Untouched Thailand
Untouched Thailand
5
Cultural ToursBike ToursSightseeing ToursPrivate ToursNature & Wildlife Tours
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Monday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Tuesday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Wednesday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Thursday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Friday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Saturday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Sunday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
About
Welcome to untouchedthailand,[ an expert company ] we provide so many activities to fit your needs such as Nature & wildlife, elephant trip, Chiang Mai sight seeing tour, adventure tour, extreme trip, trekking, biking, Kayaking in Chiang Mai, sunrise & sunset or Alms offering to Buddhists monks in the morning. We are happy and appreciated to be your guide with hearty smiling service. With our experiences for years you will enjoy the trip with an our expert team. You will have fun but safe and have fond memories back home and grasp about Thai culture. We so much care about you and realize you are away from home ! But yes, right at home with us. You are our family! We can organize tour with hotel rooms as well. We do hope to see you and family in Chiang mai,Chiang Rai, Lampang, Shukkhothai, Mae Hong Son & Pai.
Chiang Mai, Thailand

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours and Tickets by Untouched Thailand
Travelers talk about
(146 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

5.0
1,489 reviews
Excellent
1,396
Very good
61
Average
15
Poor
6
Terrible
11

Rahaf Q
5 contributions
Jan 2020 • Couples
TOM was the best tour guide we ever had!! We got picked up 9am sharp by a friendly man named Tom. He spoke great english and told us our itinerary from the beginning. We started with a private elephant tour where we made food, fed and washed two gentle elephants. This was just magical. after we Took a shower, then they made us pad tai for us and we ate together. Next Tom drove us to the tiger kingdom and the entire time he kept us entertained telling us the history of thailand and the different species of the animals we saw and all the vegetation we saw on the road. We found out he lived in the states for a little bit which explained his great english! We saw the tigers spent some time in the cage with them then we Asked tom to drop us off at a famous jewelry store they have in chang mai, he was very accommodating and flexible with our request!!! Last we went to two temples high in the mountains where tom told us more about Buddha and the way of life for Monks while showing us around the temple. We finally bought some souvenirs and Tom dropped us off our hotel. we will never forget this day. Thank you TOM!!! Your the best!!!
Written January 7, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Amy N
Hellertown, PA272 contributions
Jan 2020 • Family
We had a fabulous tour of Doi Suthep at sunrise with John! It was SO worth getting up early for to avoid the crowds. We got to hear the monks chanting, watch the sun rise, and explore the temple with next to no other tourists. As amazing as that was, the hidden temple was even better and one of the most peaceful places I ever been. Lastly, the tunnel temple was also spectacular and the history and personal experiences that John provided as a previous life as a monk made the trip! We did it with 4 kids ages 13,11,9,6 and it was totally doable.
Written January 14, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Dorottya Albert
18 contributions
Feb 2023 • Couples
We took the sunrise tour in Doi Suthep with Mr. Ata. It was an amazing trip, the atmosphere in the temple in the early morning, with the jungle as a background, birds chirping, monks chanting, all of this really made us understand buddhism even more. Sipohn was very helpful with organizing the trip, we had to personalize the program but it went very smoothly, communication was easy and Mr. Ata was also amazing! He was very knowledgable, he used to be a monk himself and he was explaining everything with enthusiasm. He also prepared alms for us to give them to the buddhost monks in the early morning. He showed us how to pray. All in all, it was an amazing tour, next time in Chiang Mai, we will definitely choose them as our No.1 guides! Thank You for everything!
Written February 27, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

John from Detroit
Detroit, MI5 contributions
Feb 2020
We spent two days with Ata--one in Chiang Mai and one in Chiang Rai. He was very knowledgable and friendly. Originally from a mountain tribe and having had experience as a novice monk earlier in his life, he was a wealth of interesting cultural information. Also, Untouched Thailand was very flexible in designing the trip that we wanted. Highly recommended!
Written March 14, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

FarukC
Adana, Türkiye2 contributions
Feb 2020 • Friends
Our tour guide Siphon personally met us at arrival Chiang Rai Airport.
He took us all the best scenes must to see.
He’s well experienced and mostly friendly person.
On the next day we as group traveled to Chiang Mai by road.
Best visiting places were made with Siphon and had great fun.

We wish to thank Siphon again for the wonderful guidance and friendship.
You’re the best Siphon.
Greetings from your Turkish group.
Written February 2, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Susan S
1 contribution
Mar 2023 • Friends
We had Arnon as our guide for the Morning Sunrise Tour. Wonderful tour and no tourist at the temple at this hour which is worth the money in itself. But what really made our tour outstanding was Arnon. He was knowledgeable, very funny, went out of his way to ensure our happiness. In addition his interactions with the young monks, dogs and locals was truly magical to watch.
Written March 21, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Sharon C
2 contributions
Jan 2023 • Couples
What a wonderful experience to be at such a beautiful place to watch the sun rise over Chiangmai mai! We loved the temple snd the monks chanting snd the whole experience. Ata was the best we could have asked for! Such a lovely man snd so informative we learned so much! Loved the hidden temple too ! Thank you for a fab morning!
Written February 2, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Davis H
Oakland, CA23 contributions
We booked this company after all the wonderful reviews on TripAdvisor, but they use Phutawan Elephant Camp (an elephant abuser) for tours that include elephants. Our guide was very good and the other activities were excellent, but we cannot recommend a guide service that supports cruelty to animals. Shame on us for not double checking, but we hope the management sees our review and learns that supporting companies that mistreat animals is unprofitable.

Written January 30, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear clients Thank you very much for your feedback. This review make me get a chance to appeal the true.. I always hear the foreigners complain about the mistreat elephants. We are Thai get sick about this. You are not in the situation as a Thai Mahout you don’t know well . In your mind you think you know but you don’t know at all if you don’t understand the reason why they need to do that. For example i have an elephant i use to use the elephant to plough the land in my rice fields and i do this and learn this from my ancestors you see i am doing that and you think it was mistreat ? I would like to my clients to learn and know the fact of the nature of the elephants in Thailand. I do not feel that the elephants in the camps around Thailand have mistreat. It maybe i saw that since i was born. But i just feel bad when the foreigners come to Thailand get wrong information they act act like they know elephant very very well. And we feel and know they are the real ones whom mistreated from somewhere else ! All of the Mahouts in Thailand they know how to look after their elephants more than us. It is their job. They learn from generation to generation for being with this animals most of their time. Elephants are their family. Any way the elephants are so powerful , smart and big creatures. So you need to know many way to be with them. And you need to adapt your own to your elephants and to the environment , community around if they domestic pets. When you see elephant are chained in camps. It doesn’t meant mistreat. A hook in the Mahout hand. That also doesn’t mean mistreat. Every Mahout know when, how and why they need that in their hand.( Just in case emergency only . it is the same as your car with break you will use it when you need it. I don’t think you will not use your break always when you drive if you do i think you are normal person. ! Whenever you be with the elephant without the Mahout around you or the Mahout no hook. That meant you put yourself in danger with those elephants. You may not realize this because you don't be too long with those animals ( you need to figure it out what can be happen next... . Any way I would like to ask you between the one who stay here all their life and others just come to Thailand for a short time and then spread the words around. Who must know those animal well ? You may not know or hear when the elephant become crazy. Mahouts with hooks in hand are still hardly to control them. People chain their elephants because the elephant stay with the local community and stay in a herd ( group) they can destroy people corps , and hurt the local people or flight each others. Is this mistreat to do that ?. When they are fighting. It is sometimes impossible to stop them even the Mahout have a hook in hand. And how about the Mahout no hook. I don’t have elephant camp but i don’t want to put my clients in this dangerous situation. Some people may thought the elephants always must be calm as their imagination. But need to be with the fact !! Every family with elephants treat their elephant as their family members. They know the elephant support their family. So every camps in Thailand they will try to take care them the best. . Other while the govern of Thailand will take their elephants to the elephant conservation centre. So you don't need to worry . In Thailand we have elephant school , elephant hospital l and elephant lovers they keep on eyes and check all the camps . Every elephant here in Thai land has an ID card as the Thai people. We have law to protect those animals. Please, don’t let anyone give you a brainwash. ! I would like the visitors who come to Thailand stay with the fact. And open you mind for the new culture and respect each other’s Sometimes when the elephants have been trained, it is also seem mistreat in the visitors eyes. Most of the visitors like them and elephant can win their heart as well. For us as Thais we feel we need to learn to be with each other and help each others. After that we can stay together happily. I sometimes thought It is the same as human. We must be wild men if we did not go to school or have been trained. So i don't think that’s too bad or mistreat in some way if you are positive people. ( They know the right way to trains an elephant. It is not the mean way as you heard or thought. They can do the gentle way as training a dog. But they are smart more than dogs , so it is easy to train them if you want... ) So training an elephant is not mistreat but the ones that mistreat are the foreigners who do not know well about fact.) Do you think elephants in Thailand have mistreat by Thai people for many hundreds of years before then visitors now find the way to solve this ? I do not think so. Please, don’t be brainwashed !! Other while your cat and dogs at home must be mistreat too.. ( when you not let them free and stay outside of your house always. It’s the same as elephant should be free in the wild and shouldn’t keep them in the camps or even in the zoo... ) These animals are so beautiful and charming, we need them to get along with well with local community and people. We will take our clients both to local and famous camps in Chiang Mai. But i love to support the local to keep their job if i can. I do not see mistreat in the local farm. The one i see i need to help their elephants and their family to be happy together and wish them both have good future as well and not sell their job. When you book the trip with us. You can tell us which camp you would like to be with and i will set up for you. Honestly we work for any elephant camps and we don’t not classify good or bad because we see them not big different that’s why we use every camp and love them all. We know when we were there they both elephants and elephant man have food. Or do you think the camps that you don’t agree with. They need no food ? Best regards. Sipohn
Written February 4, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Xacia_77
Santander, Spain24 contributions
Jan 2012 • Couples
First time that my experience doesn't match with the majority in Tripadvisor. We booked a half day tour to Doi Suthep, in Chiang Mai. They charged us 1.250 baths/person when the average price is 600 bath/each. The owner argued that maybe that was the price provided for a "dark tour company". The fact is, we are farangs but not stupid. On top of that, they took us to a jade store instead of a Hmong village. Dont recommend it and wonder where all the good reviews come from.
Written February 6, 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The facts need to be appealed to guests ! Thank you for all reviews. we understood these clients. They misunderstand about our price of our tour service. This was a private tour for them both. Only they both in a car !. On that day i do know they stayed in the small guesthouse, and quite cheap.( They may be in the budget ) They know our price that posted on the web,( Not hidden price at all ). How they can book our tour, when they knew the price is double. ! So i knew this, i sent the an experienced 2 guides " Mr. Tong and Mr. Bon with them. " ( They both are one of our best guides in the company ) They both are guides because i always aware about the price for this couple ! You've never had any company will give you 2 guides in the same tour, but we did !! and did many many times !! I always do this when i feel those tours may cause any problem. Or it was too much for a driver guide himself to service our clients. - And we had never promised we would take them to the Hmong hill tribe village ! it is in our itineraries.! Mr. Tong, our guide, asked them if they would like to see how they make jade because we have time left and we don't have any program to process and they said Yes ! So a guide take them to the jade factory ( Just a small local jade factory at the temple grounds before getting back to their guesthouse) A guide called me that day because he heard they always complain about our price. EXPENSIVE ! EXPENSIVE ! I tried to explain to them. " Even a dark taxi they must think hardly to take you up hilltop with that price : If they go they will try to pull you away to somewhere else as well..Not only the Doi Suthep temple ! " The price you posted is not correct for a private tour even the join tour with the other people you need to pay 600- 800 baht !! How can be expensive for a prive one ? We always think of fair price for both of us and the quality of our service and your safety on your trip ! we promise !! Thank you Best regards: Sipohn
Written September 28, 2013
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jill C
Hamburg, Germany14 contributions
Dec 2016 • Family
I know this company has good reviews and that's why we booked for 3 days. But our guide, Ata, had poor English. We could only understand every 5th word. Each night we had to go online to research what we saw. We couldn't learn much from him. the tour was also very poorly planned. We spent the majority of it in a van. We had to skip some things on our itinerary because we could not possibly do everything before dark. Much of it was inauthentic. Long neck people - just a row of stalls with trinkets. No interaction. No experience of the culture. Elephants - there are only 3 baby elephants. Hot springs - a roadside attraction surrounded by trinket shops, not in the mountains. Monkey cave - a rundown amusement park. We booked during high season and I think they have to contract 3rd string guides. Guess we had bad luck. When we complained the owner said he would give us 2500 baht back. We paid 48000. Don't get fooled like us. Research everything on your itinerary. Get an hour by hour schedule. Ask to speak to your guide on the phone to make sure you will understand them. I will know better next time. Our driver had to go very fast from place to place and that was even after we took things off the itinerary. The excuse was always 'high season traffic.' But they know this! A tour company should adjust for this. I am sure Siphon will reply with an explanation for everything but it will not change the miserable 3 days my family had, and at great expense.
Written December 29, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Muskrat and family So sorry for this disappointed trip. Thank you very much for your feedback. I  knew every details and were care about you and  your family from the beginning till the end of the trip. And i did know  what you complain about. And tried to fix that before the trip finish. But you did ask too much and change d your mind your mind. For example  when we took  you to  Elephants  Rescue  Park, All of your family were very enjoyed   the elephants and  park but you seem to be not  fine because  you can not see the big elephants..  After  finished activities you asked  for more  the other camp  but your pay only for one camp that i told you.. THIS CAMP IS   a great Unique elephants farm that many people  love to visit and share love  to elephants  as a  join group .  But your  family get  almost private  tour at the farm on that day  because  i  organised  for your family  special  ) Then you ask for  meeting the big elephants in the other camp. Then i still  told  my guide " Yes. !  We can take you  to  visit the big elephant in the other camp near by the place that you spent a night  in the next morning.. And i said to  my guide  we need to tell them the true that camp  we will take you  they do  elephant riding  if they don't mind  we drop by that elephants place to see the big elephant as you need.  (  Visiting  the big elephants is not  in our plan  ?  but we don't mind  we want  thing  went  smoothly on your trip.)  But finally you  say No. Fine ! ,  and  don't want to see big elephants  any more. All you  said  it was so unrealized about the program: I Know they are too much for  3 days. I  adapted the itineraries   from 4 -5  days to 3 days to your needs.  It was too hard to make it but we still  do the best for you and  i   thought  you should understand that. And i  always tell the clients  about the long drive each day..  The program that i set up for you.  There is no other tour companies  can do.  and i wasn't   sure that  we can do as well in the beginning.   Any way  if     people would like to do  to save  their  limited  time. Then   i  will try  because  i felt they need   help  and love to help them  to find  what  they would like to do  and see   when  they are here in Chiang Mai with their  limited time . ( We know  they donot came every  month,  year or only one in their life ) Just would like to say   "  So Sorry if you are not happy with that indeed  !  " Here are  the answers to  any doubt.. Mr.  Ata who was your guide on the days.   His   English is better than me  and he was in the USA  for years   and  went to work and help some project in the USA  every year and   l  just  called   him  to help in the Peak  travelling Season only because i found his English is great.. And how do you said  his English is poor. And the driver on the day.   He drove quite fast it was true  because of you always complain  along the way that you would like to arrive  the place quickly and on time. Even we know  it will be on time any way. ( He drive  in order to follow your complain ) " You were afraid  not to see the Monkeys cave. So Ata  Asked  a driver  to drive faster.  For  Chiang Dao cave   you agreed  to skip a cave.  And  Mr. Ata called  me and told me you are fine with this  skip. So i said  ok. if the clients  are fine for this. ( So i  tried to fix  your journey  during  the  day by day  and  followed you need, Even  for this skip a cave  i still gave you a  refund. In face my guide  always call  me  what happened on this trip  and  what  problem  are   you looking  for..  I  came to meet you but you don't know me  because i  not tell you  i just  try to find out what we can fix this for your family. I am always getting around to help during the trip. But sorry again  we tried  the best and too much for us.. Thank you. Best regards.   Sipohn
Written February 11, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 1,382

Untouched Thailand - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)