We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Raya Sailing Day Trips
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
29Reviews3Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 27
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Jaquelyn O wrote a review Oct 2014
Calgary, Canada56 contributions15 helpful votes
I like the beach- clean and clear with lots of fish. Love to snorkel more but I need more practice to use the mask and need to do more balancing once you're in the water with a life jacket. Not ideal for public swimming. Shore areas have lots of rocks.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2014
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
NatVelNat wrote a review Apr 2013
Maroochydore, Australia10 contributions11 helpful votes
Booked a day sailing tour in March to Nui Bay. Booking was easy and could pay by Paypal, Delphine was very helpful great service and quick communication. Tour organization was fine (pick up and drop off at your hotel). The actual sailing was nice and pleasant, even though it was mostly motoring (no wind on that day). Only 10 people (us and 4 other couples) + 3 crew members on an immaculately clean and beautifully looked after catamaran. Hot lunch, coffee and fresh fruit were served during the trip, free soft drinks and water – all made for a great service on the trip. The main issue with the trip was that we were not actually taken to Niu Bay which was supposedly the highlight of the trip. We were told that there was a lot of rubbish due to the west winds. Instead, we made couple of stop overs (for swim and snorkel) in very non-descript or exciting places. We then made another stop over (for a coffee break) at a very unappealing pier. Overall, the trip was disappointing (despite the great service on board), as for the money we paid, you can take a few speedboat tours and see a lot more of the islands. However, if you are after just the sailing experience and for a few drinks on the boat in a pleasant small company of people, this trip will be for you.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2013
Helpful
Share
Response from RayaSailing, General Manager at Raya Sailing Day Trips
Responded Apr 14, 2013
Dear Natalie, Thank you for your important feedback. Sorry to hear that your sailing experience became poor because change of destination. As an operator we always take customers SAFETY and COMFORT as principals when planning to route and always brief that at beginning of each trip by our professional captain who knows weather and sea conditions. Like you can see from description of our agent´s web page we sometimes are forced to change itinerary because weather conditions: - This program is subject to change according to weather and sea conditions! Hope to see you again and get opportunity take you to the beautiful Nui Bay next time
Read more
Felix S wrote a review Mar 2013
Helsinki, Finland2 contributions2 helpful votes
Our trip started from Chalong pier with a three-man crew. There were only five customers aboard which made the trip especially relaxing and "private" without all kinds of hassle. As we left the harbor the crew introduced us to the catamaran which was named "Kuutti". As soon as we had left the harbor area the captain of the catamaran raised the sails and we were off in silence apart from the sound of water. After a relaxing first hour and a half, we anchored near a deserted beach to snorkel and eat some delicious lunch. In addition to lunch there were pineapples and watermelon served. Water, soda and soft drinks were included to the price so you could drink as much you wanted with exception to beer which was 60 baht/can. After the stop at the deserted beach, we continued to Nai Harn beach and snorkeled some more. As much as I enjoyed the beaches, the more I enjoyed the voyage to the beaches lying on my back in front of the catamaran in a hammock like front end. The crew were competent, helpful and friendly at all times. If you want a relaxing day at sea, this is a notable day trip to consider.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2013
Helpful
Share
Kristiina H wrote a review Mar 2013
Helsinki1 contribution
We where sailing with Kuutti for two days in the end of March 2013, and the experience was amazing! We visited three islands, some of us went diving while others snorkeled. The experienced crew of Kuutti shared their knowledge of the best places to go. A cool drink on the deck of Kuutti in the sunset is something that I will remember for a long time. The only negative was that the temperature was very high during our visit, so someone that is not used to such hot weather might enjoy Thailand even more closer to Christmas, but Kuutti had air conditioning so we where able to sleep in a nice cool cabin. I strongly recommend taking a trip with Kuutti for everyone visiting Thailand.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2013
Helpful
Share
Kalle_Nu wrote a review Mar 2013
2 contributions
Pick up with air con minibus on time. great bunch of people. Fantastic sights on a sunset cruise with good quality thai dinner and couple of drinks.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Previous