We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About Catalina Adventure Tours
Catalina Adventure Tours - The best Catalina Island Adventure experience! Catalina Adventure tours have been catering to tourists from around the world for over 20 years. Catalina Adventure Tours features the best Catalina Island packages including the glass bottom boat, nautilus submarine, seal rocks explorer, guided Catalina city/botanical garden tours, and guided wild life tours featuring the exotic wild Buffalo roaming Catalina Island. Our tours will make any Catalina Island vacation a memorable experience for everyone.
Read more
Open Now
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Catalina Adventure Tours
Overview
Explore the pristine interior of Catalina Island on a 2.5-hour tour in a rugged open-air vehicle. From your seat in the high truck bed, get great views of the coast, canyons, isolated coves and beaches, and valleys where wild bison roam freely as your guide provides commentary about the native plants, animals, and landscape of Catalina Island. Keep your camera handy for sightings of wild boar, bison, Channel Island fox, and bald eagles during this backcountry tour.
160Reviews3Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 62
  • 39
  • 25
  • 15
  • 19
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Greg K wrote a review Oct 2020
Dublin, Ireland25 contributions26 helpful votes
Aside from a few scenic points the tour didn't have much going for it. It's just an hour tour to a small airport and an hour back to Avalon. The tour also was dangerously packed in terms of covid considerations. People were just sardined into the back of the truck without any distancing, hand sanitiser or emphasis on masks. Additionally the tour truck must be poorly built as it shook even on the flat paved Avalon roads. The tour guide Amran was unpleasant from the beginning. The company did not provide a ticket and stated on the email it was not necessary to print the receipt. I was one of the first people to show up on time. He insisted that I needed to show some kind of receipt. Most good tours just need a passenger name. That stunt cost him gratuity and the company points here. Alright, so he finally relented. I'd say he had just an average knowledge of Catalina. Nothing impressive. It's also misleading that a picture of a fox is prominently shown on their site. You will not see one. We didn't even see a bison. The cafe and giftshop at the store sell bison meat which is kind of like saying well you won't see one but you can eat one. Felt tacky. Also a back and forth trip to an airport didn't justify the pricetag for two people. I heard other guests complaining amongst themselves too. Shameless tourist trap. Avoid.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from CaptStickler, Manager at Catalina Adventure Tours
Responded Oct 17, 2020
Hello. I apologize that this tour did not meet your expectations. Please email us at info@catalinaadventuretours.com so that we can work to correct some of the items you mentioned above. Thank you
Read more
Adele S wrote a review Sep 2020
San Diego6 contributions2 helpful votes
Our driver knew very little about the island and vegetation. He talked to the group like we were college drinking buddies. There were 4 in our group and we were all disappointed. One person had taken the jeep tour a couple of years ago and loved it. Their driver was very knowledgeable and professional. Skip this one, not work the money, the ride was horribly bumpy and tour guide/driver very unprofessional.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from CaptStickler, Manager at Catalina Adventure Tours
Responded Oct 17, 2020
Hello. I apologize that this tour did not meet your expectations. Please email us at info@catalinaadventuretours.com so that we can work to correct some of the items you mentioned above. Thank you
Read more
Pam K wrote a review Sep 2020
Rancho Santa Margarita, California17 contributions5 helpful votes
Fun time, especially with kids! You get to see fish right up close at the large porthole windows. The best part was getting to feed them with "food torpedos" which draws tons of fish to your window but you pay extra. Luckily we had cash on us in the boat (I rarely do), as their card reader was down, and my kids would've been quite upset to have missed that They really should let you know at check in so you can hit the ATM if needed.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
emquin8 wrote a review Sep 2020
Riverside, California25 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Our guide was knowledgeable on the history of Catalina and was funny with the information. He was able to spot the wildlife far better than any of us on the tour which was a nice experience.the road is like offloading bumpy. 😊
Read more
Helpful
Share
Pamela V wrote a review Jul 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We had a fabulous time. Fun for all ages. A must do excursion. We loved seeing all the marine life😊
Read more
Date of experience: July 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous