The Boomerang Party Yacht
About
Come soak up the sun, watch the sunset, or dance the night away with a Potomac River cruise on our double-decker, 74 passenger Boomerang Party Yacht! Enjoy great DJs, a friendly crew, a full bar & dance floor, & views of DC's best monuments & memorials. Don't be the last one caught on dry land when the party ships out!
Washington DC, District of Columbia

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
The Boomerang Party Yacht
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor
Want other options you can book now?
Show options
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

4.0
32 reviews
Excellent
18
Very good
4
Average
6
Poor
3
Terrible
1

Tagtme26
Columbia City, IN189 contributions
Sep 2017 • Friends
It is very much a party so it lives up to its name. We had a great time looking at the monuments from the water. We went in the evening and the weather wasn't great but we didn't let it ruin our fun. The drinks were cheap and our tickets were only $30
Written September 2, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thanks for the awesome review! We're thrilled you had such a great time and didn't let the weather spoil your fun. Please come see us again soon!
Written June 26, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Matthew M
1 contribution
Jul 2016 • Friends
Wondering what to do when you have friends in town?? Boomerang Cruises! After a day of museums, and typical D.C. attractions, treat yourself! Last trip my friends had the best time enjoying cocktails, music, and an awesome view on the Potomac. Don't forget to ask the bartenders about the "Shot Ski!" It is a game changer. Thank me later, mic drop.
Written July 8, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Haha we love this review Matthew! Thank you so much. Glad you enjoyed the cruise and most importantly, the shot ski!
Written June 27, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jill R
New York City, NY103 contributions
Jan 2016 • Friends
I had a fabulous time on the Boomerang Party Yacht for new year's eve.
They really gave detailed instructions on how to find the dock and when you needed to be there. they were very organized in getting everyone on board and checking us in.

Once on the boat, we were able to hang our coats and go straight to the open bar!
I would call this a "no frills" party boat since it was really just a floating indoor dance floor with 2 bathrooms and an upstairs to lounge on, which most people stayed away from due to the cold.

Even though it was no frills it was still a great deal with the open bar and snacks.
Snacks were pringles, doritos, peanuts and combos, perfect for those partaking in the open bar :)

the bartenders were SUPER friendly and never felt like I was in line for a drink more than 2 minutes.

Highly recommend this experience
Written January 4, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

stuart-mndckl
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia51 contributions
Jun 2017 • Friends
This review might be unfair... because I didn't know what I was getting into when I was invited on a Potomac River cruise. I didn't know it would be on a "party yacht!"

If you invite your parents (!!!) to join you, please let them know this experience is for people who mainly want to get drunk, who enjoy extremely loud music, and who don't mind the pervasive smell of diesel fuel.

The rooftop area has wonderful views, but it is completely open to the hot sun and is not escape an escape from the blaring music. If you want to be out of the sun, you can sit in the downstairs covered area, where the music is even louder and drunk dancers dominate.

I'm sure many people would enjoy this scene.(I didn't!) The boat was very clean and obviously well run with great staff. But before you book, know that Boomerang cruises are not for everyone!
Written June 11, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for the review Stuart. We imagine that was quite the shock for you and your parents if you didn't previously know what the party yacht was all about! We're happy you enjoyed the views and we hope you'll join us again if you're ever in the "party" mood. ;)
Written June 27, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

TimmmahG
Arlington, VA18 contributions
Jul 2019 • Friends
This is exactly what Boomerang advertises—a party boat. We decided to give it a try at 8 PM on a Saturday night. It did not disappoint, unless of course, you’d like to actually hear anything anyone has to say. It’s too loud up top—offensively loud. Don’t think that you’re going for a peaceful sunset cruise. This isn’t the boat for that.

Boomerang advertises that the lower deck (the dance floor and bar) is air conditioned. Don’t count on feeling cool, because it ain’t! It was a VERY hot July day and by 8 PM it was still 90 degrees, so take that into account.

On the positive side, the crew was great. Professional, courteous, and friendly. Hats off to them, really! Drinks didn’t cost more than they’d cost in any DC bar, and the bartenders were great!

If you want to go for a crowded, loud boat ride while knocking down a few cocktails, do it. If you’re looking for a more peaceful, personalized sunset cruise, definitely skip this one.

Written July 15, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

LeadMare
Keystone Heights, FL108 contributions
Mar 2019 • Couples
Girlfriend and I tried this during a long weekend visit to see the Cherry Blossoms. Fortunately we found a huge discount (more than half off) otherwise this would have been very disappointing. It's basically a cattle car where seating is difficult to secure unless you're towards the front of the line. No narration or interaction with the staff. Just basically a quick shot down the river to turn around near the Tidal Basin and then back to the dock.

Some folks complain about the music but it was barely noticeable. The drinks were pretty weak (couldn't even detect booze in the screwdriver) and the views were nothing special.
Written April 9, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Mikhail K
3 contributions
Sep 2018
This is a PARTY YACHT, so if you are ready for a bunch of dancing somewhat inebriated folks, go for it. It is not an easy going cruise down Potomac river. Drinks are simple and not cheap, and music is LOUD.
Written February 28, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Krislyn23
51 contributions
Sep 2016 • Business
Went on a beautufil sunset cruise for a fundraiser. See the National Mall from the Potomac at night was stunning. The crew members were polite and courteous. Boat docked with a large party group before our group and you would never have none there was another group on 5 minutes before because the boat was spotless.
Written September 10, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your kind review Krislyn! We're thrilled you had such a fun time. The sunset tours are some of our favorite...nothing beats that view. We hope you can join us again sometime.
Written June 27, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Botte515
Branchburg, NJ168 contributions
Jul 2016 • Friends
Took the 7:30 cruise on Saturday night. Went on reluctantly, came back enthusiastically. What a great time. The views are gorgeous from the top party deck of the boat. The DJ pulls the strings making the young trendy crowd dance and sing as the sun sets on DC. The bartenders are quick, personable and down to pour you shots and take your pics. Had a great time. We'll well worth it.
Written July 4, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Ames
Washington DC, DC1 contribution
Apr 2015 • Friends
This is the worst $60 I have ever spent. We stood on the pier for 35 minutes past our boarding time and our tour lasted less than 30. The boat crew said its due to the previous boat loading and unloading passengers due to the low water however I'm not sure how that means anything to the customers who paid for an HOUR CHERRY BLOSSOM boat tour. To be said, even though the blossoms were not out yet, we didn't even go to the center of the event which is the tidal basin. The boat went about 800 feet from the 395 bridge and turned around back to Goergetown. It took us longer to get out of the boat than the actual tour. I plan on posting this exact review on every known DC and social media website for Boomerang Yacht. Because that's exactly what happened. The boomerang went out to nowhere and came right back. Totally not worth your money, better spent on gas money to drive down George Washington Parkway.
Written April 4, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Amy, We appreciate your feedback from the cruise this past Saturday. We were on the dock as well, and we witnessed the fact that your cruise was only 30 minutes in length. May we first begin with an apology! As you saw, the river was historically low, and the weather incredibly windy, which caused the boarding / disembarking process to take triple the time, for every boat company cruising this past Saturday. We all tried our best to stick to a schedule, but this proved to be too difficult as the day progressed. This is not the norm for any boat companies that board in Georgetown, and every passenger experienced similar conditions. We tried to talk to as many passengers as possible when your cruise returned since you did not experience what you paid for.. You might remember me, as I was the one who checked you in on Saturday- wearing the captain's hat. I may have been talking with a fellow passenger when you disembarked and I am sorry that I missed you. Please contact us at info@ridetheboomerang.com at your convenience so that we can make this right. Best, Nikki
Written April 6, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 32

The Boomerang Party Yacht (Washington DC) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go