We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Big Bus Tours

Is this your business?
Washington DC, DC 20002-4214
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The open-top deck of a Big Bus tour is the best way to see Washington DC. Sit back and relax as you are transported passed the iconic landmarks that make America's Capital so recognizable and special. Our sightseeing tours are designed to provide a flexible approach to city discovery. Your hop-on, hop-off ticket provides you the freedom to get off the bus to explore and visit attractions. Buses run regularly so re-joining the tour is easy.
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good22%
  • Average11%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible14%
Travelers talk about
“night tour” (1,203 reviews)
“tour guide” (500 reviews)
“tom thompson” (78 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM, 6:00 PM - 6:30 PM
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
Washington DC, DC 20002-4214
Write a ReviewReviews (5,122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"night tour"
in 1,203 reviews
"tour guide"
in 500 reviews
"tom thompson"
in 78 reviews
"red loop"
in 102 reviews
"hop on hop"
in 265 reviews
"day pass"
in 212 reviews
"different routes"
in 46 reviews
"top deck"
in 92 reviews
"wax museum"
in 97 reviews
"bus driver"
in 104 reviews
"lincoln memorial"
in 272 reviews
"great tour"
in 183 reviews
"white house"
in 178 reviews
"national mall"
in 51 reviews
"sights"
in 494 reviews
"peachy"
in 73 reviews
"narrator"
in 74 reviews
Filter

891 - 900 of 4,660 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2017 via mobile

Girls trip to DC & took this tour. There were 4 of us & the feature of being able to get on and off the bus with several pick up and drop off locations, it was a great way to see the city and all...More

Thank Dawnabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2017

I will start by stating that I have taken Big Bus Tours in San Francisco and NYC and 100% enjoyed my experience with them in these cities. So I was excited to, hands down, plan my one day of free time touring the sites of...More

Thank joelriveranow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, Manager at Big Bus Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2017

Hi Joel, thank you for reaching out to us directly. Please accept our sincerest apologies for having not replied earlier. We are happy to know the team is now assisting you with your email. Should you need any further assistance, please feel free to contact...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2017 via mobile

The tour was fine, bus was fun. The guides were all good and hard working. However, there were a lot of delays. If you have plans hopping off and on isnt easy. We wasted over 30 minutes multiple times waiting. It would be nice if...More

Thank Michelle U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, Manager at Big Bus Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience and feedback with us. We are currently working on updating our free mobile phone app to include bus locations and approximate arrival times. Should you have additional feedback, please email us at infodc@bigbustours.com. Your feedback is very important to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2017

We bought the 2 day tour and went on the night tour, which was great! We got some awesome shots that we wouldn't have otherwise. Seeing the Lincoln Memorial lit up was amazing. They took us straight to all the highlights. Most of the guides...More

2  Thank pomaijensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, Manager at Big Bus Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience with us an the TripAdvisor community! We are delighted to read you enjoyed your tours with us and our team members.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2017 via mobile

Tour guide (Wayne) was very informative. If you're pressed for time, this is a good way to see D.C. Was well worth the 39.00 per person..

Thank mikey f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, Manager at Big Bus Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Thank you for the review, Mikey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2017 via mobile

Big Bus Tours in DC does all that it should by providing stops to all the big-name places. The tour guides certainly were knowledgeable. The buses were very clean and provided headphones and rain ponchos free of charge. Unfortunately, DC is so big that hopping...More

Thank Spaek68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, Manager at Big Bus Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for recommending us to the rest of the TripAdvisor community.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2017 via mobile

I visited Washington DC with my two kids ages 7 and 10 and using Big Bus Tours was the best decision I made! All the staff was helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. We sat up top almost every time even in the rain. I did the...More

2  Thank rissa_c5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, Manager at Big Bus Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad you and your children enjoyed the tours!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2017 via mobile

Been waiting for a bus for over 30 minutes. At least 3 buses have passed of their competitors and Still no big bus. Their night tour was horrible as well. Buses not comfortable and you can smell the exhaust smoke inside. It was so cold...More

Thank Janice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, Manager at Big Bus Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

We are sorry you experienced unsatisfactory conditions while aboard a Big Bus on your recent trip and would be interested to learn more details about your experience. Should you wish to share more details with us, please email us at infodc@bigbustours.com so we can look...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2017 via mobile

My sister and I opted for the two day package because it included three separate routes plus the night tour-the latter being a must. The red route is also a must. We took the blue route today which goes into Virginia. We chose to sit...More

1  Thank Marcia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, Manager at Big Bus Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, Marcia. We are sorry to read you were unable to ride all the loops on account of the rain, however, we are glad to hear you enjoyed the tours you went on. Should you have any additional...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2017 via mobile

We purchased and they advertised that the red line runs every 15 minutes. We waited over an hour at the Lincoln Memorial for the red line, which completely messed up our ability to see everything. I will never use them again. I don't have time...More

1  Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, Manager at Big Bus Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

We are sorry to hear you experienced longer than advertised wait times on your recent sightseeing tour with us. While our Red Loop tours depart Union Station every 15-20 minutes, they may get delayed while on tour due to traffic and other factors. We sincerely...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 142 hotels in Washington DC
Phoenix Park Hotel
457 reviews
.17 miles away
Kimpton George Hotel
2,231 reviews
.19 miles away
Washington Court Hotel
1,510 reviews
.26 miles away
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
818 reviews
.27 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Bistro Bis
829 reviews
.19 miles away
Union Station
465 reviews
.03 miles away
Ebenezers Coffeehouse
87 reviews
.16 miles away
The Monocle
157 reviews
.16 miles away
Nearby Attractions
United States Botanic Garden
2,386 reviews
.40 miles away
National Postal Museum
897 reviews
.11 miles away
Union Station
1,983 reviews
.05 miles away
National Japanese American Memorial
58 reviews
.31 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Melissa A
April 6, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Brian C | Property representative |
Thank you for your interest, Melissa. Our stop #1 is at Union Station and the first bus departs at 9:00 am, however, you may start your touring experience at any of our 40+ stops and anytime after 9:00 am. Our buses... More
1
Vote
Annelise L
March 11, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Tony S | Property representative |
Hello, On our day tour hop on, hop off, there is a pre-recorded Spanish commentary.
0
Votes
Leti S
March 6, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from nahilisabtu | Reviewed this property |
Yes. You should be able too. Saw there are space for you to put it in the first deck of the double decker bus.
1
Vote