Taste Georgia
Taste Georgia
4.5
About
Taste Georgia specializes in culinary and wine focused food and wine tours and tastings,cooking classes,market walks and winery tours in and around Tbilisi. We arrange food and wine itineraries with hand picked small and family owned producers. Our mission is to provide authentic cultural experiences in the Republic of Georgia through the context of food and wine.
Tbilisi, Georgia

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours and Tickets by Taste Georgia
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

4.5
34 reviews
Excellent
31
Very good
1
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
2

eatingespana
Madrid, Comunidad de Madrid, Spain31 contributions
Apr 2017 • Friends
"Dinner with a Winemaker" was the highlight of my trip. You sit around the dinner table with one of Georgia's leading natural winemakers, a real character. He serves you his own wine— many bottles— as well as a home-cooked Georgian meal.

The Georgian cooking class, another Taste Georgia offering, was excellent, too, especially if you are interested in something a bit more technical and involved than the usual "drink and watch the chef cook" cooking classes that dominate the market.
Written May 2, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so happy you got to meet Eko, one of our favorite winemakers and people in Georgia. He is a real gem.
Written June 17, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

AtoZaatar
Dubai, United Arab Emirates553 contributions
May 2018 • Couples
We chose the Katli tour and it was the perfect balance of culture, food, and wine! Although we weren't sure what to expect, what unfolded was a memorable day interacting with artisan winemakers and beautiful views of the Georgian countryside. Our guide was knowledgeable, friendly, and professional. I would highly recommend this tour, and wouldn't hesitate to book another tour with Taste Georgia.
Written June 4, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review like this and adding photos! The Kartli tour is my favorite tour we offer, and I am so happy you enoyed tour day. We look forward to seeing you again in Georgia
Written June 4, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ROBERTO_M
TELAVIV Israel39 contributions
May 2015 • Friends
After 50 years in the travel industry and my 6 languages control, We always tour the world by ourselves. Still we were craving to go to GEORGIA. Due to our dyre situation in respect of the language and the Georgian orthograph, we decided to take an organized group tour of GEORGIA including the North and South Caucases. We were
extremely lucky to have booked the tour via a pensioners organization (with the help of Mrs Bracha PEER - in our country, but the REAL experience was our tour manager Mr Rami OREN.
Mr OREN has "fallen in love" with the Georgian culture and folklore, and during the past 6-8 years in GEORGIA, has developped an overall knowledge and in depth feeling for this amazing country and its population and ways of life. Our tour was a sheer pleasure and was topped by the endless care annd attention of Mr OREN and his staff to all details and food.
We all came back home applausing them and will definetly return to other Georgian experiences.
Thank you Rami and tour colleagues Mrs Bracha and young Tamusha. WELL DONE!!
Written June 7, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Ran T
7 contributions
Jul 2015 • Family
Reserved a cooking class.... Got something completely different. Price was VERY expensive, but did not get what we were promised. We complained but did not hear back. Very bad expensive.

Stay away!
Written July 27, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
We can assure readers that the above review is not entirely true and is related to the previous reviewer. The reviewer never emailed us or called us to complain about anything regarding the tour and calling a private cooking class that involved a wine tasting for under $40 a person demonstrates the lack of experience this person has in this industry. Since we have no idea who this person is and have never had any contact with him or her and he or she never actually booked a tour or class with us, we can't make any kind of response, other than we stand behind our guides and venues as well as our services. We have looked into the allegations presented and have also looked into previous reviews of this person and find that he or she grossly exaggerates, unfortunately in this type of service on TA we can't do anything about reviewers who lie and exaggerate or reviewers who were never our clients in the first place. As below, take it with a grain of salt. The reviewer has something sort of vengeance or malicious intent that we cannot understand. Our costs are not extremely expensive.
Written August 24, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sarah_Kr2010
Tel Aviv, Israel34 contributions
Jul 2015 • Family
We reserved a cooking class for 16 people and got to stick some dough in the oven and fold one khinkali each. The other dishes that where promised where not there. Our guide was recruited a day before and had no idea what we ordered. The hosts were notified the night before and could not prepare the dishes.
The price was extremely expensive and there was no one to talk to about the mess.
To summarize:
We got a friendly guide who showed us a church on the way, a driver and a mini bus, a winery and dinner that we have not made.
We have not asked for a tour but a cooking - baking class.
My friends and I did not enjoy the food or the wine but the host was very nice.
The biggest frustration was that there was no one to talk to!!! Because no one knew what was going on!!! The guys from taste of Georgia did not answer my calls.
Unbelievable!
They have not contacted me since.

Written July 25, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
One should always be suspicious of a one star review on a page that has only 5 star reviews. In this case, the person who wrote the review was impossible to please, even before the tour. We gave her an 80% discount and on the day of the tour she paid $165 less than the agree upon price. Her cooking class was $32 a person, hardly “extremely expensive” and included a wine tour at a small family owned winery. the rest of the party had a lovely time and were quite embarrassed of their friend yelling and carrying on at the winery. We agreed on 4 dishes and one included the making of Churchkhela. Unfortunately the host was unable to obtain the grape juice needed for this, so our guide offered financial compensation which would have cost about $25 but she decided on her own to discount the tour another $165. According to guide and two hosts. the party had a lovely time, they enjoyed the class and unfortunately the parents allowed the teenagers to drink and there was one teenager so drunk, our bus driver had to ask for bags for her to vomit it. This goes against the agreement in which we decided only the adults would taste wine. After the class and the ample lunch (there were at least 7 dishes on the table) the party enjoyed the premises, relaxed and slept on the sofas and outside in the grass as well as vomiting on the premises. This reviewer was displeased even before the tour and she is lying about the guide and the services. A Georgian would never allow a party into their home and not have enormous quantities of food. It goes against the culture of hospitality that all Georgian abide. The reviewer was so rude to the guide and to the hosts that I have had to promise to be more careful with future guests better to prevent this type of treatment. The hosts are a lovely family with three children, they invited my guests into their home and the guests managed to get drunk and the reviewer yelled and carried on despite the hostess offering a wonderful class and a perfect day out in the countryside. To write a one star review on a service that she agreed upon and was enjoyed by her party just tells us and perhaps future tour operators that this is a person who is unable to be pleased or happy. At the end of the day we are offering a service that our clients enjoy and that we would like to go on ourselves and we feel that her review is completely unjustified, mostly because she is lying. She was trying to get the tour for free and asked for multiple discounts before the tour. The party made a variety of dishes made with local and organic ingredients, tasted at least 4 wines and had a winery tour and there were more dishes on the table to be enjoyed with what was made in the class. We also had a translator/guide there and organized private transportation. I know of no other company in Georgia who could offer a private and customized service for that inexpensive of a price. We organized a kosher meal and made sure she had a variety of option because she had a lot of demands regarding dietary restrictions. We regularly work with people with dietary or religious restriction and have never had a complaint. This woman has clearly gone out of her way to complain is is exaggerating with a one star review. An educated person would not try to destroy a family owned business like ours out of nothing other than vengeance, after yelling and screaming at our employees and service providers, after we bent over backwards to make the class happen despite her booking very last minute in high season and gave her discounts and bargains not once or twice but 4 times and she still stiffed the guide upon payment and we lost money on the tour, we actually had a loss of money on this tour when she did not pay the agreed upon amount. Normally when we have gotten communication about something that was not 'pleasing to our clients it is usually circumstances beyond our control and we offer compensation and we are sorry for this, but in this case, this woman clearly has an agenda, perhaps is not stable and was completely out of line in our country. We are always open to criticism and feedback, but we can do nothing when the feedback is based on lies and events that did not happen. This review is frankly shameful and an embarrassment to her family and travel mates. As far as nobody contacting her, she never emailed us to tell this to us. She had not only the guide's number but our local contact in Tbilisi as well as two different emails and a skype contact. We are super easy to reach and I am online all the time except when I am in the air. We did our best to organize a tour for her after we told her our chef in Tbilisi was not available on that date due to renovations so we offered a cooking class in a winery along with a wine tasting. She agreed on a service and a price and was incredibly rude to my colleagues. As I said above, read her review with a grain of salt because there is absolutely no truth or value to it. The reviewer obviously has an agenda if she is willing to lie for no reason. We will also stand behind our guides and wine makers who are doing their best for Georgia.
Written July 27, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ruth W
2 contributions
Jul 2019 • Solo
Had a beautiful trip to Georgia and Tbilisi with this team. Tbilisi is full of culture History and surprises the people, culture, food, wine and architecture are not to be missed there is something here for everyone. We had Brilliant Guides food and Accommodation. I can’t wait to return.
Written July 8, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sarah May G
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this. We are so happy you loved Georgia so much that you plan to return.
Written July 9, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Karinbrazil
Frankfurt, Germany32 contributions
May 2018 • Friends
We had an amazing time in Georgia, and we can surely say one of the main reasons for that was the great service and consultancy provided by Taste Georgia. Our program was perfect and as expected - not overdone, and also not one bit less of what we have expected. Guides were efficient, prices were fair and the experience delivered was spot on! As someone who did not have much of a clue on how Georgia would be, I am positive to say that Taste Georgia's service has helped me enjoy it in a safe, free, cheerful way.

We want to go back to Georgia to visit Batumi and will for sure contact them to help us on our planning again.
Written May 22, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you so much for letting us know how your tour was! We love Batumi and know you will love it too.
Written June 4, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Anita B
Porto, Portugal20 contributions
May 2017 • Solo
Taste Georgia’s “Dinner with a Winemaker” in Tbilisi set the stage for my first-time visit to Georgia. The day after I arrived, I enjoyed a memorable evening at the home of Eko Glonti, a top Georgian winemaker. Our host’s Lagvinari wines paired with flavorful local dishes and great conversation to provide an unforgettable introduction to Georgian wine styles and foodways. My first taste of qvevre wine was one of the best of my trip.

“In this type of winemaking, your intention matters,” our host told us. Thank you Eko Glonti, for sharing your intention, your passionate knowledge and most of all, your lovely wines with us. Meeting fellow wine lovers around your table was a highlight of my trip. Thank you Taste Georgia for making it possible…I look forward to exploring this fascinating culinary destination further with you!
Written June 14, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Anita, Thank you so much for contacting us and taking the time to join our dinner with Eko. Our goal is to have people experience dinners like this and leave feeling the exact same way you do. Hopefully next time you can take a cooking class with us! Thanks again!
Written June 17, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

DevinaDivecha
Dubai, United Arab Emirates22 contributions
Jul 2016 • Couples
Booking a tour for Kakheti (wine country!) through Taste Georgia was a good decision. It was a day-long tour with a guide and driver in a very comfortable car. Maka, our guide, was super friendly and very knowledgeable about wines and the region's history and culture. Alex, our driver, was nice, and we felt very safe with him at the wheel. Definitely bring your camera or smartphone with a good camera, there is a lot of see and capture. Sarah, the founder, was in contact up to the point of the tour, which was very helpful as she kept us in the loop with any changes or updates. If you're interested in meeting interesting Georgians and learning more about history, culture, as well as wine, this one is recommended. Wine tastings and lunch was included on this tour.

I believe Taste Georgia also organises longer tours, something which I am keen to explore on my next visit.
Written July 9, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We do indeed aim to make our guests feel like friends. Everyone from Maka to Alex to Eko really enjoyed your company. Look forward to meeting you in Georgia again!
Written August 6, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Matus V
1 contribution
May 2016 • Friends
Everything was perfectly organized. We were group of 8 people tasting the wines from family winemakers for 8 days. Traveled almost 1300 km all around the wine regions. We had best driver in the world and Natia, our guide was just out of this world. Perfect knowledge of the wines, history of the country, everything. Have to come back in near future!!!
Written June 7, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 34

Taste Georgia (Tbilisi) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go