We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crillon Tours

La Paz, Bolivia
More
About Crillon Tours
We offer authentic local and regional itineraries as well as tailor-made journeys. Our main programs and products are designed for a market eager to discover some unique places combining luxury adventure with a still alive millenarian indigenous culture. Together to a professional team, safety policies, own infrastructure and operation we keep the well-deserved tourism leadership since 1958.
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM
See all hours

Crillon Tours
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
28Reviews2Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 21
  • 3
  • 2
  • 0
  • 2
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
rob103 wrote a review Nov 2019
Atlanta, GA139 contributions47 helpful votes
Our travel agent in the U.S. subcontracted with Crillon Tours to arrange a private two week trip for us in Bolivia. Our La Paz-based guide for the first several days ("Freddy") was really excellent, as were the vehicle drivers we were assigned. We loved the itinerary for La Paz, Tiwanaku and the Lake Titicaca area. Our hotels and the restaurants for "included" meals were also very good. This review for Crillon Tours would have been rated "excellent" if the guide for the second part of our trip had been as good as "Freddy" was for the first part. Unfortunately, she was not. Crillon subcontracted with another company (out of Uyuni, I think) for our guide for the Uyuni Salt Flats, lakes in southern Bolivia, Potosi and Sucre portion of the trip. While this woman was very pleasant and handled the logistics well enough, she was not nearly knowledgeable enough about the areas we were visiting, and as a result, we felt that we missed out on a lot of information about what we were seeing that would have been helpful. Nonetheless, we had a very nice trip overall and really enjoyed seeing Bolivia.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from crillontours, Guest Relations Manager at Crillon Tours
Responded Nov 6, 2019
Thank you very much for your review. We hope to serve you again in the future.
Read more
pvaid77 wrote a review Oct 2019
London, United Kingdom5 contributions13 helpful votes
We booked with Crillon a 3D2N round trip tour to Uyuni salt flats from San Pedro, Chile. In a nutshell, we were asked to pay an additional 800 USD two days before our trip due to a detour required on the trip in relation to protests in the area. The detour never happened and we ended up staying at a much lower class hotel than originally booked. When we asked for a refund of only the additional amount we have been refused. Please note Crillon prices are already set at a much higher premium compared to other tours. And we were forced to pay additional on top of this. Communicating with anyone at the La Paz office was difficult - they will never call you back - you are expected to call them. We wasted a lot time on our trip in the lead up to the trip trying to sort out the complications. Details below:- Two days before our trip we received an email asking for an additional $200 USD per person for our trip due to protests and road blockages in Uyuni and region. This included a change of route avoiding Uyuni on the final day however, the rest of the details of the trip remained the same. Whilst on our trip our tour guide told us that the blockages had been happening for three weeks, yet Crillon told us of the issue two days before our trip. When we asked what this extra charge covered we were told for the extra mileage the tour would incur due to the detour. X4 pax.... they were asking for an additional 800 USD for petrol. When we refused to pay this they gave us an ultimatum to either do the trip without the salt flats (the main part of the trip!) or cancel the trip entirely (with no promise of a full refund). This was the day before our departure. Backed into a corner with little time to prepare alternative plans we were forced to pay the additional. On the 2nd day of the tour we were told by our tour company that:- a) our driver had run out of petrol and had trouble finding somewhere to refuel due to the blockages and b) the hotel we had booked for the evening near Uyuni had been affected by the protests and we would now need to check in to a new hotel. We had 800 USD for petrol for a detour which was to happen on the final day yet there was no additional petrol onboard in the car? We are still baffled to where this 800 USD was spent. We lost out time on the salt flats on the second day whilst the driver went to find petrol. The original hotel that we had booked was a 4* Hotel and we were booked into a basic B&B for our final night. On the final day - when we expected to take a detour back to San Pedro our guide had told us that the protests had stopped in Uyuni and we were free to take the original route. Save yourself the hassle and money and book direct with Hijora tours the company Crillon outsourced our trip to - both driver and tour guide were brilliant. Better to deal with them direct than go through Crillon and pay an additional premium.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Jeff K wrote a review Mar 2019
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania1324 contributions2352 helpful votes
I was looking for a travel company that would help refine my itinerary for a Bolivian trip and provide some private tours with English speaking guides. Crillon looked like a good fit as they claimed to create unique trips and “bespoke luxury experiences.” I hired them for four tours from La Paz: the Oruro Carnaval, a city tour, the Death Road bike trip with Gravity, and a trip to Tiwanaku. I also booked a half-day trip in Sucre to see Cal O’rck’o. The total cost for the tours, including a few meals but no lodging, was $2600. Based on similar tours I booked in Peru and the Uyuni salt flats their price seemed very high. It’s a little difficult to tell how high because they didn’t provide detailed pricing information, just a lump sum price. The lack of pricing transparency reinforces my assumption that they charge a lot more than their competitors. Our guides were independent contractors who work for various travel companies. Our La Paz guide was nicknamed German. He was very good - knowledgeable, friendly and very calm when needed. Our guide in Sucre, Anna Marie, was also good. There were couple of glitches with the tours but overall they were very good. I give them bonus points for the Oruro Carnaval trip. I couldn’t find any travel groups offering this trip but Crillon was able to arrange it. The only trip I regretted booking with Crillon was the Death Road bike trip with Gravity. The Crillon driver and guide drove us 10 minutes to the meeting point and picked us up when the trip was over. The bike trip was great but it would have been simpler and cheaper to have booked directly with Gravity and taken taxis. In terms of planning, I provided Crillon with my tentative itinerary and asked for any comments/suggestions. They cut and pasted different trips from their website that matched portions of my itinerary. They didn’t recommend any changes, raise any issues or offer any new ideas. Based on hindsight there were 4 or 5 parts of my itinerary that I should have changed. By way of example, I planned on touring museums and other sights in La Paz on my own on Tuesday of Carnaval week. I should have rearranged my schedule as everything was closed due to the holiday. Another example - I should have scratched the Tiwanaku trip from La Paz and added a day in Sucre to see Potosi. I didn’t expect Crillon to identify all of these issues as some are simply a matter of preference. I did, however, expect them to raise a few issues instead of just taking orders. If you’re looking for a travel company to provide day tours in Bolivia I would shop around. While our Crillon tours were very good, they charge very high prices, use the same guides as other travel companies and don’t provide any special services.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2019
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Sam W wrote a review Jul 2018
Leicester, United Kingdom47 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
We were lucky enough to have Crillon Tours booked for us by Audley Travel and they were fantastic. We were travelling from La Paz to Lake Titicaca with our guide early in the morning and everything had been thought of. It was cold first thing leaving La Paz, so blankets and heating were provided on our bus leading us through the dock. Such a positive start to the trip. Once we boarded the Hydrofoil we took our seats, which were very comfy and set off across Lake Titicaca. On board we were given water and sweets to keep us going and the back of the boat was opened up to allow pictures to be taken. We stopped at Copacabana and Moon Island before making our final destination at Sun Island where we stayed the night. I can’t stress how well organised the trip was, seeing beautiful islands and getting an insight into typical life the locals had. Thank you to everyone who made our trip so enjoyable!
Read more
Date of experience: July 2018
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sebastian V, Manager at Crillon Tours
Responded Jul 31, 2018
Thank you very much for choosing Audley and Crillon. Looking forward to serving you again 😀
Read more
jenny c wrote a review May 2018
Houston, Texas6 contributions4 helpful votes
Crillon Tours were amazing, especially Eric, our guide. Kind, friendly, considerate, and knowledgeable. Our driver Richard and the chef, Ishak were commendable indeed The campers were very comfortable. Most of all, the SALT FLATS--no words can describe this unique slice of heaven.
Read more
Date of experience: May 2018
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sebastian V, Manager at Crillon Tours
Responded May 28, 2018
Thank you for choosing Crillon Tours. We are happy to know that your trip with us was memorable. We hope to serve you again in the near future. :)
Read more
Previous