglass, Owner at Anselm Kitengela Hot Glass, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for your review. We are very sorry that you didn’t think the trip was worthwhile - could you be more specific regarding refurbishing/renovating/sprucing up? Many visitors come to visit us to get out of town, browse our wholesale store and take advantage of the 35% discount not available at either our Junction or Village Market shops,... More 

Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2016

I had two days in Nairobi and l used Google maps to reach the location , unfortunately it took me to the market in Helen's Junction and l had to ask the salesman inside for a map to reach the workshop , it was obviously in the outskirts of the city and my time didnt allow for a visit :(

Helpful?
Thank LamaKhatieb
Kitengelaglass, Owner at Anselm Kitengela Hot Glass, responded to this review

Hi there. Sorry for the confusion. We have two shops in Nairobi, and one at the studio, which is a little ways out of town. Hopefully you will be back soon - and we can give you precise directions (email anselm@kitengela.com). Thanks More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

Let me start my review by saying that I read a LOT of reviews before visiting Kitengela that talked about how horrible the road is. And they were all right- it's in very rough condition. But... this is Kenya people! You're not in Nairobi, you're in a rural community. Rough roads are just part of life for the majority of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shawn-Whitney K
Kitengelaglass, Owner at Anselm Kitengela Hot Glass, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for the stars. Glad you enjoyed, roadgardless:-). Anselm. More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2016

Once you manage to get over the rough rocky road ( I seriously recommend a 4WD) leading to Anselm Kitengela Hot Glass..The moment you're heading to the parking lot, you are greeted with wonderful showcases of art, glass and metal molded into amazing pieces of mosaic and animals, once you are in, the tour begins, my friends and I managed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anhar E
Kitengelaglass, Owner at Anselm Kitengela Hot Glass, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your intrepid visit! Also for the kind review and stars. Look forward to seeing you again soon! Anselm More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2016

Kitengela is quite a way past Karen (travelling from Nairobi) but certainly worth the visit if you have the time. According to their website they had recently (approx Dec 2015) lain rocks on the worst part of their road, rendering the road navigable by sedan. I checked with my driver, and he was game to give it a go. Well,... More 

Helpful?
Thank 21stCenturyExplorers
Kitengelaglass, Owner at Anselm Kitengela Hot Glass, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for your visit and kind words, and yes, it's hard to believe, but the road was much worse before... Warm regards, Anselm. More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

Anselm Kitengela Hot Glass is a wonderful place to watch glass blowing, admire many beautiful examples of glass art, and buy some of them in the shop. Almost as soon as you get out of your car, you'll be greeted by a helpful person in uniform who will offer to take you on a tour of the facility. (In this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Avidtravelista
Kitengelaglass, Owner at Anselm Kitengela Hot Glass, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your visit and kind review. Look forward to seeing you again soon! Anselm More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2015

Somewhat challenging to reach as the roads are very rocky and uneven, the shop is worth the trip. There is live glassblowing in the workshop onsite, and a wide selection of glassware for sale at a reasonable price. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Wandering_Canad1an
Kitengelaglass, Owner at Anselm Kitengela Hot Glass, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review, and for enduring our infamous road. We look forward to seeing you again one of these days. Anselm More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2015

I recently visited Kitengela and watched the local artists at work blowing glass, whiskey tumblers and fruit bowls, the surrounding buildings are also very interesting and this is a great outing to see something different, make sure you have at least half a day for this visit as they have numerous shops on the property and next door and also... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen W
Kitengelaglass, Owner at Anselm Kitengela Hot Glass, responded to this review

We appreciate your visit and time to write a review very much. Karibu tena! Anselm More 

Travelers who viewed Anselm Kitengela Hot Glass also viewed

 

Been to Anselm Kitengela Hot Glass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Anselm Kitengela Hot Glass staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?