We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Back Of Africa Adventure

Features Animals
Nairobi, Kenya
More
About Back Of Africa Adventure
Back of Africa Adventure is an exciting Kenya and Tanzania Tour Operator. We employ experienced travel professionals operating inbound tourism within Kenya and Tanzania while offering a wide range of Adventure budget tour activity programs in wildlife safaris, mountain trekking, lodge safaris and lots of other budget adventure travel activities. Our experiences in organizing and planning adventure.
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about

Back Of Africa Adventure
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
56Reviews1Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 50
  • 2
  • 3
  • 0
  • 1
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Johnny Walker wrote a review Sep 20
1 contribution
+1
George was an incredible guide with his knowledge of everything related to Africa and the safari. He has a great sense of humor and is very thoughtful and was genuinely concerned for our well being throughout our 7 day trip. We saw incredible wildlife and scenery that left an indelible impression upon our souls. Back of Africa was as good as you could ever hope for with their exquisite communication and attention to detail. They’re experienced and knowledgeable and they go the extra mile. Thank you! Chelsie and I were celebrating our 10th anniversary together and we will never forget it!
Read more
Date of experience: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Back Of Africa A, Owner at Back Of Africa Adventure
Responded 4 days ago
Hello, Johnny Walker. Thank you for being a loyal customer. We appreciate the opportunity to serve you. More importantly, we are grateful for a five-star rating and will work hard to keep up the momentum. Stay blessed. Allan
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paula M wrote a review Sep 9
1 contribution
My husband and I did a 7 day / 6 night safari. It was a trip of a lifetime. Allan was extremely prompt in responding to queries and everything was well organized as agreed. Our driver Elliott was wonderful. He was knowledgeable about the animals and a good driver on the Kenyan roads which were often in bad condition. The highlight of our trip was staying at the Serena lodge at Tsavo West overlooking the waterhole. We also enjoyed our stay at the Sopa lodge in Nakaru (amazing view) and Keekorok lodge at Masai Mara (with a hippo pool). The food at all the lodges was delicious and varied. 2 of the lodges (Kibo at Amboseli and Aruba at Tsavo East) did not have WiFi in the rooms but that was a minor inconvenience We were lucky to see over 25 lions at very close range during our safari as well as dozens of elephants and other wild life. The only thing I would change is getting a 4 wheel vehicle next time as the roads (especially near Amboseli) are terrible. I highly recommend Back of Africa. They provided great service and value. Allan was efficient and well organized and we highly recommend our driver Elliott.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Farah O wrote a review Sep 1
1 contribution
Allan was very timely in responding, he gave excellent advice of how to maximize an adventurous 10 days full of fun , learning and immensely immeasurably wonderful experience! George our driver for the entire safari was fluent in English, very knowledgeable and extremely dedicated to us having a lifetime experience. He was especially kind to our 11 year old son with disability. I highly recommend Back of Africa!! Thank you Allan , you delivered much more than we expected.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Gorkem Arslan wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
+1
I and my friends had a safari experience with Back of Africa and it definitely exceeded our expectations! Allan - our tour organizer - is super professional, hands on, dedicated and clear in communications. So everything was amazing from the first contact till the end. We stayed in Sarova Camp, it is like an oasis. The atmosphere, food and staff all 100/100. I'd like to say big thank you to our tour guide George. He is amazing. We have seen all the big 5 in our first day. For the next day we asked him to get closer to giraffes and he found a place where there is no one except our jeep and like 10 giraffes!. He is not only amazing in his job but also has a great personality. In summary, this tour is the one =)
Read more
Date of experience: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Chris M wrote a review Jul 2022
Wellington, New Zealand41 contributions42 helpful votes
I used Simon Milambo owner of Wild Race Safari to organise & arrange my 10 day safari to Kenya/Tanzania. I was sub out to his brother Alan at Back of Africa Safari . Alan turned up on Day # 1 - And took my money and I received a receipt from Back of Africa . This would be the only time this company turned up on time . Alan of Back of Africa in turn sub a driver with a van vehicle. This vehicle turned out to be a lemon , and well passed its use by date .We had many break downs . All my lodging that had been agreed upon and payed for with Wild Race Safari’s were downgraded. After many complaints by email either Simon or his brother Alan sorted these problems out , instead passing the buck onto the other . Would not recommend either of these dishonest companies - there is no excuses for such dishonest behaviour. I did not get what had been arranged or what I payed for - There was no duty of care from either company Recommend - Giving these two companies a big miss - You will be disappointed ! Both these companies bad behaviour have been reported to the Kenyan Tourist Board
Read more
Date of experience: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Back Of Africa A, Owner at Back Of Africa Adventure
Responded Jul 29, 2022
Hello Chris M. I hope this message finds you well and in good health. I would like to express my heartfelt apologies on behalf of our company Back Of Africa Adventure ltd, for the negative experience you had during your trip with your organizer. On the other hand, if we flip the coin, in your opinion, you were subcontracted to our company Back Of Africa Adventure, which is partially correct. The truth is that Back Of Africa Adventure ltd only assisted your operator to collect the outstanding balance of the cash that you were to pay him as you both agreed. We did this on behalf of your agent, and he was at your hotel in person to see you off. Little did we know you had problems since all seemed okay between you and him as I could read the body language of you two. We only came in to assist in cash collection because your tour agent's POS MACHINE had a technical fault that early morning, which has since been resolved, and they are able to handle their transactions squarely. And, to be honest, we never operated your itinerary, nor were you subcontracted to us. The only receipt you received from Back Of Africa Adventure is a printout that comes out of the POS MACHINE after your bank authorizes the payment, and our services as a company ended on the spot. That is why you can recall vividly that we never spoke, since we did not have your contact information in our database and that everything that happened to you came to our attention through this reputable platform. We've learned our lessons, and should we be the sacrificial lambs? I don't think so. However, as a reputable company, we completely understand your anguish and frustration, and we sincerely apologize. Back Of Africa Adventure values its customers, and while we do our best to uphold our standards on many occasions, we occasionally fall short. In your eyes, we have failed you, and we are deeply sorry. Again, we appreciate your one full fat star (*) review of our company. We take it positively and will correct our failures for a better tomorrow. We are at your disposal. Regards, Allan.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456