We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chameleon Holidays and Travel

Windhoek, Namibia
More
About Chameleon Holidays and Travel
Chameleon Holidays and Travel is set up to specifically deal with all aspects of travel in Namibia and surrounding Southern African countries. We have a wealth of knowledge and experience to ensure that your travel aspirations are met and exceeded. Whether choosing the right trip for you, your friends or family we set out to help travellers to save money and get the best travel advice possible.
Read more
Travelers talk about

Chameleon Holidays and Travel
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
14Reviews0Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Dimitar P wrote a review Nov 2020
6 contributions
+1
2020 has been anything but a smooth year so far but our recent trip to Namibia was certainly nothing short of an experience and adventure of a lifetime in this beautiful and diverse country. After few cancellations and re-arranging our plans due to various COVID related challenges, we connected with Julie from Chameleon and she arranged the most amazing self drive trip across the country. Service was bespoke, we chatted few times and she quickly understood what are the type of things we will enjoy and suggested itinerary and accommodation that was absolutely superb. Communication was extremely quick and many last minute changes were arranged in no time. Chameleon provided us with all necessary documentation to support us getting through the constantly changing requirements for entering the country, had had a detailed briefing pack waiting for us on our arrival with maps, information and local mobile SIM card and were just a whatsapp message away if we needed anything before, during and after our trip. Thank you Julie and Chameleon for a wonderful trip and we are already planning the next one!
Read more
Date of experience: November 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Chameleon_Holidays, Manager at Chameleon Holidays and Travel
Responded Dec 3, 2020
Hi Dimitar & Maryia I am so glad you had a wonderful time - Namibia is a very special country and glad we could help you Look forward to seeing you again :-)
Read more
Simon T wrote a review Mar 2020
7 contributions3 helpful votes
We (UK tavellers ) have just returned from our third sel-drive holiday to Namibia organised by Jules at Chameleon. She is brilliant - just tell her what you want and your budget and she will make suggestions, organise the lodge bookings, car hire, itinerary etc. We would never have found some of the amazing places we have stayed in Namibia without her help - and that's why we keep coming back for more. All documentation is faultless and on this trip, as before, everything worked perfectly. All you have to do is get yourself to and from Windhoek. She knows far more about the country than any UK tour operator - why pay the smart UK tour operators a huge premium when you can get so much better rates (as well as more informed advice) by working directly with a Windhoek based operator. Email Jules!
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Chameleon_Holidays, Owner at Chameleon Holidays and Travel
Responded Mar 23, 2020
Oh Simon, thanks so much for this wonderful feedback... during all this uncertainty it's put a smile on my face. Naturally, a beautiful country as such as Namibia does help :-) Keep well and keep safe and look forward to chatting to you soon
Read more
abby wrote a review Jan 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We had a wonderful holiday in Namibia due, in no small part, to the efforts of Jules and her team. Our itinerary was designed in response to what we wanted and I appreciated the endless patience as we considered our options and asked many Qs. The welcome when we arrived and the detailed pack of information made moving around the country feel easy and manageable. I also really appreciated Jules support in dealing with one issue which arose. I thoroughly recommend Chameleon Travel if you want help in planning a visit to this beautiful country.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Nickie P wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I joined a small group tour recently - visited all the main highlights in Namibia and Botswana and even saw victoriafalls at end. Great value for money and thanks to chameleon who made all arrangements - quick to respond and friendly
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Maria Paula Miranda wrote a review Oct 2019
Braga, Portugal2 contributions
My husband and I booked a private safari with Chameleon. We paid €2.000 each for a 6 day safari + €500 for a road transfer from Windhoek to Maun (8 hour drive). The car that was assigned to us had one window down and if I hadn't complained they would have put us through that 8 hour drive with a blanket stuck on the door. Because I complained we were driven for over 1 hour through Katutura at 6 AM looking for someone who could fix it. For our 6 day safari we were supposed to spend 2 days doing game drives in Moremi Game Reserve (that was specifically asked for and paid, namely entrance fees - and that was the reason why we drove from Windhoek to Maun instead of flying to Vic Falls and visit Chobe from there) and 4 days in Chobe National Park. We also wanted to camp inside the parks. We only camped inside the park in one of the 5 nights; all the other campsites were 30 minutes away from the nearest door, And we ended up not driving through Moremi Game Reserve for 1,5 days because not only the guide was late in picking us up in day 1 but also immediately after picking us up he stopped for grocery shopping, Unilateraly he decided to skip Moremi all together withour consulting us. Only at lunch time in day 2, while chatting with a Mokoro poler, did we realise not only that we still hadn't been to Moremi Game Reserve (which could explain the lack of animals) but also that we were camping outside the Reserve, After confronting the guide he told us that he had nothing to do with booking the campsites and as far as not doing game drives in the Reserve since the reserve had no fences the animals roamed freely so driving on the outside was the same as driving in the inside of the park! After complaining to Chameleon its first response (after some weeks, since they had to contact their botswana provider, which Chameleon prior to my complaint never identified) was that the campsites were booked 1 year in advance, so that booking within a few weeks would make it almost impossible to get a place at the campsites inside the parks. This information was never disclosed before. Furthermore, Chameleon offered to reimburse the parks fees for Moremi (€15 in a €4.000 safari!)- just! After I replied finding that insulting Chameleon's proposal was to reimburse us the Moremi Leg of our safari (2 days) but their calculations were €330 euros. When I replied saying that we would accept the reimbursement of the Moremi Leg of our safari but in my calculations that amount was of about €1.300 (we discussed namibian dollars) and not €330, so I would appreciate they explained to me how they got to that amount, the response was "This is what we have to offer you - €330", without any further explanation. I replied refusing the offer and deeming it insulting (again, we paid €4000 for 6 days; and for Chameleon the first 2 days of that 6 day trip were valued in only €330). So my advice: STAY AWAY FROM THEM
Read more
Date of experience: July 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Chameleon_Holidays, Owner at Chameleon Holidays and Travel
Responded Oct 16, 2019
Thank you for your review and as per our email correspondence over the last months, we would like to apologise as this tour did not meet your expectations. We have offered to pay you the money we made off this booking as compensation for your disappointment, please send us your bank details for the refund that we offered. We acknowledge the listing of Moremi on the itinerary misleading as Khwai is outside it - Khwai adjoins Moremi and is a beautiful area as I am sure you agree, as there are no fences between the Delta & Moremi, animals are free to roam between the locations and generally this means there is no real difference in game viewing. Moremi is famous but it doesn’t necessarily mean that game viewing is any less good outside of it, and you participated in game drives in Khwai region of Okavango Delta and 1 in Moremi. We encourage you to review the tour operator Audi Camp & Safaris (https://www.facebook.com/audicampbotswana/) as they refuse to acknowledge any misleading information in your itinerary or arrangements booked on your behalf, the Manager who offered the refund for the park fees is Richard. We will not use them in the future as we wish to avoid any scenario of disappointment such as yours. We apologise that you feel that we have not heard your complaints, we are also disappointed and frustrated in the response we have had from Audi Camp and Safaris. The owner of the transfer company is grateful that you detected the faulty window and that he had a chance to fix this prior to your departure to Maun, he sends his regards. Kind regards
Read more
Previous