We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harbour Fishing Charters

Features Animals
Port Vila, Vanuatu
More
About Harbour Fishing Charters
Come fishing with Mitch on 2601 Seaswirl Striper. We can accommodate up to 4 anglers and have 4, 6 and 8 hour charters available. We use all Shimano fishing rods and reels and target Marlin, Mahi Mahi, Wahoo, Yellow Fin and Dog Tooth Tuna and GTs. Try throwing some poppers, jigging in 60 to 100m and trawling along The Marlin highway of Efate and around the FAD's. Whether you are a seasoned fisherman or a novice you will enjoy your experience.
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about
113Reviews9Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 100
  • 7
  • 3
  • 0
  • 3
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Mark wrote a review Sep 2019
3 contributions
The weather played a big part in curtailing our fishing ambitions but we did get 1 day at the fad and 1 day in closer. The FAD is definitely the option to go for, we got 6 tuna strikes and landed 2. We spent a half day trawling and jigging in close we didn't get a bite. Their accommodation is excellent with sea views and provides good value for money.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
snazzyjack wrote a review Aug 2019
Brisbane, Australia3 contributions2 helpful votes
Great experience with Mitch and Lynn. They are so friendly and accomodation, and the view is to die for. If you are looking for great fishing with someone who is passionate about his sport, then you can't go past Mitch. The accommodation is modern and very clean. You are out of town which suited us fine and the peace and quite is amazing.
Read more
Date of experience: April 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mitch C, Owner at Harbour Fishing Charters
Responded Aug 25, 2019
Thanks guys for taking the time to do a review, we hope that we see you back again. Regards Lynn
Read more
Alan S wrote a review Jul 2019
Tauranga, New Zealand36 contributions6 helpful votes
Spent a week in the 2 bedroom house at Harbour fishing charters with the family and had a great time, Lovely location on the harbour. Good value and quality house, very well presented. Lynn was very helpful with communication, details, organisation and advice. Provided pick up and drop off at airport and sorted us our for tours. Had several charters and had a great time, lots of different locations and options. The trade winds blow hard from the south east therefore Havannah is on the lee side, also a lot less boats fishing out of here compared to in town. Got a nice sailfish and yellowfin tuna, had a good time trying a variety of locations and techniques. Some might find their ears burning from the skipper at times if they do not have thick skin! :) Quality electronics and fishing gear and Mitch certainly put in the effort to get us onto fish, he knows his stuff. Mitch went to different locations to target different species and it worked well. Gave us good portion of fish to eat. I like that he releases billfish unless they are dead/mortally injured. Our flight from NZ got delayed a day which meant we would have missed one day of fishing, Mitch changed and fitted us in no problem. After reading a lot of the other reviews on here, I agree with lots of what has been said by others. We had a really positive experience and would go again. Thanks guys.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Mitch C, Owner at Harbour Fishing Charters
Responded Jul 21, 2019
Alan, thanks for taking the time to do a review, we are pleased that your family had a great holiday. We certainly hope to see you all back again. Cheers Lynn & Mitch
Read more
Jason M wrote a review Apr 2019
6 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Loved my 2 x4hr mornings with Mitch and nick, pick up was arranged by Lynn, great rates for transport, met Lynn at drop off, lovely lady. Met mitch and nick (deckhand and local) at the boat. Very well equipped boat. Everything supplied. Water supplied for a 4 hr trip which is fine. We fished for over 5 hours on both days. Mitch and nick went above and beyond to catch the biggest possible. We landed a few good sized fish (I thought) but then we hooked up to a “decent fish” (as mitch put it ) and that was a whole new experience. As an experienced fisherman here in Sydney I can’t speak highly enough of mitch, his equipment and his knowledge. I can’t wait to come back! This was on my bucket list. I learnt I saw and I laughed. Thanks mitch, Lynn, nick and William.
Read more
Date of experience: April 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mitch C, Owner at Harbour Fishing Charters
Responded Apr 7, 2019
Thanks Jason, we look forward to having you come back and fish again. Regards Lynn
Read more
Ross C wrote a review Apr 2019
Huntsville, Canada122 contributions72 helpful votes
Booked a half day (4 hours) for $500. The price was the best we could find, and we would be able to keep anything we caught – which was rare. Mitch's wife Lynn picked us up at 6:20… she had passed our place 2 mins ago, had to turn around and promptly told us we should have been there 2 mins ago and she was NOT HAPPY! Welcome to your day. The charter was well equipped but no real seats and Captain Mitch was personable enough. Water was included, nothing else. We caught 1 Silverfin Tuna, about 5 kilos – a beautiful specimen (and delicious!) Nick, a local, was our deck hand. Nice guy. Back at the home, we were told Lynn would take care of us, while Mitch cleaned the fish. We asked to take it whole (something we had pre-arranged) but were refused. Beers were offered, at $5 each. The bill after exchange and taxes came to $700 Aus. We were on holidays so we didn’t want anything to spoil the day, and it didn’t, but looking back we thought that they both disrespected Nick in their manner of speaking to him. Mitch did a beautiful job of filleting the fish and then announced one of the 4 fillets was for their lunch. That’s a $150 fillet your grabbing their mate! We now wish we had read some of the horrible reviews posted, we would have paid extra for a more pleasurable experience.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Mitch C, Owner at Harbour Fishing Charters
Responded Apr 3, 2019
Dear Ross, Thank you for your feedback. Just to clarify a few issues. We were not given particularly good instructions for your pick up, and were told that you would be on the road waiting at 6.15am. Given that no street number or told that the name of the property was on the road (which it was), yes I drove past the property to the end of the road before turning around. You did not come out to the road till 6.23am, there was no phone reception so yes, it was not a great start to the morning. Sorry that we thought filleting the fish was easier for you than you taking it to fillet yourself. That is done in our own time to make life easier for you. You seem to fail to mention that you fished for more than the 4 hours that you paid for. You also fail to mention that when I was "looking after you" that I gave you some wasabi to take back with you as you didn't have any. No charge for this and I certainly did not have to. Did you think we should have given you beers for free?? We clearly show pictures of our boat (with limited seats) on our flyer as well as advising that on a four hour charter we provide water only. Why this is then a disappointment when it is stated I am not sure. Regards Lynn
Read more
Previous
Recommended experiences in and around Efate
from $82.06
More Info
from $10.67
More Info
from $121.00
More Info
from $54.95
More Info