We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Big Bus Tours

Washington DC, DC, USA
More
About Big Bus Tours
The open-top deck of a Big Bus tour is the best way to see Washington DC. Sit back and relax as you are transported passed the iconic landmarks that make America's Capital so recognizable and special. Our sightseeing tours are designed to provide a flexible approach to city discovery. Your hop-on, hop-off ticket provides you the freedom to get off the bus to explore and visit attractions. Buses run regularly so re-joining the tour is easy. Purchase a combo ticket to experience the Nation's Capital at night. The Night Tour and the day time hop-on, hop-off are two different experiences as the Night Tour incorporates photo stops and expands our reach into Arlington, VA and Georgetown.
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Big Bus Tours

Big Bus Washington DC Open Top Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

This Washington, D.C., bus tour is an affordable way to plan a day or two of sightseeing in the US capital. Instead of figuring out routes between main attractions, such as the White House and Arlington National Cemetery, book a bus tour with two routes. Move through D.C. at your own pace and stop at the sights that interest you.The 2-day Deluxe option includes a Night Tour.
Read more
60 to 90 minutes
from $44.10

Big Bus Washington DC Night Tour

Washington DC transforms at night when its national monuments and memorials are illuminated. Avoid the hassle of navigating the city in the dark with this convenient 2-hour bus tour. The top deck will provide sweeping views that you wouldn’t be able to see on foot, and on-board commentary will give you context as you pass each landmark.
Read more
1 hour 30 minutes
from $49.00
6710Reviews69Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 2,792
  • 1,461
  • 717
  • 683
  • 1,058
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Linda W wrote a review Yesterday
Tempe, Arizona5 contributions
The nite tour started at 7 way too early to be night. It was only in the last half hour was it dark. We missed several monuments....the White House, the backside of the Capitol for example. When tour was finished we were dropped off at the Spy Museum which is not close to anything. No taxis anywhere and had to call Lyft and wait. Did not feel safe. For the price next time I'll rent a driver and do it.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2021
Helpful
Share
betsycamizzi wrote a review Jul 20
Layton, Florida1 contribution
We had a wonderful time. Although some of the stops were a little hard to find, we loved the bus tour. Very informative. Worth the money!!
Read more
Helpful
Share
travelssavvy wrote a review Jul 19
Knoxville, Tennessee1 contribution
Don't waste your money. We drove by Arlington Cemetery, the capital, and stopped at the lincoln memorial. That's it! We sat on top of the bus and had to constantly duck to keep from getting hit by tree limbs. The pre-recorded audio kept repeating the same thing over and over.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2021
Helpful
Share
Erin L wrote a review Jul 17
1 contribution
The a/c was out on the day trip, the gps was not working for select buses and they did not run on schedule, and the staff was ridiculously rude. The female attendant for the night trip decided to cancel the trip for a line full of remaining paid passenger with two empty buses remaining because she unilaterally determined she didn’t want to send a bus 2/3rds full. The staff were rude and confrontational. The phone line doesn’t even go anywhere, it is a conference line. Don’t waste your time, money, and energy on a company this poor - Please go to Old Town Trolley.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from BigBusToursUSA, General Manager at Big Bus Tours
Responded 1 week ago
We apologize for your experience. We are an open top company. The tour is best experienced from the top of the bus. We do not guarantee A/C as our fleet is mixed. Additionally, the Night Tour was not cancelled. Your information is not accurate. Our attendants do not have the authority to unilaterally cancel tours. We sent out close to 200 persons on the night tour. We endeavor to leave on time at 7pm. That’s why we begin boarding at 6:15pm. If you want to make the tour please make sure to be early. Thank you for leaving your comment. Please try us again.
Read more
Kingfisher752 wrote a review Jul 16
Estero, Florida77 contributions84 helpful votes
This should have been a very good tour-unfortunately, it was not. Despite heat in the mid 90's, there was no air conditioning. The taped narrative stopped about half way through the tour. There is no stop within easy reach of the Jefferson memorial-walking there from the Lincoln memorial stop is pretty rough on a hot July day.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from BigBusToursUSA, General Manager at Big Bus Tours
Responded 1 week ago
Yes, DC summers can be very tough. We are however an open-top tour bus company. The only one in DC. That being the case, we understand that while we have the benefit of a smaller, sometimes non-air conditioned lower level, the tour is best experienced in the openness of our safe two-story open top. The closest stop to Jefferson would have been either bus stops 2 or 3. By downloading and using our Big Bus Tours app, you can plot your day, view the bus stops, and see the buses in real-time. Sorry for your experience. Please visit again when weather conditions are favorable.
Read more
Previous
123456