AQ Belize Car Rental

AQ Belize Car Rental, Belize City: Hours, Address, AQ Belize Car Rental Reviews: 4/5

AQ Belize Car Rental
4
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Write a review
About
With years of experience in the transportation industry AQ Belize Car Rental is the leading car rental in Belize! We provide the lowest prices in Belize and have set quality standards in dealing with both individual and business customers. We boast a fleet of over 200 different types of vehicles for your travelling needs. With our qualified and customer friendly staff we aim to provide you with the safest & best driving experience while touring our beautiful country of Belize. Feel safe & secure with our 24 hour road assistance. Let AQ Belize Car Rental take you there!
Suggested duration
More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience AQ Belize Car Rental and nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.0
350 reviews
Excellent
204
Very good
52
Average
18
Poor
18
Terrible
59

John2728
Washington DC, DC152 contributions
Rented a well-used, older model Jeep SUV for three days in July 2022. The car got me around town, and the air conditioner & radio worked. The car had many dings, scrapes, and made odd noises...but didn't break down. And I didn't add any other scratches or dents.
I was frustrated as I had scheduled my reservation online, and planned to return the car to the AQ Office at the Belize City water taxi. When I picked up the car they explained that the water taxi office was closed because of the pandemic...and I'd return the car to their main office (halfway between the airport and the water taxi dock). Maybe they should update their website.
Ultimately I would rent from AQ again....the staff at both the airport and main office were very nice.
Written August 9, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Tyra R
Bend, OR4 contributions
Couples
It started out very good. Looked like good prices and the customer service was spot on. But they gave us an awful car!! Transmission going out, fan belt screeching non stop, no wiper fluid, locks didn't work, door handle broken and falling off and worst of all...the catalytic converter was out. So the entire ride was breathing exhaust fumes if we wanted to use the air vents at all. No attempt from them has been made to either assure me others won't have to drive this car or any amount of refund.
My advice, go in knowing you are getting a discounted rate because you are getting a beat up ride...otherwise, it's not much to go with a bigger company. Which is not a bad idea, considering AQ will not work with your insurance, should anything bad happen. LESSON LEARNED :(
Written June 27, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Jaret M
1 contribution
Friends
I would like to start off by saying I've rented from here several times while traveling to Belize and eveytime I wanted to book a reservation with them I always come back to check reviews first. I would first like to say we've interacted with both offices at the airport and the one on the highway. The staff and customer service they offer is 20/10. The cars on the other hand would be 8/10 but keep in mind in Belize, you do get what pay for. If you go for the cheaper side you'll still get from point A to B just not in the newsest vehicles they have. The customer service is the reason I'm always back. I've never been disrespected or over charged, the agents would always explain in details to customers but alot of people would be in a rush and dont want listen. I've seen it happen while picking up my rental and the same persons would be returning along with me saying things like "you didn't told me that". Guys always ask question and pay attention, as much as you want to leave. But with all that said the experience is always amazing and I would rate AQ as the number one Car Rental affordable and easy to rent. Thank AQ for providing an amazing service to me.
Written June 14, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Clifford Wessot
Clifton Park, NY3 contributions
This was our first visit and we planned to see as much of Belize as possible. After explaining our itinerary to the agent at the desk, we were not informed that the Kia Soul we chose was listed by them “for pavement only” nor were we told of the many dirt roads that exist throughout the country. While traveling up near Corozal, one of the tires had a major blow out. When we called for help, we were unsympathetically told “You have a spare, don’t you?” Well change it.” The spare was a donut, so we were instructed to drive 85 miles back to Belize City for a proper repair. Upon returning to Belize City, we stated our concerns with the car and requested a new vehicle. This was accommodated but at an additional cost. We were dumbfounded that there was no concern for our wellbeing or consideration for our inconvenience. We were told if we didn’t like it, we could write to management and see if THEY would do anything for us. We would have walked out then and rented from another company but, as part of the signed agreement, there would be NO REFUND of money in the event we returned the car early. The second car we rented had muffler problems. Between the poor condition of the vehicles and the callous customer service, we recommend you choose another car rental agency.
Written February 20, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I'm sorry to hear about your difficulties you experienced with us. Customers satisfaction is our #1 priority. We try our best to ensure that our website is user friendly and we update accordingly as we do have some of our rentals that are only for “PAVED ROADS” as stated on our website. Unfortunately, the conditions of the roads throughout Belize can be terrible especially during rainy weather, hence, we ensure that all of our vehicles are fully equipped with spare tire and the tools needed to change the tire in the event our customers experience a flat/blow out due to the road conditions. We do offer 24hrs roadside assistance and we are always more than happy to assist our customers when needed. We value each and every one of our customers safety and well being and we treat them with the utmost respect. We do hope that on your next visit to our beautiful Jewel Belize, we will be able to provide you with a better rental that meets your standards, and that is ideal for your intended destination, and provides you with maximum comfort.
Written March 30, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Karly B
1 contribution
Family
Second time getting a car through this company. First time they did not put the adjusted return time on the paperwork so they tried charging us extra at drop off this time. We booked online because it was about half the price and when we go to pick it up they are giving us issues with our online reservation. Not impressed at all in any way. will not be trying them a third time.
Written July 7, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Rodolfo G
Guatemala City, Guatemala2 contributions
Great service from the staff at the office. I got an email prior to arriving asking about my needs and confirming the rental.
When I made the reservation it did not say that for a rental of 1 day, you needed to purchase more insurance than the CDW I had selected and ended up paying a lot more than what I had seen on the webpage.
The car was old, in poor condition, the check engine light was on since the moment I received it and was told that it would be that way all the time.
It came with an old and dirty rug over the dashboard, the seatbelt had cuts in several places, made all types of noises and it shimmed when braking and I can´t even describe the gas consumption of the car.
Written June 1, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
We thank you for your honest review. We apologize if their was miscommunication when making reservation and for the unfortunate experience you encountered. Here at AQ Belize Car Rental, we pride ourselves with our excellent customer service. Customer’s satisfaction and safety is our #1 priority. We hope you would offer us another opportunity to be of good service to you!
Written June 2, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Troy R
Fort Lauderdale, FL60 contributions
Be aware of how horrible and dishonest AQ Belize is. If you are American, take your business elsewhere. This is the worst rental car experience I have had in my life. We were in Belize for Easter. I booked a rental car for 1 day to go to the zoo a week before I needed it. Through their website I selected a luxury small SUV. They called me 3 days later to confirm, which I did and everything was good to go. They called me the next day saying that since it was Easter Weekend I would need to increase my rental to 3 days as that was the minimum. I said that no, I had rented it just for a day and I expected them to make good on the reservation I made and that they had confirmed the day before.
When I arrived, they gave me a hard, said it was required I pay for every insurance and coverage they had, that it was not optional since it was Easter weekend. And the worse part, that my car would be a beat up old Honda Pilot that had over 200,000 miles on it and just beat to hell. I could not believe the treatment and the extortion. I had my wife and daughter with me, and we needed the car, so I had no choice as there were no other cars. I will share pictures of my booking, my receipt (which even confirms I did not choose all the coverages), and more importantly pictures of the car. Which incidentally several times we felt would not make it back to the Rental Car company leaving us stranded somewhere in Belize.
To boot, since it was Easter not one thing was open, the Zoo which was the main reason for needing a car was closed as was all shopping. You will see on the receipt they listed the Zoo on the receipt knowing full well it would be closed that day. (I will own the Zoo thing since I did not double check, just confirms all they wanted was the rental and revenue as anyone else would have said, "hey the zoo is closed today"). Overall they were horrible and I highly recommend no one rent from these guys.
Written April 24, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. At AQ Belize Car Rental, we pride ourselves by providing excellent customer service and customer’s satisfaction and safety is our #1 priority. I did review your reservation and it seems you book a high clearance vehicle and not a luxury car. I do apologize for the inconvenience that may have been caused with your rental reservation. We were completely booked out for the entire Easter Weekend and we tried our best to accommodate our customers during this peak season. We do contact our customers via phone call prior to their pick up dates, but sometimes we are unsuccessful, a follow up email and/or WhatsApp is sent to customers for confirmation. Unfortunately, because we were overbooked during the entire Easter Holidays, we were not doing any one day rentals hence we contacted you. We only had a Honda Element available at the time which was offered to you. I must add that AQ Belize Car Rental does not extort customers in any form, hence we provide the customers with a copy of the contract detailing the charges. Most businesses remains open during the Easter weekend; however, on Good Friday most business closed on this day, ourselves were not aware that the Belize Zoo would be closed had we known we would have definitely informed you. It is good to know that you made it back safe with the rental as we would never rent our customers a rental vehicle that is not road worthy and in the event you had a breakdown, we do offer 24 hours road side assistance country wide. I do hope that you give us the opportunity to make this up to you and be of good service to you in the near future. Once again, my humble apologies for the inconveniences.
Written May 6, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Carlos Andrés M
9 contributions
This is the worst service I have ever had with a car. I have been travelling around the world, renting cars in Europe and Africa and I have never faced issues like this one. I reserved a Chevrolet SUV, and I received at the place a GMC Terrain. In our first day it was loosing power over 5.000 rpm, not a big problem, but not nice. The second day afternoon was not turning on. After 1 hour and half it turned on, but was the point when the problems started. We were travelling in the night because the delay produced by the start system, and the car was loosing often all the power. The speed and rpm nadels were coming to 0 suddenly, and the car was trying to turn off. The console of the car was going off eventually, and also the headlights were turning off. At our arrival to Placencia they "solved" the issue changing our for a Toyota Scion. This car was clearly our the tier we were renting, in spite of us and due to the time restrictions you have when traveling we took it. Was not worst but a bad experience. The A/C was not working full time, the car was bad align, all the trip fighting to control the driving wheel, and the puncture icon was on for all the trip, but the tires were ok. In resume, I dont recommend this agency at any moment, look for a bus if the big players have their cars in use
Written April 21, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We greatly appreciate your feedback as it helps us to improve the quality of service that we aim to provide to our valued customers. We strive for 100% customer service and satisfaction. After inspecting the rental that you were on, we found out that it was loosing power due to the alternator not charging, causing a low voltage eventually causing malfunction of most of the electrical components of the rental. Our rentals are inspected and maintained on a regular basis, and there will be times when a vehicle may experience mechanical, electrical or even AC issues, which will be beyond our control. The GMC Terrain that you were on is one of our most popular rentals and it was a shock to us that you had experienced these issues. Unfortunately, due the peak season for the Easter Holiday, we had no immediate rentals similar to what you had booked available at the time as we were overbooked. Our sister branch in Placencia only had 2 rentals available at the time and the scion was the only next option that you had agreed with. Once again our deepest apologies for the inconvenience and the frustration this may have caused and we hope that you give us an opportunity to make it up to you. We do hope that on your next visit to our beautiful Jewel Belize, we will be able to provide you with a better rental that meets your standards, and that is ideal for your intended destination, and provides you with maximum comfort.
Written April 22, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

dreamz614
Anderson, SC6 contributions
Family
They are paying for reviews first of all. They tell clients if you leave a good review we will discount your services. I heard them say that to a client who was ahead of us. Our car was garbage. It was damaged on the interior like torn seats, chipped dashboard and the tent on the windows were bubbling and peeling off. The airbags were not working. It was unsatisfactory all around ; then they charged us a service fee and the vehicle looked like it did . Why am I paying a service fee that wasn’t disclosed during the signing of my contract. I was under the impression that since it was included when I booked it wouldn’t be included again. Scam artist . My husband told them how bad the vehicle was and they did nothing. I normally don’t mind supporting local companies but the car rental places here are sketchy. Stick with the big box names if you can . If not just go to Crystal’s
Written July 1, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

AnZiNoV
Northern Virginia, VA4 contributions
Booked a car on their website for a day, got confirmation email that it is USD$57. When I pick it up they charge USD$120, because for short term (less than 3 days) they require all insurance coverage. Their website in the fine print says only CDW is mandatory ($27), though allows you to not select it, but in person they require to have 5 other insurances as well for another $30+. They refuse to let me speak to the manager. And for all this money they give a car that looks and smells as if it was just salvaged from a junk yard.
Written January 3, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
I'm sorry to hear you had a frustrating experience with us, and I really appreciate you bringing this issue to my attention. We try our best to ensure that our website is clear and user friendly to ensure that our customers booking and pricing is transparent. It sounds like you did a one day booking with no insurance coverages inclusive of service fee and GST. Our website does states that you cannot decline our CDW for rentals less than 3 days. Our add-ons coverages are optional and not mandatory. I am truly sorry if you felt that you were being pressured to take the additional coverages. Our rentals are maintained and detailed thoroughly before going out on rental, had you brought the foul smell to our attention, we would have been more than happy to swap you to another rental. Please feel free to contact the manage directly at info@aqbelizecarrental.com if you have any further queries. I do hope that you give us a second chance to be of good service to you and you family.
Written March 30, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 345
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about AQ Belize Car Rental

AQ Belize Car Rental is open:
  • Sun - Sat 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM


Restaurants near AQ Belize Car Rental: View all restaurants near AQ Belize Car Rental on Tripadvisor