We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Roatan Excursions ( REx )

Features Animals
Roatan, Honduras
More
About Roatan Excursions ( REx )
Roatan Excursions is the only company of its kind to offer such a wide range of activities, including exclusive access to the San Simon Beach Club, its facilities and all-inclusive services. Our experience, local knowledge, and professional services make us the number one choice for cruise ship passengers looking for a stress free day of fun and relaxation. Choose Roatan Excursions, and all you will need to worry about is having a good time.
Travelers talk about
9Reviews0Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
John H wrote a review Feb 2020
Lexington, Kentucky10 contributions2 helpful votes
We were sailing on NCL Breakaway and one of our stops was Roatan. We booked a beach day with them for a trip to West Bay Beach and was very happy with it. We booked on our own and did not use NCL and had no problems whatsoever. Beautiful beach, all inclusive and we couldnt have been more satisfied. We even had access to the beautiful pool at The Mayan Princess Resort. A couple of words of caution. It is crazy once you leave the fenced in Port Area but all the vendors were very helpful guiding you to your excursion meeting point. Dont let all the excursion hawking deter you there are just a number of groups trying to get some business. Everyone was kind and the area is very safe. Once on the beach be prepared for an onslaught of locals trying to sell various products. Its ok to politely say no thank you and they move on. This is similar to other ports, just dont expect to have this beautiful beach all to yourself. Lots of security around and once again it is very safe. Make sure you ask for Olive when you book your excursion she is top notch.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from roatanexcursions, Manager at Roatan Excursions ( REx )
Responded Feb 6, 2020
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate your kind words and are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
nerissa007 wrote a review Aug 2019
Miami, Florida30 contributions3 helpful votes
We visited the beautiful island of Roatan last week while on a cruise ship. I decided to do some research and found this company. When I contacted them thru WhatsApp, I immediately receive a response from Olive. She was extremely responsive, professional and helpful responding to all my questions and providing great information. On the day of our arrival, she met our family of 7 outside the port and took us to our destination. She recommended the Mayan Beach Club and we could not have been happier. The place was beautiful with amazing pools and with one of the clearest beaches I have ever seen. There were some locals selling merchandise but they were very nice and not pushy and immediately leave if you tell them you’re not interested. The service at the resort was wonderful and Olive was exceptional. She spent the entire time with us and took us back to the cruise ship at the end of the day. I highly recommend this tour company and destination. It was the highlight of our week cruise. I hope to visit Roatan again really soon and will definitely be calling Roatan Excursions when I do.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from roatanexcursions, General Manager at Roatan Excursions ( REx )
Responded Aug 21, 2019
I'm so happy to hear that you had such an amazing experience with us! Your kind words encourage us to continue on the path of excellence. Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to having you with us again soon.
Read more
Ryan C wrote a review Jul 2019
Mobile, Alabama12 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
This was my favorite excursion out of 3 cruises. First off, Roatan is a beautiful place and I've visited here using excursions through the cruise line, but never again. We got off the boat and walked up to our group, then was given our very own private driver, Dennis, who was absolutely amazing. We went to all the wildlife places that were included in the tour and then had extra time left over so he took us down by the beaches and to a 'make your own flavor rum' place. I would highly recommend and can't wait to go back!
Read more
Date of experience: November 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from roatanexcursions, General Manager at Roatan Excursions ( REx )
Responded Jul 26, 2019
Thank you for your kind review, Ryan. We're glad you had a great time and hope you visit us again soon.
Read more
Afun A wrote a review Oct 2018
Chicago, Illinois8 contributions5 helpful votes
We went to the animal area where we saw monkeys, sloughs and birds. That was fun, after the animal tour we went snorkeling and that was awesome, Dustin, Austin and another tin guy were great. They were great guides. We went to 2 different spots to snorkel. I recommend this tour.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from Courtney M, General Manager at Roatan Excursions ( REx )
Responded Oct 3, 2018
I'm so glad to hear that you had a great time with us! Thank you so much for your kind review. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
KarneBH wrote a review Jul 2018
Broomfield, Colorado245 contributions85 helpful votes
We were in Roatan for one short day during our last cruise. We've sailed into the bay several times, but have always just gone to the beach or shopped at the port. This time we decided to book an excursion. We chose the All-Inclusive Beach Day at San Simon. We picked this because we like the beach and the reviews for San Simon were good. We booked through Roatan Excursions because it also had good reviews and a good price. Big mistake. We were given specific instructions on where to go to meet our "guide" which was really just the driver. We were at Mahogany Bay and apparently they don't allow independent touring companies onto the port area, so we had to walk outside of the port. The directions weren't awfully specific, but because we had been to Mahogany Bay a couple of other times, we had an idea where to go. It would be helpful for them if their directions said to exit near where you can get your passports stamped or rent a car. Instead, their instructions make it sound like all you have to do is get off the boat and walk for 5 minutes and you're there. In truth, you have to walk about 15 minutes and some uphill and the ground is rough. No bid deal for my husband and I, but we did see a couple of people struggling. Once you get to the destination (200 yards past where you exit the port area) There's a shaded area with some benches and across the road, 20+ people holding up signs for their tour companies. We located Roatan Excursions fairly easily and set of to talk to the "guide". He walked us another 50 yards to where all of the buses, vans and taxis were. When we got there, the bus that we were supposed to get on was GONE. They had apparently left without us. It was 650am Roatan time and our paperwork said that the first transport would leave at 7am. LIES. We had taken our time getting off of the ship because of the information they had given us. Our ship actually docked at 5am local time and we went and had breakfast because the paperwork said we couldn't go anywhere until 7am. So we had already wasted 2 precious hours of time at port and now had to wait for the "guide" who was waiting on people from another ship. We waited on his bus (which was nicely air conditioned although it was still nice weather at 7am) for 25 minutes while he gathered up more folks. Then we left and headed to San Simon. We stopped again at another port and picked up more people. The drive to San Simon took 40 minutes. By the time that we reached San Simon, we were informed that we had to be back at their gate less than 3 hours later to catch our ride back to our ship. Our ship was leaving at 1pm local time. San Simon is actually a very lovely place. They seem to share amenities with the neighboring properties on each side and both were very nice. It was super crowded and we had trouble finding a chaise. And the wifi wasn't working and the neighboring property would give you their password, but it was an additional $10. I paid for it, because we had the worst wifi on the ship and I wanted to talk to my kids. The food and drinks were included. The waitstaff at San Simon were nice. They helped us locate chairs and Terrance was awesome. He walked me over to the neighboring property to get the password and wifi info. We ended up sitting at the pool of one of the neighboring properties because that's were the wifi worked. Las Sirenas was the name of that property. The pool was nice and quiet. The food was okay at San Simon. The fried fish was very very good. Everything else was okay. The drinks were good, but it was often hard to get bar service. When it was time to leave we went back to the gate as instructed. No sign of our guy from Roatan Excursions. NONE. Someone from another company was nice enough to offer us a ride back to port...on a packed bus. We ended up waiting and waiting for that bus to leave. By then I was worried we wouldn't make it back to our ship in time. But thanks to the woman from the other company, we did, with 5 minutes to spare. Once back to port, they can actually drop you off where you would get a rental car, taxi, etc. So we didn't have to walk that extra 200yards. That would have put us back to our ship late. But we weren't close to being the last ones on board. Still, despite the fact that San Simon was amazing and I would go back to it again (first thing in the morning so as to get a good chair), I won't ever use Roatan Excursions again. Shame on them. What a disappointment. When you are constantly worried about your tour company being reliable, it really interferes with your ability to enjoy your day at port. Do yourself a favor and book with a better, more reputable company.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from Marissa D, Front Office Manager at Roatan Excursions ( REx )
Responded Jul 10, 2018
Good morning Karne, I'm so sorry that your experience with us did not meet your expectations because of this unfortunate incident. We are disappointed to hear that you did not fully enjoy your visit to the Beach Club San Simon. Our service has been the highlight of many reviews on our different social channels, which leaves us quite disappointed that your experience was not indicative of the norm. For this, we apologize. Our senior management team is aware of your feedback and experience. They will be looking into all the matters. We realize that there is always room for improvement and your feedback is appreciated.
Read more
Previous
12
Recommended experiences in and around Roatan
from $38.47
More Info
from $35.00
More Info
from $51.29
More Info
from $56.42
More Info