We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Go Gorilla Trekking

Features Animals
Kigali, Rwanda
More
About Go Gorilla Trekking
Go Gorilla Trekking enables Ape Lovers the opportunity to get up close and Personal amongst a troop of wild Mountain Gorillas in Uganda. We offer the ultimate heart-stopping wildlife encounters - gorilla safaris within Uganda, Rwanda and DR Congo.
Read more
Travelers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Go Gorilla Trekking
Overview
This is the best seller for travelers with less time yet they would like to see the mountain gorillas in the wild. Stay a night in the wild and meet the great apes in person on the best rated tour in Uganda.
30Reviews1Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 20
  • 4
  • 0
  • 2
  • 4
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Miriam wrote a review Aug 2021
New York City, New York2 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
I spent three days with an absolutely wonderful guide, Herbert.he. Was waiting for me at the airport and we drove 11 hours together to Bwindi. From the very start he was warm and welcoming and a font of knowledge about Uganda, it’s culture and people. The love of his country shone through! I stayed at the Chameleon Hill Lodge which was lovely. We headed out the next day for the gorilla trek which was hard, but amazing. After the trek, Herbert arranged a cultural tour of the Batwa people who were displaced from the forest with conservation efforts. We then took the long drive back to Entebbe and Herbert arranged for my Covid test for travel. Overall, it was an amazing experience with great communication through the planning. Highly recommend.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Gumby111 wrote a review Jul 2021
Santa Barbara, California32 contributions45 helpful votes
We just returned from spending 8 incredibly fun days touring Uganda and I so want to recommend Go Gorilla Trekking. Michael l did an excellent job in a difficult time with covid. His lodging choices were all just really nice and our driver/ guide, Martin, was so much fun!!! We went from Muchinson Falls to trekking to trekking and chasing after chimps to gorillas. This is my 2nd trip to Uganda and I so highly recommend Go Gorillas as I expect we will be back for another trip with Michael:) I have read the 2 very negative reviews and our experience was just so different as Michael was there to coordinate our challeging flights to get back to Nairobi as we had 3 different flights cancelled and our connection out of Nairobi was going to potentially be a serious issue.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael M, Owner at Go Gorilla Trekking
Responded Aug 4, 2021
Thank You Gumby111 for traveling with us. We are happy that you enjoyed a family trip with us. We are looking to hosting you again and we appreciate your support to the local community (Batwa People) whom you visited during the trip.
Read more
Mike Ste wrote a review Jul 2021
Munich, Germany10 contributions1 helpful vote
We did a 4 day tour from Entebbe to Bwindi with 2 consecutive days Gorilla Trekking. We couldn't have chosen a better company than Go Gorilla Trekking. They deliver great value for money and are very attentive. While preparing for our tour we had many questions as usual during the pandemic (restrictions, PCR testing, lock-down in Uganda, etc.) and Michael, the owner, was always very responsive and helped us with any doubts we had. Then we met our guide Martin on the first day of the tour and we must say after several tours in many countries around the world, he was one of the best guides we have ever had. He was extremely friendly, a very reliable driver, knowledgeable, made us feel comfortable 100% of the time and was super attentive. In Bwindi he made sure we visited different Gorilla families on our 2 days and even got us to visit one of the nicest Gorilla groups on the second day, which resulted on an unimaginable experience (we even saw forest elephants, 3 silver-backs and many baby gorillas!). Martin even took us on our 3rd night to Lake Bunyonyi which was not part of our original (instead of us spending a 3rd night on the same hotel in Bwindi) and it was a great idea! It shortened the trip back to Entebbe and gave us a view of another magical place (at no extra cost!). We are very thankful to Martin, Michael and the entire Go Gorilla Trekking staff for making our stay in Uganda, during such difficult times, so unforgettable. If you are thinking of visiting Uganda, then dont hesitate! If you are thinking about a tour company, Go Gorilla Trekking will not disappoint!
Read more
Date of experience: July 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael M, Owner at Go Gorilla Trekking
Responded Aug 4, 2021
Thank You Michael for traveling with us. We are thankful for the wonderful review you have shared with the TA Community. We are grateful that you enjoyed your trip with us. Stay Safe!
Read more
TedK wrote a review Jul 2021
Seattle, Washington2 contributions
It became necessary to cancel my entire East Africa trip (Uganda, Rwanda and DRC) due to a major mistake by the owner of Go Gorilla Trekking, Michael Makonzi who was unaware of a significant change in quarantine restrictions in Rwanda. “I did not know about this” and “no one told me” were some of the things that Michael said. These responses alone illustrate the lack of professionalism, the incompetency. I may have been able to continue with the trip but the information on the change in regulations (even though it was a week old) was received at the very last-minute. Michael did agree to refund the trip cost but not the various gorilla permits. There had been many red flags during the planning process, especially with extremely poor communication. I had to find out, from the Virunga National Park website, for example, that tourism to the park was suspended and that our Mount Nyiragongo hike was cancelled. The volcano was erupting! Michael’s responses to requests for information had so little detail that more questions than answers were generated. It took follow-up after follow-up. As the trip went into “crisis mode”, with the real possibility of cancellation, it appears he simply chose to ignore some messages – via both email and WhatsApp. Every operator with whom I have worked either professionally (I am in the expedition travel business) or personally when booking personal travel has provided much more detailed, pertinent and timely information. Michael never provided any information about what would be included and what would not be included. Were meals to be on a full-board, half-board basis? So little information! This was truly one of the worst experiences I have ever had with any operator in putting an itinerary together. I had looked forward to and had prepared for the trip for a long time. There are so many good operators in the region, high quality tour operators who will be responsive, will know all of the crucial details on travel restrictions and will be aware of and will pass along information on what is going on regionally and what closures may be taking place. Not being able to go was heartbreaking, devastating. If you are looking for a quality tour operator in East Africa, Go Gorilla is simply not it. Do not travel with this company.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael M, Owner at Go Gorilla Trekking
Responded Aug 4, 2021
We do appreciate having planned a trip with us though you abandoned the travel plans and never traveled with us. As a company that is run by honest people, we would like to bring out honest issues regarding your negative review of a company that you never traveled with. We booked a 31 Day trip for TEd's (using the TA handle LexEdm) girl friend in October 2020, and in March 2021 we received a request for LexEdm to join part of the tour so that he can company his fiance. We put together a 12 Day Trip for Lex and he was to join his fiance in Rwanda. By the time of planning and booking the trip, there was a 1 Day Quarantine for tourists which is still existing at the time of writing. Later, we found out that Lex was not interested in confirming his travel arrangements. He came up with several questions regarding the safety of travelers in Eastern Democratic of Congo citing travel advisories by the US government. We advised him that we only operate in safe areas. In May 2021, there was a volcanic eruption of the Nyiragongo Volcanoes. Ted started blaming us that we were taking tourists to areas that were not safe. He blamed us for "hiding information" which was already in public domain! Not only this information, issues regarding safety of travelers are ever in "public domain" and travelers make a decision to travel to any destination after assessing this information. Ted's girlfriend started her trip in Uganda on 26th May 2021 and Ted was to join his girl friend on 18th June 2021. On the 12th June 2021, RwandAir cancelled its flights from Uganda and this affected his girlfriend's flight. Ted rebooked the flight for his girlfriend with Kenya Airways. HE HANDLED ALL FLIGHTS and Go Gorilla Trekking was not involved in booking any flights. At the time of rebooking the flight, ME and HIM were not in the know of the new Covid-19 rules that Rwanda had set for travelers from ONLY Uganda and India! THESE RULES HAD BEEN MADE AFTER 12TH JUNE 2021. All travelers from Uganda and India were to undergo a quarantine of 8 Days. This new rule led to cancellation of the girfriend's part of the trip in Rwanda. The cancellation was a blessing in disguise on Ted's side who seemed to be in fear of traveling to DR Congo. He had sent several emails regarding cancelling his tour and he had even asked if he could "top up" for his girlfriend to travel alone. Due to our flexible policies we REFUNDED HIM ALL HIS MONEY. His claims that WE DIDN'T REFUND HIS GORILLA PERMITS IS FALSE! HIS GIRLFRIEND USED THE GORILLA PERMITS AND TRACKED GORILLAS two times in Kahuzi Biega National Park and two times in Virunga National Park.
Read more
Olga A wrote a review Jul 2021
Seattle, Washington17 contributions3 helpful votes
Stay away from Go gorilla trekking! Absolutely an incompetent operation! The owner only knows how to collect money and beyond that- highly negligent. Traveling with this operator turned the trip into an ongoing struggle every step of the way and eventually ended up on abruptly cancelling a significant portion the trip( Rwanda) in the middle because the owner failed to provide us with updated restrictions which were available to everyone but him for over a week. Information like 7 days quarantine vs 12 hours. I found out about it at the airport trying to reach my next destination where I was not able to board the flight! The response from the owner, Michael - I did not know about it! Nobody told me. Incompetence and negligence! It was a challenge trying to reach out to him, because he is not available on weekends or after hours.. Safety- there were no safety on many different levels. Provided transportation for Uganda portion had an ongoing issues with the engine which would not start and the driver, Mike had by passers pushing the car. Windows did not have any seal and all the dust on the roads (a lot of it) was inside.. I did addressed it to the owner- never got a response. Choose anyone but this agency. Can’t get worth that that. There are so many great operators in Uganda I run into, and wish I made a different choice months ago. Olga
Read more
Date of experience: June 2021
Helpful
Share
Previous