We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: No 1, Street 258, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phone Number:
+855 12 619 924
Website
Description:

Small, personal tours around Phnom Penh. Take a daytrip to the Phnom Tamao...

Small, personal tours around Phnom Penh. Take a daytrip to the Phnom Tamao Wildife rescue center where you get to pet and feed a variety of rescued and endangered animals, while being driven around by jeep.

Or take a 2 day tour to the countryside to see the local life, some beautiful scenery, take a cooking course and spend a night at our family farm.

Both trips include delicious home-cooked lunches and plenty of drinks.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 189 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 155
    Excellent
  • 20
    Very good
  • 4
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Such a fantastic day out - I've done it twice!!

The tour is so well run, the transport (in an old jeep) is a fun way to travel. The guides are so knowledgable, friendly and accommodating. The wildlife sanctuary is a special... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 week ago
emma772
,
Phnom Penh, Cambodia

Similar Things to Do in Phnom Penh

Add Photo Write a Review

189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 181: English reviews
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The tour is so well run, the transport (in an old jeep) is a fun way to travel. The guides are so knowledgable, friendly and accommodating. The wildlife sanctuary is a special place, with many rescued animals, and the tour guides know a lot about the different animals. We had lots of hands-on opportunities to scratch the gibbons backs, feed... More 

Helpful?
Thank emma772
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

One of the best things we did in Cambodia. Adam was so engaging and personable from the start. He told us the jeep wasn't available but that makes no difference to the quality of the tour as you only use it for driving in the afternoon to the larger animals. The lunch was amazing home cooked by Adams wife. Best... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fiona O
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We wanted a really memorable final day of our amazing Cambodian holiday and this tour certainly delivered. Adam, the guide, is very engaging and personable, mixed with everyone easily, has lots of knowledge about the animals, the rescue centre and it's charity owners but also extensive Cambodian political and cultural knowledge. We learned a lot and not just about the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LisLuLa
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
278 reviews
175 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is worth the cost at $40pp just in the transport alone. I heard people try to get up there in a Tuk Tuk, ha! The cost also includes entry into the zoo (which would be $5pp) and a locally cooked lunch (more than we could possibly eat). We had a guide take us through and give us the story... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca N
Battambang, Cambodia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sold to us as trip in new for a day. Including lunch and free scarf. Arrived at the lazy gecko and waited. Two other families of 4 turned up and another couple. We had been waiting over half an hour when a young woman arrived and started selling the tickets. It all seemed very unprofessional, when she got to us... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maxsurf1957
AramVisser, Owner at Betelnut Tours, responded to this review

Hi Max, Sorry for arriving late at the Lazy Gecko in the morning. There is a lot of construction going on in Phnom Penh and sometimes traffic gets stuck because of that, like what happened on they day you were there. It was just on of those days. It's unfortunate that you didn't decide to go on the tour because... More 

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this tour after reading all the good reviews from TripAdvisor. I have to say that I am disappointed with a few things that made my experience less enjoyable than for other travellers. First Sam started the tour more than 30 minutes late claiming bad traffic but shouldn't she have accounted for this as this is what she does... More 

Helpful?
Thank LounissartHK
AramVisser, Owner at Betelnut Tours, responded to this review

Hi Lounissa, I'm sorry to hear that the tour was disappointing for you. Of course we try to be to Lazy Gecko on time in the morning, but sometimes traffic is way worse then usual and we can't make it on time, like on your day. The jeep is also unavailable for a while. It has been assembled from different... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Sam is a great tour guide. Fantastic with our 10 and 6 year old boys. She was relaxed, fun and in charge. Loved feeding the animals and the stories of rehabilitation. Great day out. Long day out! Take hand sanitizer.

Helpful?
Thank Virginia S
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2016 via mobile

After exhausting everything to see and do in and around Phnom Penh my girlfriend and I found out about the nearby conservation centre and Betelnut Tours. We emailed to ask if they had availability for the following day and they were quick to respond with a yes, and so the following day we met our guide Sam and headed off... More 

Helpful?
Thank officialmatt
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2016 via mobile

The whole day was organised really well. The tour guide Sam was fantastic and was almost like Dr doolittle with her abilities to get the attention of all of the animals. We were provided with a lot of water and a really yummy lunch. We had plenty of time to see each of the animals and were told information about... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jodie S
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2016 via mobile

Best tour in PP, had a great time. I booked last minute the night before but being solo I was able to fit in with another group. The tour guide Adam was friendly and knowledgeable. It's about 1.5 hour drive to the park, then right away you get to see animals up close. Adam knew them by name and which... More 

Helpful?
Thank TahitiVonR

Travelers who viewed Betelnut Tours also viewed

 

Been to Betelnut Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Betelnut Tours and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Betelnut Tours staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?