International Spy Museum
International Spy Museum
4
9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
About
View the interactive exhibitions and installations, and learn about the role and techniques of espionage throughout history at the International Spy Museum. The brand-new facility houses the largest collection of spy artifacts in the world, as well as first-person accounts from top intelligence officers and experts. Here, children and grown-ups alike can embark on an immersive mission and step into the shoes of a spy. Before you leave, check out the gift shop's offbeat souvenirs. The museum is open every day of the week and can be easily reached with the DC Metro. You can get timed tickets online. – Tripadvisor
Duration: 2-3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

Top ways to experience International Spy Museum and nearby attractions

The area
Address
Neighborhood: Downtown
How to get there
  • L'Enfant Plaza • 6 min walk
  • Smithsonian • 6 min walk
Reach out directly
See what travelers are saying
  • NurseK12
    100 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Interactive…add this to your list!
    Self paced tour average 2-2 1/2 hrs… we took 4 hrs & couldn’t believe it. Very interactive, well laid out. Best museum I’ve seen in a while. A little tricky to find after exiting L’Enfant metro stop but close.
    Hello Agent! We're so glad you enjoyed your visit to the International Spy Museum! With over 1,000 artifacts on display, it's easy to spend hours inside the Museum, but we typically recommend about 2-3 hours inside on your self guided tour. The Museum is placed right above L'Enfant plaza, so we are within walking distance of the metro stop as well! Thanks for Spying on us! Guest Services International Spy Museum 202.393.7798 guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org
    Written July 23, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written July 2, 2023
  • Southwest_Gaucho
    Lake Havasu City, Arizona1,232 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    A must stop museum in DC
    Outstanding visit to the International Spy Museum and highly suggested. Although I gave a 5 rating, it's not perfect. Tickets should be purchased online beforehand to ensure you or your party get in the day and time you wish to go. I understand this is a private museum and there is a charge to get in, but why not make all ticket prices the same instead of charging low, medium, or high rates based on visitation days? The cost is a few dollars more per ticket so why not just go with one price? Especially during the summer when ticket prices are basically always on the high end? Staff was courteous and the tour starts with everyone going to the upper floor and getting a secret identity and mission. The mission was nice, however, as others have said, I more or less stopped with my mission about halfway through as it was almost impossible to get on a touchscreen to complete tasks due to the amount of visitors. Maybe they could develop an app that would do the same thing so you wouldn't have to wait? I did here a docent at one point state that you didn't have to use a touchscreen in each area as you leave and could catch up at a station later on in an area not a s busy. Wish they had said something about that to help keep the people flow going. Displays were done very well and the information was great. Spent 3-4 hours here which was longer than expected. If you plan on going then make sure you eat beforehand as there is no food allowed in the museum so you'll have to power through the lunch hour if you get hungry. Amazing to see some of the items from the early to mid 1900's and what they doing back then with technology they had versus technology we have today. Incredible. Museum store was ok, and I was hoping to purchase something "cool" but alas, couldn't quite find a t-shirt that was just simple and had the International Spy Museum as a logo or something. I guess I was expecting them to have the rights to use the Spy vs Spy logo from Mad Magazine! Overall, a great stop and would highly suggest it to anyone with an interest in spy history.
    Hello Agent, Thank you for the intel. Feedback like your is incredibly helpful as we continue to improve our visitor experience. We regret to hear that your Undercover Mission experience was unsatisfactory. The Undercover Mission is entirely optional and the stations can be completed in any order and you can always catch up later. We are sorry to hear this wasn't communicated to you earlier in your visit. If you would like to share anything else about your visit, we would love to hear it. Feel free to contact us at the information below! Thank you for spying on us. Guest Services International Spy Museum 202.393.7798 guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org
    Written July 23, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited June 2023
    Traveled with friends
    Written July 5, 2023
  • Nomad
    Lakewood Ranch, Florida243 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Adults/teens vs. small children
    This content is geared towards adults (and possibly teens) with a particular interest and appreciation in history and geo-politics. Most of these displays require time for concentrated reflection. While I understand that the museum needs to draw a larger admission profit to include families, I can say that the spy game is an annoyance to adults. Other than that, this museum is absolutely outstanding in every aspect and worth the money. I reluctantly drop this solid five to a four due to the distracting spy games.
    Hello Agent Nomadtrad, Thank you for your review. We are glad to see you had a fun time overall at SPY, but regret to see you didn't have a great experience with our optional Undercover Mission interactive. The idea behind the Undercover Mission was to add an additional optional experience to give visitors a first hand look at spying. We regret to see that this fell flat with you. We take feedback like yours seriously and utilize reviews like this to improve. If you would like to share anything more about your visit, we would love to hear it! Feel free to get in contact with us at the information below. Guest Services International Spy Museum 202.393.7798 guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org
    Written July 23, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited September 2022
    Traveled solo
    Written July 12, 2023
  • Mili821
    Mumbai, India329 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Total surprise museum!
    Spent half a day here and wished we had more time!! Thrilling experience with so much knowledge to take back. Entry fees is bit expensive but totally worth it. They have made the whole experience exhilarating with everyone participating in a spy game. Kids will love it.
    Hello Agent Mili821, Thank you for spying on us! We are glad you had a fun time here at SPY. It looks like you took part in our Undercover Mission Interactive. What were your top Spy Skills? Let us know at the information below. Guest Services International Spy Museum 202.393.7798 guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org
    Written July 23, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited June 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written July 22, 2023
  • Steven C
    Yukon, Oklahoma51 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    The Best Museum in DC
    The Spy Museum is the most interactive and engaging museum we’ve ever visited. Initially we scoffed at the recommendation of spending about 6 hours here. 7 hours later, we understood why. There is so much to do!!! And I’m sure we missed a lot even though we were there for the bulk of the day. There’s plenty to see and do for visitors of all ages, so plan ahead and get tickets for early in the day (we went at 9:30am and left at 4:30pm). Easily the best museum in DC.
    Hello Agent C, Thank you for your review! You are totally correct, there is a TON to do here at SPY. With over 1,000 artifacts and over 2 dozen films and interactives, it's easy to spend all day here. We do find that most guests spend around 2-3 hours inside, but we happily welcome guests to stay longer or shorter if they'd like. The world of espionage is ever changing and updating, and so are we! Be sure to check back in the future to see what else gets declassified in the world of espionage. Thanks for spying on us! Guest Services International Spy Museum 202.393.7798 guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org
    Written July 24, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written July 23, 2023
  • MrWil_low
    180 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Fun for the budding spy
    This is a pretty good museum with a lot to see and do for a range of audiences. If you're in a family it'll cost a fair bit, although this is reflected both in it not being part of the Smithsonian group and the effort that's gone into the displays and overall experience. On entry you can chose an agent's identity and to follow this through a series of interactive tests. This is good fun although I dropped out early as you needed to queue for the various terminals. It's also more aimed at the early teen market and the tests do demonstrate various aspects of the trade. This that this place works on several levels so, if the trail isn't for you, there's plenty else including a lot of artefacts and stories. The only downside is that it is crowded in places; that also reflects its popularity. The shop varies across its several markets - great for ten year old, casual visitors and also a good range of books for the better-informed. Oddly there's no café, although I remember a linked restaurant at the old site.
    Hello Agent MrWil_low Thanks for all the intel! We are glad to see you enjoyed your visit to the museum. We regret to see that you had issues with crowding. We are constantly adjusting and making changes to improve the flow and overall experience and reviews like your help us out tremendously. If you would like to share anything else about your experience we would love to hear it. Feel free to get in contact at the information below. Guest Services International Spy Museum 202.393.7798 guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org
    Written August 1, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Traveled with friends
    Written July 24, 2023
  • Deborah L
    Minonk, Illinois14 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Excellent Museum
    This is an exceptional, interactive museum for all ages. The exhibits and videos were so interesting that we spent 5 hours there, and could have spent 2 more. Thanks to Unray and his excellent staff for making a great experience even better for 3 Midwesterners!
    Hello Agent Deborah L, Thanks for spying on us! We are glad to see you had a fun time of your visit. We do find that most guests spend around 2-3 hours inside the museum, but we love it when guests stay longer! We are glad to hear Unray and the team made your visit great. We will be sure to let them know. If you would like to share anything else about your visit, we would love to hear it. Get in contact with us at the information below. Guest Services International Spy Museum 202.393.7798 guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org
    Written August 1, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Traveled with friends
    Written July 25, 2023
  • Amanda&Chris
    Petersfield, United Kingdom128 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Definitely worth a visit!
    Loved this museum! Spent a couple of hours there (due to other commitments) but could have spent a lot longer. Really interesting, informative, engaging and fun! Age range was 14 to 60 and we all agreed!!
    Thank you for your review, Agent! I'm so glad you had an engaging and fun visit! Those are two of my favorite words to hear from our guests. Spies of all ages are welcome here at the International Spy Museum for as long as their visit takes. Most guests spend 2-3 hours with us, as it seems you did. There is so much to see in this city but we're happy you carved out time in your visit for SPY! Come back anytime! Guest Services International Spy Museum 202.393.7798 guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org
    Written August 2, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited June 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written August 2, 2023
  • Faith
    Williamsburg, Virginia21 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Plan to spend the day!
    Worth every penny! Very in-depth exhibits of every kind of spy endeavors from the Trojan Horse to cybercrime. Many exhibits are hands-on. This is a colorful, educational, creative, excellent museum. Our family thoroughly enjoyed. My only complaint is that in their very extensive gift shop there is NOTHING abut the museum itself. Certainly no book - but not even a brochure. We would love to have taken an overview book home with us to remember whaat we had seen and go deeper to learn more. What a sad loss of constant revenue for this museum
    Hello Agent 660faith, Thank you for your review. We are glad to see you enjoyed your experience at SPY. That is an excellent idea and I will be sure to let our retail team know. While we do not have anything like that currently, many of our board members and founders have written books about spying and espionage that we do sell in the Spy Store. One of my personal favorites is Spy Sights of Washington D.C. by Robert Wallace and H. Keith Melton. If you would like to share anything else about your experience, we would love to hear it. Please get in contact at the information below. Guest Services Operative International Spy Museum 202.393.7798 guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org
    Written September 17, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited August 2023
    Written August 12, 2023
  • Lynne S
    Corpus Christi, Texas32 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Definetely want to spend time here.
    We weren't sure what to expect, but were delighted with our time here. Lots of history and artifacts. Displays were informative. Quite crowded even with timed tickets, but we were able to enjoy the museum nontheless. Nice gift shop. Loved 007's Aston Martin on display as well as the inflatable tanks. Need to visit again soon. Great for adults and teens. Not for young kids .
    Hello Agent LynneS892, Thanks for spying on us! We are glad to see you had a fun time during your visit. The Museum is a popular destination that does attract a lot of people. Our timed tickets are designed to help control flow and capacity throughout the day. If you are looking for a more covert visit, we invite you to attend during our slow season (typically during the early autumn and winter). If you would like to share anything else about your experience, we would love to hear it. Get in contact at the information below. Guest Services Operative International Spy Museum 202.393.7798 guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org
    Written September 17, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written August 12, 2023
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles5,680 reviews
Excellent
2,392
Very good
1,831
Average
924
Poor
348
Terrible
186

amy55
amybwest75 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 • Couples
Even though they try to control the crowd with staggered elevator entry, it does not help. They have a cool interactive badge system, however due to the crowds, rude people, and no employees policing visits to the screens not one of our party was willing to stand in line for more than 10 mins at each interactive station. It would have been great if the 2 floors were organized by year..thus providing a natural progression of information. We all agreed there was alot of good information but a lot of reading of small plaques. We decided the $ we spent on tix would have been better spent on a book about spies. I would not recommend this for kids 8 and under.
Written February 17, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello Agent amy55, Although we are glad to hear you found the information at the Museum interesting and Undercover Mission a cool interactive, we are so sorry to hear the crowding in the exhibits hindered your ability to enjoy the experience. Since opening the new Museum this past year, we have become a very popular destination for guests, especially during holiday weekends. We appreciate your feedback and are continuing to improve our entrance system to alleviate some of your concerns. Our curatorial team purposely designed the exhibits to be non-linear, and instead organized the history of espionage thematically. This allows for guests to experience the galleries in any order they choose with the freedom to explore. We also have staff and volunteers on hand to assist guests with their orientation and experience. We are sorry they were not readily accessible to you during your visit. We would love to learn more about your visit and do what we can to improve your experience. Please reach out via the contact information below. Sincerely, Kia Hunter Operations International Spy Museum 202.393.7798 guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org
Written February 18, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Liza S
Indianapolis, IN45 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2022
It was only ok. After spending days in world-class museums that were free, then going to an expensive museum that was only ok at best was a letdown. They will only let you in during your time slot, and that means you enter in with 50 other people. With those 50 people, you join the other 50-75 people who were let in the previous 15-30 minutes. So as you can see it is a whole bunch of people in one long room.

Yes, there are interactive exhibits, but those exhibits have 3 to 4 people lined up to use them. I did not spend a ton of money to stand in lines to play games amongst a bunch of other people doing the same thing. As an adult, I knew within 15 minutes that we had totally wasted our money and time. We were in DC for four days, and this place was a mistake as we skipped other places to go here. If I had not spent so much money I could have breezed through in about 30 minutes. There are some nice displays in the first half, but they become kind of made up and mostly pictures on walls after that part. They also do not appear to have a lot of spy stories as they use the same ones over and over throughout the museum.
Written April 5, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello Liza S, We appreciate you taking time to review your experience and provide feedback. We are sorry to hear that it did not meet your expectations. We are constantly improving our guest experience and your feedback is integral to that. For example, we are currently in the process of adding more interactive screens to cut down on the wait time for Undercover Mission. As a private non-profit, we do not receive government funding and rely on Museum admission to protect our collections. With over 1,000 artifacts on display, we share stories from all over the world. From 13th century Mongolian battle armor, to our 18th century George Washington letter, and 21st century The Jester hacker computer, we hope to share hundreds of diverse stories from all over the world. We hope you have another chance to come back and explore everything we have to offer. We would be happy to help you set up the trip at the information below. Guest Services International Spy Museum 202.393.7798 guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org
Written May 11, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Dean_Amy-2004
Gettysburg, PA8,256 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 • Family
You could spend half an hour or an entire day here. There’s so much to see and engage with the secret agent assignment. Once you enter, you can return anytime, multiple times the same day. You cannot enter prior to your timed entry, so you may want to get there early or pre-purchase tickets. We pre-purchased tickets and it worked well to allow us to plan the rest of our day. It’s a little distance from the mall area, but not terribly far. So much history and time covered.
Overall, it’s a bit expensive but doable and a good value with all day re-entry.
Written March 14, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greetings Agent Dean_Amy-2004, Thank you for taking the time to debrief your experience at SPY! You provide such excellent intel to future guests about our entrance process. We do operate on a timed entry system and adhere strictly to those times to manager capacities in the exhibits. Tickets are valid for the day of entry, so hungry agents can take a break and get a snack nearby. Since the Museum does not receive any government funding, admission sales help preserve our artifacts and maintain our operations. Thank you for contributing to this mission! We hope to see you again soon! Kia Hunter Operations International Spy Museum 202.393.7798 guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org
Written March 17, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ncdel
North Carolina412 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2021
We loved this museum and could have easily spent 4 hrs there but sadly we had to leave before that! I went with my two 12 yr olds and I was so sad my husband missed it b/c of an unexpected airbnb issue, as he would have really enjoyed it. yes, there is an interactive activity to engage kids but it's not required or necessary by any means- my daughter found it fun, my son skipped it, but I saw plenty of adults waiting in line for the kiosks too. Regardless, I found the information, exhibits, and the films in particular fascinating as did my son. There were so many things to look at and read about all different aspects of espionage.

Tip esp during covid- if you're in DC more days than just a weekend, plan to go here on Saturday b/c you have to buy the tix ahead with timed entry, and the free museums are PACKED on the weekend with lines to get in so visit those on weekdays. We also got lucky that it poured rain that day so even better to not be standing in line on the mall in the rain.
Written January 10, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks for your review, Agent ncdel! We are thrilled to read that you loved our museum. You're right, Undercover Mission is an optional experience for guests to test their spy skills and participate in an interactive mission throughout the galleries. There are still plenty of fun games, stories, and films to explore outside of Undercover Mission. Although the Spy Museum is open seven (7) days a week, we encourage guests to visit on weekdays to avoid possible crowds. We do limit our capacities, but Saturdays are still a popular day to experience SPY. We hope you come back to see us again with the entire family! Guest Services International Spy Museum 202.393.7798 guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org
Written January 27, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

jacob w
Long Island, NY32 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021
Ideal for like 9-13 year olds. A very interesting take on a museum. Also many many people and an irritatingly lone line. i ended up skipping a few of the exhibits just because there were so many people.. Interactive museums are not for me, but I do think in concept, this museum is really cool!! the gift shop was great too! The best part of the experience was paying seven dollars to go to the top of the building and take pictures. That was really awesome!!
Written August 1, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello Agent Jacob0421, We are sorry to hear that the experience could have been improved. We thank you for your feedback and are in the process of adding more interactive stations to help with the wait times you mentioned. We hope to engage all types of audiences and ages and will continue to improve the guest experience. We are glad you were able to take a Rooftop Photo Op tour during your visit - as it's an unparalleled view of the city! We hope you picked up some cool spy gear at the Spy Store before you left. Guest Services Operative International Spy Museum 202.393.7798 guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org
Written August 6, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jolismiller
Salem, OR25 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 • Couples
Although the actual museum is pretty cool, full of interesting things to see, the number of kids running around unsupervised was very distracting. Maybe it was just the time/day we chose to be there (we should have known by the number of large busses parked out front with middle schoolers streaming out of them), but we did not stay long. Some great historical videos, but with kids sitting in the room talking and joking and playing hide n seek, it was tough to hear any of it. Maybe someday the museum will come up with an adults only time of day, but until then I don’t think we will return.
Written March 13, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Agent Jolismiller, Although we are glad to hear you thought the Museum was cool, we are sorry the experience did not live up to your expectations. March is a busy time at the Museum as a lot of schools are experience Spring Break. We provide updated information on how to best experience the Museum on our website during this unique time. As a nonprofit Museum with an educational mission, we do love to provide a space for learning for younger audiences. However, we do provide clear guidelines for students and their chaperones. All students should be supervised in the Museum and we are sorry if that was not the case during your visit. We also have staff and volunteers in the exhibits to assist with these concerns - did you happen to speak to anyone while you were with us? We would have tried to provide an excellent experience for you and your group. We do hope you come visit us again soon - perhaps once the school groups leave for the season. Thank you for your visit and for your feedback. Kia Hunter Operations International Spy Museum 202.393.7798 guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org
Written March 17, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

3CatswillTravel
Central Florida, FL143 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022
The museum is very well laid out. We had the chance to see video, hear audios and interact in real spy situations. The museum also provides both historical and current events. It is not just about the spying you see in movies but the intel gathering and real situations, We were surprised when we even had a chance to interact on the decisions to get Bin Laden.

We went in the am but were there when there were large tour group so you need to allow more time.. (we were there 3 hours)

It is worth the time and cost ( we were surprised that it was only $24 for two seniors)
Written May 1, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank for sharing your experience with us, Agent! We are very glad to hear you both had a great time at the International Spy Museum. It sounds like you made the most of your experience and were able to absorb all the stories we have to offer. As you mentioned, the Museum covers a great deal about espionage, providing historical background as well as current events. I believe the interactive you're referring to is 'Red Team', one of our award winning experiences at the Museum! With so many interactives, it can be difficult to choose which ones to play, but the layout helps guide guests to have the option to play them all. While most guests spend between 2-3 hours in Museum, everyone is welcome to spend as little or as much time as they like. We hope to see you both again! Thank you for spying on us, Guest Services International Spy Museum 202.393.7798 guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org
Written May 5, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

trenstar
USA57 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2021
You have to arrive exactly on time for your timed tickets. If you arrive even 1 minute early they won’t let you stand on line, and if you’re more than 15 mins late they may not let you in. You’re then lectured for 5 minutes about keeping masks on even when everyone’s already properly wearing masks. Then after you go through the line, you have to wait another 10 mins to get on an elevator to bring you to the main floor, why they don’t let you use the stairs is beyond me. Not worth it.
Written March 29, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello Trenstar, We regret you had a poor entry experience, we hope to balance an enjoyable visit with the proper safety requirements outlined by the Mayor of Washington, DC. I would like to discuss your experience further so I may properly address it. During the busy spring break season we are letting guests in early when our capacity allows, and we accommodate late arrivals as best as we can while ensuring guest safety. Our exhibits begin over 8 stories high, so we have guests use the elevator. You are correct, we have been very clear and upfront about wearing masks properly. Our top priority is not only the safety of all guests during the pandemic, but also our staff and volunteers. I also would like to know your thoughts on the exhibition experience (I am hoping you enjoyed it). Shortly before closing in March 2020, we formed an Exhibition Improvement Taskforce. The team reviews visitor comments about the exhibition and looks for ways to improve the experience based on guest feedback. My contact information is below, I look forward to speaking with you. Michael Kruelle VP of Operations 202.393.7798 guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org
Written March 30, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Brandon K
Flagstaff, AZ1,923 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2021 • Solo
Great new space for this museum - I had been to the prior, smaller location. They also upgraded the ability to interact with all the exhibits and stories. You now take on an identity and a mission to keep you involved as you go through the exhibits. Lots of interesting items and artifacts, but I liked the recordings and videos just as much if not more. This is a private museum so one adult ticket is $25, but it is worth it. From a COVID perspective, there are many hand sanitizer stations near all the things you can touch and interact with. They will let you bring in water bottles but nothing else. This is a half day activity and you can take a break to eat and re-enter.
Written September 20, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Good afternoon Agent BrandonK850, Thank you for taking the time to debrief your mission at the International Spy Museum. It's wonderful to hear that you've had the chance to experience the Museum at or previous location and our current location! With the move, the team made a very conscious effort to evolve and maintain the mission of the International Spy Museum. Even though 'Undercover Mission' is optional, we encourage guests to partake in the interactives to test their spy skills. Even though we are one of the few paid museums in the area, we greatly appreciate those that visit. Our admission goes right back into maintaining the Museum's mission for the public. The team is continuously working to maintain the health and safety of all that visit the Museum, while still maintaining an enjoyable guest experience. We welcome you to visit us again. Stay safe and stealthy! Guest Services Operative International Spy Museum 202.393.7798 guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org
Written September 24, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Keith W
Philadelphia, PA116 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2019 • Friends
The International Spy Museum is a thorough representation of the life of a spy. From assumed identities, secret messages, and hidden weapons, to surveillance equipment and more, there is a pretty extensive collection of materials available for viewing. There is a focus on predominantly Cold-War era acts of espionage, spy equipment and the people that used them, on both sides of the Iron Curtain. However, there are plenty of examples of espionage from World War II, as well as some from the Civil War, and more. There is also an exhibit dedicated to fictional spy James Bond 007. If you are in to this sort of thing, you have to go. Just be prepared to wait in line to get in, & wait to see the different objects and write-ups. Lots to read.
On a side note, I have also visited the Spy Museum in Berlin, Germany, and it is about on par with the International Spy Museum in DC, as far as the information contained within is concerned.
Written February 19, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello Agent keithww81, Wow - what a thorough review! We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback and insider intel to future agents. You're right, there are a lot of artifacts in the Museum from the Cold War era, and we even try to recreate a streetscape in East Berlin during the Cold War (with real pieces of the Berlin Wall!). We also tell many stories from other parts of the world, from the early Greek Trojan Horse to modern economic espionage taking place in China. Our special exhibition on James Bond villains "Exquisitely Evil" closed at our old location in December of 2018. Although we do still have 007's Aston Martin in the Lobby of the Museum (and a few other objects dedicated to the fictional spy), the exhibit has since closed. Thank you for spying on us! Kia Hunter Operations International Spy Museum 202.393.7798 guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org
Written February 21, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 5,372
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

International Spy Museum - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Washington DC HotelsWashington DC Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Washington DC
All things to do in Washington DC
RestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars