We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cinnamon Air Scenic Flights

Colombo, Sri Lanka
More
About Cinnamon Air Scenic Flights
Cinnamon Air, Sri Lanka's premier domestic air taxi service, offers daily scheduled flights, luxury private charter flights, and scenic flights between its hub at the Bandaranaike International Airport - BIA (Colombo International Airport) and the island’s most picturesque locations.
Travelers talk about
94Reviews14Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 56
  • 13
  • 5
  • 5
  • 15
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
JudeP2572 wrote a review Dec 2019
Melbourne, Australia8 contributions4 helpful votes
The ground staff member: Wijewickrema who greeted us at Water’s Edge, Battaramulla was a soft spoken mild mannered gentleman with a shy smile and gentle nature. He made us feel at ease with his first smile. The kids yelled in delight as Wijewickrema spotted the plane first and they didn’t let up as he sounded the siren to warn the other occupants on the water. First officer Indika greeted us with a warm smile while Captain Ludes waved a friendly hand from the cockpit. They made things look so easy. We were airborne in no time. The small aircraft with seating for eight was quite cozy and clean with comfortable seats. The bird’s eye witness account of Kandy and its environs as we flew low over them was priceless. Indika called out each of the significant landmarks. The two pilots executed an effortless water landing on Victoria Reservoir. All of it took only thirty minutes. The mooring pier at one end of the heavily forested Victoria reservoir in Digana made the perfect picture postcard. Lakshman, the ground staff officer who greeted us there deserves a special mention. He was equally courteous and caring. Our hotel conveyance was delayed, but Lakshman organised a van that had come to drop off some tourists to take us to the hotel. The return trip two days later was equally smooth with Captain Eric at the helm and with the genial Indika doing the honours again as the first officer. I hope Cinnamon Air evolves in to a safe and affordable mode of transport within Sri Lanka.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Cinnamon A, Manager at Cinnamon Air Scenic Flights
Responded Jan 6, 2020
Dear JudeP2572, Thank you for flying with Cinnamon Air and for your fantastic review! We are glad that your travel experience was enjoyable and pleasurable! We are humbled by your encouraging feedback which motivates us to continuously deliver our service at the highest standard. We hope to have you aboard again! With best regards, Team Cinnamon Air
Read more
ErikandSandya wrote a review Sep 2019
Colombo, Sri Lanka72,846 contributions351 helpful votes
2 days before date we got final confirmation that the flight would go ahead. We were the sole passengers on Waters Edge-Victoria stretch but were joined there and at Weerawila by more passengers. Our main purpose was the scenic flight with 3 stops (Victoria or Polgolla, Weerawila or Mattala and Dickwella) as our driver was earlier in Koggala than we ;-) Weather worked out great, most of the time good views. Ground staff helpful (once we found them...), and pilots even helped in making photos at Victoria and Weerawila. Sole small shortcoming is clumsy check-in at Waters Edge; even Cinnamon Air site tells you it's at the main lobby, whilst it's at the waterside Srilankan restaurant inside the complex.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Cinnamon A, Manager at Cinnamon Air Scenic Flights
Responded Sep 24, 2019
Dear ErikandSandya, Thank you for flying with Cinnamon Air and for your fantastic review! We are glad that your travel experience was fabulous! We are humbled by your encouraging feedback which motivates us to continuously deliver our service at the highest standard. With regards to the check-in at Waters Edge, passengers are usually advised to come to the entrance of Long Bar, from which point they are escorted to the aerodrome by one of our personnnel. We apologise if this caused you any inconveniences. Once again, thank you for your wonderful feedback. We hope to have you aboard again! With best regards, Team Cinnamon Air
Read more
Paul J wrote a review Apr 2019
Washington DC, District of Columbia656 contributions108 helpful votes
We loved our two flights with Cinnamon Air. They were very great with the booking and told us about a flight time change well in advance. Friendly ground crew made us comfortable, and our two pilots were very skilled and friendly. Landing on amazing stretches of water is just the coolest thing in the world too. You'll see how beautiful this country really is from the air: mountains, rivers and lakes captured our imagination every minute of our ride. We were just looking to cut down driving time, but we were treated to so much more by flying with Cinnamon Air.
Read more
Date of experience: April 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Cinnamon A, Manager at Cinnamon Air Scenic Flights
Responded Apr 18, 2019
Dear Paul J, Thank you for flying with Cinnamon Air and for your fantastic review! We are glad that your travel experience was enjoyable and pleasurable! Sri Lanka truly is a spectacular sight from above and we are honoured to be able to let our passengers experience it from the skies. We are humbled by your encouraging feedback which motivates us to continuously deliver our service at the highest standard. We hope to have you aboard again! With best regards, Team Cinnamon Air
Read more
Zeela wrote a review Apr 2019
14 contributions3 helpful votes
Although we had booked private charter flights in advance, we waited half an hour at the airport and had to call them until someone showed up (it took a few phone calls and lots of confusion). The person did not greet us, just asked us to follow to a bus. No information given about the incoming flight. We were told to wait in the lounge, still with no further information. When we asked if we could have water the answer was "no"... Finally a pilot shows up smoking in the lounge and decide we should go. Still no greeting... Flight was good, but they completely failed on the "soft skills".
Read more
Date of experience: April 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Cinnamon A, Manager at Cinnamon Air Scenic Flights
Responded Jun 4, 2019
Dear ZeelaZeela, We would like to thank you for sharing your experience, as this helps us to continuously improve the quality of our service. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused due to the delay of your flight. Please be kind enough to let us know the date and sector you travelled with us and we will be able to provide you with a comprehensive explanation regarding the delay. Further, while we are determined to keep our flight schedules consistent, circumstance beyond our control may sometimes force us to alter the flight schedules. During such instances, our team keeps our passengers informed of the change as early as possible and our team is trained to deliver customer service at the highest standard. We will investigate this situation to find out if such standards were not met by any of our team members and take actions accordingly. Once again, we sincerely apologise for the inconvenience that was caused to you although the cause for the situation was beyond our control and we took action with the best interests of the passengers in mind. We hope you will consider flying with Cinnamon Air again! Best Regards, Team Cinnamon Air
Read more
Marinita57 wrote a review Feb 2019
Metz, France8 contributions1 helpful vote
It was a birthday gift for my boyfriend and it was supposed to be the most exciting experience for the both of us and it turned out to be a nightmare for a long moment. I was a bit afraid to book flights before reading the comments on Tripadvisor, people saying that their flight were delayed or cancelled at last minute due to bad weather or unexpected technical complication. I checked the weather almost everyday to make sure that it would be clear - which actually was - and still decided to book a flight from Koggola to Kandy (30 minutes flight) and then from Kandy to Dikwella (30 minutes flight). It was expensive but I still wanted to make our trip to Sri Lanka special and I was thrilled to experience our first sea plane flight. The day prior the departure, I received an email which said that our flight would be earlier than expected - 15 minutes before the announced depature time - at 11.45am instead of 12.00 am. I did not say anything and agreed, 15 minutes is not the end of the world. When we arrived to Koggala - 10.30am - the Cinnamon Air agent who welcomed us told us the flight would be 30 minutes delayed. After waiting for almost half an hour, we were told that the flight would actually be an hour delayed, then another 30 minutes delayed. After a few minutes, the Cinnamon Air agent came to us and gave us one of his phones - someone from the customer service wanted to talk to us. The person on line told us that the flight from Kandy to Dikwella was cancelled for unexpected technical complication and as the flight from Koggala to Kandy was still maintained but it would be delayed at the end of the day - around 4pm - and added that it was not sure that it would actually fly by that time and that there were chances to be cancelled. I actually did not care because we wanted to stay in Southern Sri Lanka so I was not worth considering. I turned back to my boyfriend to tell him what was happenning and asked the guy to hold the line while I was explaining this to him, and he hung up 2 secondes later. He called us back 15 minutes later and proposed to take another flight from Koggola to Dikwella - 15 minutes flight - for the same price than Koggola/Kandy - 30 minutes flight, which was 250$ for 2 people. I asked him a discount for all the inconveniences we experienced, disagreed several times and has finally accepted my request - 180$, which was still expensive for what it actually was... I am supposed to be refunded for the difference - what I paid on the first place and the price we agreed on the phone but I still haven't received anything from Cinnamon Air. We tried to forgot all of these inconveniences when the sea plane came and still enjoyed the - short - flight but I have to say that it has left a bitter taste. My reccomandation: if you plan to fly with them, make sure you have a plan B. People who where supposed to fly with us from Koggola to Kandy were stuck in Koggola.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Cinnamon A, Manager at Cinnamon Air Scenic Flights
Responded Mar 20, 2019
Dear Marinita57, We would like to thank you for sharing your experience, as this helps us to continuously improve the quality of our service. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused due to the cancellation of your flight. While we are determined to provide a reliable service, circumstances beyond our control may, cause cancellations as in your case where the flight allocated for your journey was grounded due an unexpected technical failure. On the day in question, the aircraft in use had experienced a technical difficulty which was being attended to by the engineering team. However, the necessary repairs could not be completed by the departure time of your flight which led to the cancellation. Usually, in case of a flight cancellation, our general practice is to offer our passengers the option of a full refund of the tickets, offer a refund with the deduction of the cost for ground transportation or if possible, to offer an alternate air transfer route – which is why we offered the flight from Koggala to Dickwella. As communicated to you by our ground handling staff, USD 250 (for 2 pax) was already a discounted price that we offered to you given the circumstances and as per our finance team, the difference of the payment has already been remitted to your bank. Once again, we sincerely apologise for the inconvenience that was caused to you although the cause for the situation was beyond our control and we took action with the best interests of the passengers in mind. We hope you will consider flying with Cinnamon Air again! Best Regards, Team Cinnamon Air
Read more
Previous
Recommended experiences in and around Colombo
from $60.00
More Info
from $110.00
More Info
from $54.00
More Info
from $35.00
More Info