We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About Kanika Boat
Kanika is the only luxury CruisingRestaurant Bar In Phnom Penh. With its unique Catamaran design, it is the safest and most stable boat operating cruises in Phnom Penh. Kanika is the only cruise boat in Phnom Penh that is fully licensed and insured, so all you need to do is just sit back, relax and enjoy the spectacular views of the Riverside and Mekong.Our internationally trained chef produces classic Asian and Western Dishes, and we have a selection of set menus on our dinner and sunset cruises. On board we have a large spacious bar serving an extensive collection of beers, wines, cocktails and spirits, fresh juices and smoothies. We run daily sunset and dinner cruises from Tuesday to Sunday. Sunset Cruise: from 5 to 6.20PM; Dinner Cruise: from 7 to 8.45PM. The boat is available too for private events .
Read more
Travelers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Kanika Boat
Overview
google
A cruise on the Tonle Sap and the Mekong is the best way to discover Phnom Penh differently with fresh air and breathtaking views of the capital.
All our products are fresh and selected jointly by the French owner and his Cambodian chef.
218Reviews9Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 162
  • 35
  • 9
  • 8
  • 4
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Oceane wrote a review Mar 2020
8 contributions7 helpful votes
I had the opportunity to participate in the sunset cruise with Jean Pierre and Géraldine last January. I had a really great time! The prices asked are really worth it, especially if you take the "Phnom Penh Heritage Tour" package. Another way to discover Phnom Penh, far from the noise and traffic.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Ming Jin S wrote a review Jan 2020
4 contributions3 helpful votes
This is by far the most confusing trip for me. I booked two tickets for a cruise with Kanika Boat thinking that I could enjoy a peaceful and wonderful sunset on the River Tonle Sap and River Mekong but it all went down hill from the start. After I had sat down, I was presented with a Menu and knowing that some Snacks and Drinks are complimentary, I wanted to order. However the first staff who attended me looked very confused with my ticket from TripAdvisor. She could not ascertain what package I have purchased for. After she excused herself to ask her higher up for clarification unfortunately she never returned. I could see she was eagerly trying to make sure other guests have their orders taken except my table. That's okay I thought, I could signal another staff to help. Everything went smoother with the second staff. She wondered which package I gotten and pointed rightly I could get certain free-flow drinks or food option with a glass of drink. After ordering, the food came in no time which was great. Just when I thought the confusion was over, I was politely asked by the same staff to provide a proof of the receipt of payment which greatly puzzled me. I understand that with a cruise full of passengers it's good to double check, however I wished the staff and management would have paid more attention to details like the table number we are sitting on and cross-check with TripAdvisor system to be sure we have paid for our tickets. Anyway I went into the office and I think the owner confirmed that everything is OK. In short, I wished the staffs have been properly trained to recognise the tickets and how best to recognise who has paid ahead and who hasn't. Also, to further check each guests to ensure they got their complimentary meal/drinks.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Isabelle D wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
Amazing sunset cruise and dinner on the Kanika. Captain JP is just perfect, his smoking staff also. Good choice of drinks, beautiful view. An incredible experience to live !
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
minniemae wrote a review Sep 2019
Florida610 contributions221 helpful votes
The best way to get to the Kanika Boat Tours dock located along the Sisowath Quay is to take a tuk-tuk to Himawari Hotel. You will be dropped off the front of the hotel then walk towards the river, turn left. You can pay for your tickets (approx $8) before or during the cruise. Cash only! Duration is no more than 1 1/2 hours. The sunset cruise was enjoyable experience... nice, breezy, and relaxing. The staff were pleasant, especially the French lady I had a brief conversation with. They offer drinks on board. We were lucky it didn't rain and it wasn't that hot. The Mekong is murky though probably due to dredging.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Mike M wrote a review Aug 2019
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Dinner was very bad. Night cruise was nice for the view but dinner again not good. I recommend a menu change or new cook. Tasted like frozen filets of fish and nuked in a microwave. Staff was nice but way overpriced for the experience for dinner and cruise. I saw some low ratings on tripadvisor and read managements response. Wow! I thought it was a one off but its clear to me now after my experience. Clearly its a cash cow business they are running and mgt has poor choice of words when replying to customers bad experience. They did not even care of the next potential customer that would consider the reviews into making plans. My 1st and last with this cruise company. Ending with stay away from Kanika Cruise. 0 stars was not able to be selected so 1 it is.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kanika B, Owner at Kanika Boat
Responded Aug 21, 2019
Dear Maddy, thank you for your bad comment... We don't use to have some and i take note of yours. First of all, notice that all our food is fresh and we don't have microwave... As i already said to you (because it is your second comment in 2 days on trip...), if your fish was not cooked enough, you should have ask my crew to cook it a bit more, but you didn't. You prefer to destroy reputation of a restaurant on the river which is consider as one of the best in Phnom Penh. We use to take care of everyone and the comments are all welcome BUT we cannot anything against bad faith and people who prefer to make comment after instead of front of us. When we are wrong we accept and correct us but i know by experience that a really few people prefer to criticize but not in live. Don't come back and as you said in your previous comment, prefer the street food... all taste are in Nature
Read more
Previous
123456