We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thamel Travels and Tours

#1,022 of 1,880 Tours in Kathmandu
Kathmandu, Nepal
More
About Thamel Travels and Tours
Provides tours and trek services for Nepal, Tibet and Bhutan. We ensure best services at lowest rates possible.
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about

Thamel Travels and Tours
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
510Reviews12Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 482
  • 21
  • 5
  • 0
  • 2
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Shuzz O wrote a review Feb 2020
Fawkner, Australia2 contributions
Overall, the trip was awesome. Our travel agent created a well organized itinerary which included so many highlights for a first tour to Nepal. Balaram and Saru Were very available through the planning time and also during the trip. The schedule was well paced with free time mixed in with scheduled activities. Almost all of the excursions were very small group tours, unique and provided a window into the Nepalese culture and natural wonders. The accommodations were all very comfortable and conveniently located. We very much appreciated the smooth transfers to and from cities and also to and from airports. In summary, a very well organized tour, well suited to our interests and budget. I recommend this travel agent without hesitation and hope that we can avail ourselves of their services another time.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2019
Helpful
Share
Abinash S wrote a review Feb 2020
Hurstville, Australia1 contribution
Nepal Visit Awesome experience!!! For the first time we went with travel agent and had guided sightseeing tours. Our trip was arranged Nepal Tibet Bhutan team. Everything was as it should have been. Great private guided sightseeing tours around Kathmandu and an awesome hike to Nagarkot. Ravi, our trek guide, super helpful and humorous. I Would Absolutely recommend them to all.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Travelinthewild wrote a review Jan 2020
Brisbane, Australia72 contributions25 helpful votes
What can I say about this company apart from beware!! Don’t ever use them. The owner “Balaram” is completely disorganised/inefficient/and a boldface liar. The level of service received from this company is disgraceful and Balaram should never be allowed to work in the tourist industry. This is the Second time we have been in Nepal, we are also regular travellers to multiple third world countries so know what to expect when booking tours and the level of service expected. However, the level of service this company provided has hit an all time low - it has disgusted me so much that I am currently penning a letter to the Nepalese Tourism Board so that other travellers may never suffer the appalling services we had to. Firstly the good - we were picked up on time at the airport on arrival. Now the Bad - No itinerary provided of any kind (my husband typed up a quick itinerary which was agreed as the basis of the contract) No receipts for moneys paid - until forced - we won’t pay last payment amount until receipts are provided for previous deposit payments. He Kept saying just “trust me”. Hotels in remote areas booked as bed and breakfast only - full board was available but we would have to pay extra USD $80 despite having requested full board in initial discussions. We rang hotel directly and was given $120USD per night per couple full board not the $180 USD per night per couple Balaram was requesting. (Isn’t it meant to be cheaper through Tour Agents??). Tour to Tibet organised by Balaram- was meant to be a 10 Day tour from Lhasa to Mt Everest base camp and then back over the border to Nepal. For some unknown reason Balaram organised a 9 day tour, on arrival in Nepal we again confirmed it was a 10 day tour - we desperately want to see Mt Everest etc- yes yes he says all booked, tour guide organised, wouldn’t give details of the Company he booked through, the guides details or anything (not comforting when flying into China with no idea who the Company is or even if you will be greeted at the airport). We were given USD $ to take to the guide as payment for the tour. We confirmed again 10 day tour anxious to see Mt Everest etc etc - Balaram replied yes well you will have to see if that’s possible - was really hesitating to give a straight answer - arrived in China(Tibet) to be told no it’s a 9 day tour that’s what this money is for - we weren’t able to go to base camp due to snow but if, as we had requested it was a 10 day tour we would have been able to - extremely disappointing and made us extremely angry at Balaram, our entire trip to Tibet was with the sole purpose of seeing Mt Everest and through his disorganisation and dishonesty stole that opportunity from us. Guides in Tibet (we still have no idea of the Company) did everything in their power but were unable to help us. In Nepal Balaram took us on tours to the Monkey Temple and Durbar Square in Kathmandu - I think I learnt more by reading Lonely planet.....his guiding ability leaves a lot to be desired. He refused to talk to some of our group and would turn away when Spoken to, he would only speak to one person at a time and never brought us together to discuss what we were seeing or the history of the area. He didn’t give a summary of what we were seeing in the van on the way to the sites - just sat in silence or spoke to the driver. It was though he was sulking because we asked him for receipts/itinerary and details of Tibet trip. Kept telling us to “trust me”. We requested and paid for a tour guide and driver for a full 23 days. We had one poorly guided tour by Balaram, if we wanted more tours it was going to cost us $80usd for the van and $50usd for the guide ( we had already paid for this- or so we thought- it was part of the itinerary we had requested) We had a brilliant guide in Tibet who went above and beyond our expectations and made a difficult trip as comfortable/pleasant as possible given the circumstances Hotels without power/no food/no showers/blizzard etc). Then we arrived back to Nepal to find we had be relegated to a small Jeep due to “road conditions” (luggage hanging off roof racks, three people literally jammed into the backseat for 9 days (despite seeing vans making a comfortable journey where we were travelling in all areas, bar the first day back in Nepal)- the driver was also the guide although despite being a lovely human should really stick to driving- we had to ask multiple questions to get information out of him, he drove us to different sites but no real history or information given. (Interestly, we had requested and paid for a large Van so that we would be comfortable and we had it for the first couple of days but then was given a small Jeep for remain tour) After giving the last payment to Balaram, he gives us incorrect receipts for the full payment amount not the amount actually paid which was minus a hotel that we paid for separately - then texts us to say we owe him an extra $80 USD. No explanation no reasoning just demanding more money. We still have no idea where this amount came from?? Needless to say we will never ever use him or his company again and we would never ever recommend him or his company and the only reason he got 1 star is because you can’t do zero. If you want to travel with a brilliant company who is super organised and the guides are informative and helpful read the reviews given on East & West International Tours and Travels!!!! Would Highly recommend them!!!!
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Balaram P, Owner at Thamel Travels and Tours
Responded Jan 24, 2020
Dear Guest, Please kindly note, -You chose every single hotel name and room at each location and i arranged the same exactly. -i have efficiently arranged Tibet permit, flights on time and accurately. -I have organised the sightseeing and transfers exactly as agreed and briefed. Where is the point i could wrong on the tour? Now what you did when you arrived : -you could not trust us your passports which we needed to apply for Tibet visa and spoiled whole sightseeing day waiting at embassy room where you do not have any role. Tibet visa is organised through travel company. -you kept arguing and giving speech about paying tour fees until the moment we are on van to the airport for lhasa flights! When you give me cash at this moment, neither you gave me time to settle with Tibetan agency nor environment to count the cash! You gave me nearly 6000 dollar on van!! It has been 5days you are in Kathmandu!! At this moment of course i had to send cash with you for Tibetan agency, i suppose you were so happy about it. With the visa, i gave you guide's contact. This is the required contact and you are online with me every minute on WhatsApp. -for 8usd per room cost difference even when i showed you email exchanges with the property at Nuwakot , you booked with them directly when i am organising one month tour for you! I, without saying a word, gave you refund that money. The most funny is when you checked with Gorkha gaun and found out it was expensive to do directly, on the same spot you asked to continue booking! Hello, there is a word called morality existing in the world!! But still you are guest, and fine! Despite this and that I have very efficiently created the situations for you to visit all the places and with as soft spoken and hospitable people as possible. Given the situations above, on what grounds you have the morality to write this review!! In fact i always encouraged you to enjoy the tour thoroughly and kept my patience until last moments. All the arrangements are ready to go, but you are looking for any issue to debate, hhow unfortunate it is! I still have compassion for you. Once you had cried with me saying you have very limited time because of cancer. Please dont hurry whatever happens in life probably happens for some reason. I do not want to involve on disputes and meaningless debates not only with you but everyone in my life, please live a peaceful life. My truthful and very simple life is the secret of my confidence (bold face in your word). Beside this, my experience of 2 decades in Nepal's tourism encourages me to tell truth to my guests. For the sake of businesses, I do not pretend situations rather share the truth with my guests so that they know what to expect and how to prepare. Even a bit moral person can see it on my face before starting conversations. As said above, We arranged the hotels you have chosen and organised tours as per itinerary agreed. Of course we could not take you to the Base camp in Tibet because of Chinese embassy rule change. Not only our guests but no one is allowed at present right to the base camp. Instead of abiding the rule, you believed that embassy rule can be changed with bribes! Not once but few times you asked me about this!! It seems to me that you did not have any respect or trust for we "poor" people. Very sorry about EBC but i informed you about this before going to Tibet And we took you as close as tourists are allowed. You agreed to pay the obvious extra expense usd 150 for the night to stay two rooms at 5 star hotel in Pokhara instead of that everest base camp night at guest house. However, you refused to meet me after Pokhara and pay the due before going back home!! Still we are sorry for the feelings you have had about us and promise to continuously improve our services for our guests in future.
Read more
Hrvoje K wrote a review Dec 2019
9 contributions3 helpful votes
We went with Balaram from Kathmandu to Pokhara in two days and he also took us to some sights in and around Kathmandu on the third day. He was very patient, let us take our time at different sights and was also a great guide as he knows quite a bit about the country and the places where we've been to. You can't go wrong with him, we would highly recommend him.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Alexis Merino wrote a review Dec 2019
1 contribution
Everything was perfect with Thamel Travels & Tours and Balaram (the one in charge). We hired a private car from Kathmandu to Pokhara, but visiting Manakamana and staying one night in Bandipur. Balaram picked up us on time and was very kind, he went with us to the top of Manakamana and he also acompanied us in Bandipur in a small trek to see the Himalaya at Sunrise. We also hired a Trek in Langtan Valley, everything was perfect, the guided the attention, everything! 100% I will repeat with them if I came back.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Previous
Recommended experiences in and around Kathmandu
from $45.00
More Info
from $1,200.00
More Info
from $185.00
More Info
from $1,280.00
More Info