Chariots for Hire Tours
Chariots for Hire Tours
4.5
City ToursHistorical & Heritage ToursNight Tours
About
Chariots For Hire Tours offers DAILY professionally guided tours of Washington, DC as well as Arlington Cemetery. Visit all the iconic monuments and memorials that our great city has to offer! If you would like a private tour with just your group or family, we have a variety of vehicle options for you.
Washington DC, District of Columbia

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.


4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles67 reviews
Excellent
48
Very good
11
Average
4
Poor
0
Terrible
4

Pamela L
Winnipeg, Canada437 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2014 • Couples
We only had one night to see as much as we could, so we opted for the DC@Night Tour from 6:30 - 10:00 p.m. It was fantastic! Thomas and Mike were our driver and guide. They were filled with loads of interesting history and fun fact tidbits. They were funny, knowledgeable, and patient. They were both very sensitive to slow walkers like me! The city is beautiful all lit up, and this tour is the perfect balance of riding and walking. So much to see! So much history and promise in Washington DC. This tour was perfect! We HIGHLY recommend it!
Written March 25, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

David R
Milwaukee, WI111 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2015 • Couples
We took the night tour, but it started at 7 PM. It does not get dark until after 8, so the first 2 or 3 stops are not really at night. The driver was nice, and the tour guide was great, funny and knowledgeable. The tour seemed somewhat rushed until the Lincoln Memorial. I would suggest that the tour start an hour later. Check out Groupon for discounts!
Written May 17, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Connector313753
13 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2019 • Friends
I rented the 12-person party van (Mercedes Sprinter) for my daughter’s 18th birthday. The price was reasonable I thought and the driver — Mr. Tracy—made the tour of the monuments very fun for the kids. After 3 hours he dropped them off at a concert and the teens said later that the tour was the best part of the evening. I highly recommend.
Written July 13, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Marley K
6 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2023 • Friends
Booked a six-hour, 22 person van tour of a few breweries in Gaithersburg, MD. We were due back at 6:00pm and left the final brewery at 5:10PM since the GPS said the ride back would take roughly 50 minutes. Because of some pretty shocking traffic the driver ended up taking an alternate route to get us back. It ended up taking us 1 hr and 20 minutes to get back. Surprisingly, I woke up the next morning to an $80 late fee. I called to try and explain the crazy traffic and route situation thinking it was simply a misunderstanding but the customer service refused to budge. Truly shocking that they would nickel and dime a customer who had just paid over $1,000 including tip. You would have had a returning customer but you have lost my business. I hope the extra $80 was worth it!
Written December 5, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Mary H
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021 • Friends
The company was 45 minutes late and blamed it on DC traffic, they should know. The driver didn’t know how to turn off the heat, we figured it out. The directions he was taking were inadequate and slow. He didn’t want to pay tolls. The company did not respond to me when i told them “first” before writing a review. So don’t use them. We were 45 minutes late for a rehearsal dinner with the bride and groom and 18 others ! Embarrassing
Written June 11, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

wcb703
Chantilly, VA9 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2019
Buyer beware. Allow me to share a recent experience with Chariots For Hire. Several weeks ago we booked a large bus with Chariots For Hire for a concert at Jiffy Lube Live. A deposit of $225 was required. As the concert approached, it was apparent that we didn't need such a large bus so we contacted Chariots For Hire and asked if we could reserve a smaller bus. After some negotiation, the salesperson agreed to cancel our reservation and booked us into a smaller bus. We received emails confirming both the cancellation and the new reservation for the smaller bus. Well, on the day of the concert, the 12 of us were left stranded when the bus never showed up. We immediately contacted the company and were told that our reservation was canceled. Full disclosure, they offered to try to send another bus, but they were already 30 minutes late and another bus would not have not have arrived in time to get to the concert. Despite our pleas, Chariots For Hire has refused to refund our deposit, claiming that we canceled the second reservation. We shared the email reservation confirmation clearly showing the new reservation; however, they claim that we canceled a second time. This is simply a lie. Note again that we received an email confirmation of our first cancellation. We never received an email confirming the alleged second cancellation and they have no record of ever sending a second cancellation confirmation. According to the email response from Chariots for Hire, "there is no evidence one way or the other so what do you want to do." Are you kidding me? I repeat, we have an email from Chariots For Hire confirming our reservation (See below). They never showed up. Basically, they f'd up and refuse to refund our deposit. Moreover, of the multiple people we've spoken to at Chariots for Hire about this issue, NOT ONE HAS OFFERED AN APOLOGY. I should also mention that we are repeat customers. Who conducts business this way? I'll be doing business elsewhere in the future.
Written September 3, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

JosephAandFionaS
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2019 • Friends
Rented an 8 passenger limo for a bachelorette VA winery tour. Driver Robert was very friendly and a good sport taking group photos at every winery we visited. Limo stocked with plenty of water and we were able to control the sound system to play all of the bachelorette's favorite tunes. Everyone in our group told me that the limo was the best part of the day. Would definitely use Chariots For Hire in the future. Booked car service for Arlington for a later date which I will write a separate review for.
Written May 5, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

C Lewis
Greensboro, NC4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2016 • Business
I have been to DC several times, but this time was the most memorable visit by far. My best friend and I decided to take the DC Night Tour from the Gaylord Hotel and little did we know, we would return way more knowledgeable than when we left. Our tour guide, Christopher, was so professional and extremely knowledgeable. He was just a wealth of information. Christopher made the tour fun and interesting at the same time. I also loved how he would periodically stop and count to ensure that everyone was there. Lastly, I can't leave out our driver, Jessie. He too was very professional and punctual. The two of them really had a lot of enthusiasm and appeared to love what they do. I would definitely recommend this tour to others visiting the area.
Written February 4, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

twn030577
Stafford, VA67 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2015 • Couples
I was able to book this tour via an online deal and feel I was able to get more than my monies worth! Jenna our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable about Washington DC and all things historic. I am a VA native and decided to take the tour with a friend visiting from out of state. This was an excellent idea. They offer various tours but we opted for the 3 hour night bus tour. I have seen many of the monuments several times but never at night when they're all lit. This was extremely beautiful. The bus was a small chartered van/bus which seated up to possibly 15. I felt this made things better as we were able to get in around more easily with a small group. Jenna took us by all of the monuments and gave us detailed history about each site and the city. Our tour left from the Gaylord National and returned there. I would definitely do this tour again and try their other offerings.
Written July 27, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Pamela C
Fort Worth, TX16 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2015 • Couples
This tour is not glamorous, flashy, or high end by any means. The bus is not great for sightseeing, however out Tour Guide AMY, was just incredible. She was super charismatic, intelligent, and LOVES what she does. She knew everything about DC art, history, politics, architecture, and all the cool little stories no one knows. She researches and reads everything, she does not make stuff up, She is incredible and a fantastic guide through the city. What a fun, great, educational tour.
Written April 10, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 67

Chariots for Hire Tours - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Washington DC HotelsWashington DC Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Washington DC
All things to do in Washington DC
RestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars