Nautilus Scuba
Nautilus Scuba
4.5
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
About
Nautilus Watersports is the best known dive operator in Port Vila and has established itself as one of the most professional scuba diving centres in the South Pacific with over 30 years in operation.Facilities include a large training pool, gear washing and storage areas, equipment hire and servicing facilities for all your scuba diving needs. We dive from a very comfortable purpose built dive boat "COWRIE" We go out of our way to make sure you have the best possible experience right from when we pick you up from your resort. Nautilus Watersports specialises in all facets of scuba diving from introductory dive tours through to a full PADI course (Open water, Advanced, Rescue and Divemaster). Each dive is different to the last with coral reef drop offs, amazing fish life, a huge cavern, night diving and wrecks. You can even dive a sunken flying boat!Why not join us and "Dive in Paradise"
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Features animals

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Travelers talk about
(8 reviews)
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
724 reviews
Excellent
583
Very good
109
Average
14
Poor
10
Terrible
8

Tamara Peters
Newcastle, Australia42 contributions
Jan 2020 • Family
I booked a double boat dive directly as we got two dives for the price that the cruise ship was advertising. We did have to get a water taxi from the wharf to the dive shop which was only $5 each way. Leanne gave us clear instructions but unfortunately the water taxi took us to another dive shop so be clear with your instructions to the water taxi. The dive master was fun and informative and the crew looked after us and did all the preparation for the dive. The wreck was a good size with interesting features and enabled us to swim through to see the lion fish inside. The dive master pointed out things we may have missed ourself. The twin bommies was also good. The crew provide food and water and look after you and follow the safety rules and the gear is in good condition. We did already have our scuba license.
Written February 7, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Shaun Reynolds
4 contributions
Jan 2020
I hadn't seen this type of diving that blows your mind about the world under the sea since the Solomons years ago. Mele Reef and the Star of Russia were fantastic dives. If you can get to the Temple at the Brommies with the Moray Eels and the Cuttlefish it is unforgettable and out of this world. The boat crew and guides were very friendly and helpful. The American and Italian dive guides I was paired up with were passionate about diving and took good care of me.
Written February 1, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Jenni1966
Port Macquarie, Australia62 contributions
Jan 2020 • Couples
Very happy with the service and dive sites were excellent and close to Port Vila. Double dive could be undertaken within 3 hours.
We had a little problems with leaking tanks, regs and BCD’s but these were quickly rectified. I would just recommend checking your equipment thoroughly before descending.
Written January 2, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

OZHasie
Brisbane, Australia219 contributions
Sep 2019 • Solo
Be warned!! If you book and confirm dives with Nautilus Scuba you are not guaranteed your spot!!

After booking onto a double dive on Monday for Thursday, I received notification from Nautilus scuba on the Wednesday that I’ve been bumped off the boat as a cruise ship has docked and that cruise passengers take preference over anyone else booked on the boat, because they have a contract with the cruise company.

Only after I relayed my disappointment and advised them that I will be lodging a complaint with PADI as a PADI Dive Professional did they hastily offer to take me early on Thursday morning before they take out the cruise passengers.

Need less to say I did not take them up on their offer.

Poor customer service Nautilus Scuba you should be ashamed.
Written January 15, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

lucas315
Wellington, New Zealand31 contributions
Jan 2020
We dove on three islands in Vanuatu and this was definitely the most professional dive center we went with. We were given a full briefing, signals were covered, and Reilly was great at finding and pointing out marine life. We felt very safe, were lucky enough to have the boat to ourselves and the cakes between dives were delicious.
Written January 16, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Stephen M
5 contributions
Oct 2021
A great experience all round. We were cruising with Princess cruise line and organised directly with Leanne a double dive with Nautilus. We are a family four and just wanted to do our own thing. Nautilus were happy to accommodate us. Took a water taxi from the cruise terminal and easy transfer and they gave us a lift back.
Written September 8, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Ella R
1 contribution
Nov 2014 • Solo
Every other dive experience I have had has done, first dive thorough refresher course on the sand or in the pool.
then scuba diving on second dive.
This one was for the same price a quick lesson, while holding the side of the boat, then straight into diving.
I was the last to have my quick refresher, so didn't have a chance to take a breath or regroup before diving down, there was no time for people to wait for me to settle, so I missed out o something I've been looking forward to doing again since my divorce.
I have done 20 dives and have dived in wrecks and difficult conditions and against currents, and never have I felt so rushed and unsafe.
Written January 7, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Ella, Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your dive experience with us. Anyone that normally does a refresher with us we would do of the side of our dive boat which has been set up with bars of the side so that our guest can completed their skills, for a certified diver we do not charge for a refresher, the only reason that I could think of that you were charged extra was that you came to Vanuatu on a Cruise boat and signed up as a Discover Scuba Diver and not a certified diver which would have been cheaper option for you. Most certified divers are very happy with completing the skill of the side of the dive boat and heading straight down for a dive. We also us this method for most of our Discover Scuba divers who also find this less stressful as they do not have time to get nervous about the dive. On a non Cruise Boat day we do have a swimming pool here that we can use for Refreshers and Discover Scuba divers, once the skills have been completed we head straight out for a dive, we are able to head straight out for a dive as all of our dive sites are very close which means that we do not have to wait until the next day to take our divers for a dive. Next time you are in Vanuatu please call in and see us. Regards Peter & Leanne
Written January 24, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

vp102
Salzburg, Austria27 contributions
Apr 2012 • Couples
I used to dive a lot and pretty much stopped when I moved to Australia in 2007. I had a few bad experiences with dive operators in Australia and decided that it wasn't for me anymore.

I decided to give Nautilus a go when I was in Vanuatu and I can honestly say that the two dives I did with them has re-ignited my love of diving and I am planning to start regular diving again.

I couldn't recommend these guys enough.Great boat, great dive sites, perfect briefings and safety standards, exactly what you want in a dive operator.

We were collected from and offered a lift back to our accommodation and my non-diving partner was allowed to come along at no additional cost and made feel very welcome. The great news is that since seeing what goes on I think she might give it a go which would be great.

Thanks Nautilus.
Written April 17, 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Ross V
Albany, Western Australia, Australia1 contribution
Oct 2014 • Couples
The diving location was absolute rubbish with damaged or dead coral everywhere. Very few fish and a dive instructor who was more concerned with berating first time divers and treating experienced divers (all lumped in together in the 1 dive) like children. Save your money, dive with another company or better still don't dive at all unless you get a money back guarantee that if you're not happy with your experience, you'll get your money back. All in all, just a huge money making exercise for Nautilus Scuba by pushing as many inexperienced divers (try divers) into the water as possible and treating experienced divers with contempt. Never again!!
Written November 5, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Ross, Thank you for your comment, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your dive. As you were traveling on a cruise boat you had a choice of which dive/s you would like to dive, as you may or may not be aware we are only able to offer a single dive in the morning (Twin Bommies) and a single dive (Konanda Wreck), you chose to dive on Twin Bommie's and you were in a group of 6 certified divers (including yourself) with a dive instructor, the other 5 divers certifications were 4 Advance and 1 Openwater certified everyone on this dive went to a depth of 20mtrs and for a dive time of 42 minutes, we also two other groups of DSD (beginner divers) which were made up 3 divers per group each with an instructor who dove to 12mtrs for bottom time of 20 minutes, you would have been in the water before these dives and out after these divers. It it quite rare that we have divers unhappy with the coral and fish life on Twin Bommies but in saying that we do have some days when the fish life can be a bit low due to currents and tides something that nature controls and not us.
Written November 6, 2014
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Matt L
Vanuatu15 contributions
Mar 2012 • Solo
Hi all
I only write the above title as I have dived with many of the other dive company's in Vila, Santo, and north Efate.
For me the only negative issues with nautilus are that I don't get to dive enough with them
I thought I would list some of the positive aspects.
Great staff (always a great ratio of staff to guests, who make it their business to subtlety evaluate all new divers to determine experience and assistance required.
Great dive boast with all mod cons.
Modern well maintained hire gear
great gear shop & gear servicing
most important great dive sites Semele, Konanda, big dipper, cathedral, Tasman, Star of Russia, twin bommies,
Enjoy your dives with Nautilus
Written March 27, 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 723

Nautilus Scuba (Port Vila) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go