We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Upachaya

Features Animals

Upachaya
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
225
All photos (225)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent90%
  • Very good7%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“pontoon boat”(46 reviews)
“snorkel tour”(32 reviews)
About
Just minutes away from both cruise ship terminals. Upachaya offers small, personal tours. Our experienced snorkel guides will show you the hidden wonders of our fabulous reef system and for those on kayaks and paddleboards you will also experience...more
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
| Man O' War Harbor, Roatan, Honduras
Website
+504 3309-7615
Call
Improve This Listing
Recommended experiences in and around Roatan
from $36.00
More Info
from $79.00
More Info
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
368 results
Traveler rating
331
29
4
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
331
29
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pontoon boat snorkel tour vegetarian lunch octopus tour of the grounds eco lodge huge starfish star fish coleslaw snorkeling experience foot drop sea life delicious meal mahogany bay the reefs cruise stop in roatan coxen hole
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 368 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our family of 4 took a Royal Caribbean cruise this February and we docked in Roatan. Of all of our stops, this was my favorite. We were picked up right on time outside the gate as directed, took about a 15 minute air conditioned ride...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Lisa F
Barbara W, Owner at Upachaya, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your post and kind comments. We truly love sharing Upachaya with folks such as yourself. People that appreciate the smaller groups, and being on a part of the reef where you avoid the crowds and can appreciate the abundance and beauty this...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Like all other reviewers, this was a remarkable excursion. The kayak out through the the mangroves was very relaxing, and the snorkeling was spectacular. Our guide kindly pointed out fish we would probably not have seen on our own such as a lion fish, large...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank pocapoca522
Barbara W, Owner at Upachaya, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for sharing your comments and ideas with us. I do like that idea of perhaps an additional fee for just hanging out and chilling amongst the serenity here at Upachaya. In addition, we are also exploring the possibility of adding a "Bush Medicine...More

Reviewed January 22, 2019

Our snorkeling excursion was the best thing we did on our cruise. Everything is arranged for you ahead of time and you receive the very best personal service from beginning to end. Roatan is a beautiful island and you get to experience the best of...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank whateveryousaygoes
Barbara W, Owner at Upachaya, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2019

Thank you for your kind words. We do appreciate your visit, and we hope you consider coming back and spending more time with us in the future. I am very fortunate to have outstanding staff, and we all work very hard to insure our guests...More

Reviewed January 6, 2019 via mobile

We never book the cruise excursions because they are overpriced and very crowded. I saw the reviews for Upachaya and I’m glad we booked it. We met our driver right outside of the port gate and she was great! She grew up on the grounds...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank lindamomof5
Reviewed December 11, 2018

Sailing on Symphony of the Seas, we booked this excursion independently after reading the positive reviews! We knew we wanted to snorkel in Roatan, but also hoped to avoid a massive crowd. We knew there would be no more than 10 people on the pontoon...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank dcrawford2
Barbara W, Owner at Upachaya, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2018

Thanks for sharing your day with us. It was a pleasure to have you with us and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed yourselves so much. We do what we can to provide our guests with a memorable experience. Come back and spend some time...More

Reviewed December 5, 2018

In Roatan on a cruise ship. We don't do ship excursions, much prefering private or less crowded experiences. We snorkeled with Upachaya a few years ago and thought if we ever went back we'd do it again. The driver meets you outside the port area,...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank janhtx
Barbara W, Owner at Upachaya, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2018

Thank you for visiting us once again. It is unfortunate that reefs around the world are experiencing the stresses of climate change. That is why it is imperative to all of us to do what we can to insure we have as minimal impact on...More

Reviewed October 17, 2018

When we entered the cruise harbor there was a short walk to the meeting point where we was greeted by our driver. When we reached Upachaya Barbara (the owner) was waiting for us. She gave us a great tour of the property and escorted us...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Michael B
Barbara W, Owner at Upachaya, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2018

Thank you for your kind comments. We enjoyed sharing Upachaya with you during your visit to Roatan. Appreciating the pristine condition of the reef, and it's wonders, along with the appreciation for the gardens is what makes this so much fun for me, sharing with...More

Reviewed October 8, 2018

I booked the snorkeling excursion through the Upachaya resort website as I wanted something less touristy and in a better water location than what the cruise ship offered. Barb and her team at Upachaya delivered! Her property is like a tropical rainforest and her location...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Chad N
Barbara W, Owner at Upachaya, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Thank you for your review and your kind words. It was our pleasure to have the three of you join us. We always try our best to provide a true Roatan experience for all that join us here at Upachaya. Please continue to spread the...More

Reviewed May 2, 2018

We had a group of 25 people with us and she accommodated us so we could all go together on our snorkeling trip (some in the pontoons and some in kayaks). The snorkeling was amazing and we were the only people off her beach in...More

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank _bryandkath
Barbara W, Owner at Upachaya, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2018

Kathleen, thank you for choosing to join us here at Upachaya. We enjoyed having your group with us for the day. It's always an extra special day for me when my guests enjoy hearing about my gardens as much as I like talking about them....More

Reviewed April 12, 2018

If you want a cruise ship excusion away from the crowds over a pristine reef, this is the excusion to choose. The directions to meet the driver outside the port entrance were very easy to follow. The ride to the property was a short distance...More

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Scooteepuff
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Snoww W
April 14, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Barbara W | Property representative |
I am so sorry, I just now received this question. Please visit our website at Upachaya and that is where you can book a tour with us. We would welcome having you join us.
0
Votes
brenleelewis
March 12, 2018|
Answer
Response from Barbara W | Property representative |
Thank you for your inquiry. We would welcome having you join us for our snorkel excursion here at Upachaya. The tour is $78.00 per person and includes R/T transportation from your hotel, all snorkel equipment, lunch with... More
0
Votes
andrea a
November 29, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from sailnsun | Reviewed this property |
Yes, there is plenty of time to meet your driver. You walk equivalent to 2 blocks (approx.) through the market area past all the stores, and there are vehicles parked along a roadside. They have a nice air conditioned van or... More
0
Votes