Bookaway Myanmar

Bookaway Myanmar, Yangon (Rangoon): Address, Phone Number, Bookaway Myanmar Reviews: 3.5/5

Bookaway Myanmar
3.5
About
Search, find, compare and book your ground and sea transportation online. Take a bus, train or ferry to the world’s best locations. Book online, travel freely.

Tours and Tickets

The area
Address
2035 Sunset Lake Road, Yangon (Rangoon) 19702 Myanmar

3.5
16 reviews
Excellent
10
Very good
0
Average
1
Poor
0
Terrible
5

peter m
Shanghai, China17 contributions
charlatans
I booked a car from Mandalay to Bagan and paid in advance using my credit card. I got an almost instant replay saying it's was booked. A day before the journey they cancelled leaving me stuck! To date I have received no refund (almost two weeks) despite several emails promising such. I would avoid this service.
Written February 4, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Prasanna_Ariyadasa
Naha, Japan54 contributions
I traveled by JJ Express VIP bus
Dec 2019
Me and my wife traveled from Yangon to Bagan using this service.
we are happy about there service.
Do not book the last row seat.
Written January 27, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Hospitality With Recommendation
Panama City, Panama22 contributions
Unacceptable behavior
I got space where seater J3 instead of my real seater K 3 and I was sitting at J3 because that J3 was canceled by Simone then I sit there after given some tips after 5 minutes of sitting then car lady and men talk each other to ask me to go my original seater then they give that J 3 to other guest who is next to me his original seater is K2 !!! How does is happen! It’s shame on JJ express and company ! Really they play big game infront of travelers and passengers , they shown alongside how they cheat and lie infront of others foreigners and they shown and prove how lie and cheat and never recommended JJ EXPRESS & unsafe and security with full of cheat abd lie by one car lady and three men including drivers !!!!!
Written January 27, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Jas
1 contribution
Unpleasant experience in JJ express bus
Jan 2020 • Family
Had a terrible experience when busing from inle to Yangon- an overnight bus . Was seated at the last second row. Informed the bus attendant that the couple behind us didn’t allow us to recline fully as he claimed that his legs are Long. Asked him to explain to them that we should be able to do so as it is an overnight bus. In any case, there are many other empty seats in the bus that they can change to. Not sure what the attendant spoke to the man as they were talking in Myanmar language. Instead of asking them to shift, the attendant asked us not to recline fully. When I refused, the man behind me put both his legs above my seat. The attendant just stood there doing nothing. Not sure if this is his advice to the man! When I wrote to the company, they were trying to imply that while their seats can be reclined for the comfort of overnight travel, if there is a dispute, we need to try to settle it ourself. Eventually, my son has to shift to another seat although the one having issue is the couple behind us. It was a very unpleasant experience for me and my family bec of the poor management of the situation by the company personnel.
Written January 25, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Satoshi k
Shinjuku, Japan244 contributions
Comfortable
Dec 2019
Bus departs from Yangon Aung Mingalar Bus Station.
I arrived at Yangon International Airport at 18:00. I used a taxi from the airport to the bus station. I left the airport at around 19:00 and arrived at Bus Station in about 40 minutes. You have to pay an entrance fee to enter Bus Station.(200MMK)
I got on the VIP bus departing at 21:00.(Khine Mandalay Express) There are two breaks. At the time of the break all passengers must go outside the bus. The first was around 24:00 and the second was around 4 o'clock. And we arrived at Nyaun-U at 7:00 as scheduled. The seats were large, all the seats could be used to watch movies, and the air conditioning was adequate and very comfortable. Recommended for those who want to move inexpensively.
Written January 9, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bookawaycom
Hey there, Thank you for your kind words, it means a lot. We wish you a great trip!
Written January 12, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Christiaan Koning
Amersfoort, The Netherlands13 contributions
No ticket at travel agency
3 times we have tried to book a bus ticket from Yangon to Bagan through Bookaway and while have to wait almost 24 hours between each status update, all 3 bookings got declined because the busses were already fully booked.

We tried to contact Bookaway in between the long waiting times through email and WhatsApp but didn't receive any reaction. Now we are forced to book a standard local night bus for 12 hours because we have only 2 more days left to book.

The site is not regularly updated, processing time is long and contacting support is not possible so would not recommend Bookaway.
Written January 5, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello, Thanks for your feedback. As stated on the booking info page, availability is not updated in real-time. For future reference - if your first booking was declined, we recommend contacting our live chat so our agents can assist you in finding a transfer that's available. Have a great trip and we hope to see you again in the future.
Written January 9, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

guchanesk
istanbul14 contributions
No ticket at the travel agency
Dec 2019 • Friends
I purchased a ticket from bookaway for JJ express Yangon to Bagan. We received the confirmation mail but without any seat number. It was bit strange, bookaway support service told us just to show the confirmation mail to bus agency. That's all no names, nothing
When we were at the bus station right on time there wasn't any reservation number matching with ours and no availability at all. Bookaway reservations doesn't have any customers name or booking number but just website name. Whoever comes first from bookaway gets the seat!!
It was impossible to reach bookaway.com support via phone, chat, mail. We had to find another ticket on ourself
Avoid working with this page, its a total scam
Written December 23, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Guchan, We're so sorry to hear about your experience and we totally understand your frustration, which is why we made sure to give you a full refund for your booking. A mistake was made and we'd like to reassure you that we're taking every precaution to make sure something like this will never happen again. We hope you're having a great trip and would love to see you on future Bookaway trips.
Written December 25, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Joanne F
11 contributions
Took to and fro overnight bus with JJ from yangon to bagan
Dec 2019 • Couples
Bus is clean, comfortable. Light refreshment is served. From yangon to Bagan, first rest stop is 30 minutes, toilets are clean. I slept through the second break!Free Shuttle bus is provided for certain stops, kindly check with JJ EXPRESS for further info. The bus have charging port, able to charge phone overnight.
They won a safety certificate for 2018/2019, felt quite safe in the bus albeit bumpy as the condition of road in Myanmar is out of their control! Most important for me is that it is possible to catch 4 to 5 hours of sleep in
the bus
Written December 16, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hey there and thank you so much for your kind words, it means a lot! We wish you a great trip and hope you had a great nap ;)
Written December 25, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

J_P
Copenhagen, Denmark64 contributions
Alright - but no info
Nov 2019 • Solo
As a lot of other companies in Myanmar they don’t provide any information during the tour. Suddenly we have get out of the bus without any reason. When I asked why the answer was “it’s ok”. The pursers English was awful and he didn’t understand much either.
Other than that it was fine. Comfortable seats, few stops for toilet and food, light snack included, air con worked...
Written November 11, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hey there and thank you for bringing this to our attention. As we work with local suppliers, some language barriers are to be expected. While it might be a bit strange to travel this way, it's also part of the charm of traveling in a foreign country and getting to know how their culture. We wish you a great trip and many positive adventures :)
Written December 25, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Marcella A
1 contribution
Bagan to INLE Lake
Oct 2019 • Couples
Comfortable trip, sufficient stops and good way to enjoy the scenery and meet people. Staff was attentive and snacks provided
Written October 28, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hey there and thank you for your kind words, it means a lot. We wish you a great trip and look forward to seeing you on future Bookaway trips
Written December 25, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 14
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing