We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Beachcomber Fun Cruises

Certificate of Excellence
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: The Waterfront, Picton, New Zealand
Phone Number: +64 3-573 6175
Website
Today
8:00 am - 5:30 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 8:00 am - 5:30 pm
Description:

Family owned and operated, Beachcomber Fun Cruises is one of the major...

Family owned and operated, Beachcomber Fun Cruises is one of the major operators on the Queen Charlotte Track and take great pleasure in offering a selection of boat trips through the beautiful Marlborough Sounds - these include their world famous Magic Mail Run and a host of Scenic Cruises, easy and quick day trips are covered with their lunch'n'cruises. They also have a host of flexible trips that let customers explore the wonderful Queen Charlotte Track. Beachcomber Fun Cruises is a Qualmark endorsed visitor activity.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
$69*
and up
Queen Charlotte Sound Mail Boat Cruise
More Info
$56*
and up
Self-Guided Queen Charlotte Track Walk from Picton
More Info
$58*
and up
Marlborough Sounds Cruise from Picton

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 245 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 169
    Excellent
  • 48
    Very good
  • 11
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
A great way to see the sounds

Even though it was an overcast day we absolutely loved the cruise. It was informative and enjoyable. We even stopped to see the dolphins! The driver was very friendly and ended up... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 4 days ago
Melanie O
Add Photo Write a Review

245 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 236: English reviews
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Even though it was an overcast day we absolutely loved the cruise. It was informative and enjoyable. We even stopped to see the dolphins! The driver was very friendly and ended up inspiring us to explore much more of the south island than we had planned to. Next time we would definitely do one of the day hikes.

Helpful?
Thank Melanie O
BeachcomberPicton, front office at Beachcomber Fun Cruises, responded to this review

hi there Melanie O, Thank you so much for your awesome review, we are so glad to hear that you had an amazing time even though the weather was not cooperative. and for one of our skippers to inspire you with his unbelievable knowledge, really is a confidence boost for our team! we are so happy to hear! we wish... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a great way to spend the afternoon. The great skipper with lots of knowledge and the dolphins frolicking in the waves. Perfect to see how other people live in the extreme environment. What a great way to spend life. Would recommend this adventure for everyone

Helpful?
Thank Annmarie555
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016

This would be our second time on the mailboat cruise. We thoroughly enjoyed this experience so much that we took friends on it. Our skipper was very knowledgeable about the area and our highlight were the local dogs waiting for their bones at each delivery.

Helpful?
Thank Tashaevans
BeachcomberPicton, Front Office Manager at Beachcomber Fun Cruises, responded to this review

Hi Tashaevans, Thank you for your your most wonderful review of our Magic Mail Run! We are so glad that you were able to travel with us a second time! Our skippers are so passionate about what they do, and it has much to do with our amazing guests on board! So, thank you! Kind Regards, The Beachcomber Cruises Team! More 

Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2016

Went on the mailboat cruise, what a fantastic time was had by myself and grandchildren. The skipper of the boat was exceptional in his knowledge of the sounds, To see dogs rushing down the wharfs to meet the boat and get the mailbags was just great to watch , even if the skipper was giving them treats !! We even... More 

Helpful?
Thank susanrU1039LC
BeachcomberPicton, front office at Beachcomber Fun Cruises, responded to this review

hi there susanrU1039LCH, Thank you so much for your review. we are so happy to here that you and your grandchildren enjoyed your time on our infamous mail run. The sounds is filled with some amazing and awesome residents and we are so glad you appreciate that! The beachcomber team would love to have you and your grandchildren back on... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016

Enjoyable afternoon cruise on a perfect day weatherwise. The commentary from the skipper was very informative

Helpful?
1 Thank Bill C
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2016

We used them to get to Furneux lodge for the day. Julian was very knowledgable and the commentary was appreciated. We were lucky enough to see Dolphins. It was very clean and reliable.

Helpful?
Thank kgsw2015
BeachcomberPicton, front office at Beachcomber Fun Cruises, responded to this review

hi there kgsw2015, Thank you very much for your awesome review! we are so happy to hear you enjoyed our services. Yes our skipper Julian is very knowledgeable about the Queen Charlotte Sound and he is like a magnet to the dolphins. We are glad everything went well for you and we hope to see you again. A big thank... More 

Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2016

We did the Mail Run and for the most part we enjoyed the trip. The landscape was beautiful and the captain shared lots of interesting information about the area. However the scenery got a little repetitive and overall our group agreed that it was a great trip but a little too long at 5 hours. One last tip, if you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dan I
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016

After a morning of rain the sky's cleared and we had a great day our skipper was Julian he was funny and very knowledgable about the sound , on all the mail stops we found all the people very friendly . A lovely 4 hour cruise.

Helpful?
Thank Fiona G
Katikati, New Zealand
Level Contributor
137 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2016

We were late arriving at the wharf to be picked up after walking the Queen Charlotte Walkway. We were picked up by a water taxi which I am pretty sure is run by Beachcomber cruises. The guy was very rude about us being late although we had been told by Wilderness Guides that it didn't matter if we were late... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 610Margaretd
BeachcomberPicton, Public Relations Manager at Beachcomber Fun Cruises, responded to this review

Dear Margaretd, Thank you for your recent review. We would like to sincerely apologise for the less than appropriate service you have received whilst travelling with us. This proves to be a very bad representation of our team and its' dedication to providing excellent customer service. We hope this hasn't hindered your experience on the beautiful Queen Charlotte Track, and... More 

Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2016 via mobile

Hello, we took this cruse as there were no other avalibale in the afternoon. If you are looking for Mail Cruise , and you have got pleanty of time to waste, take it ! The view is nice for the first 30 minutes, and the explanations from the guide are very through, but we found it too long, and too... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dagiel
BeachcomberPicton, Front Office at Beachcomber Fun Cruises, responded to this review

Hi Dagiel we are sorry to hear that you didn't have a great time on the Mail Run. Usually it is our most popular and famous tour and well loved by most people, it is unfortunate that you did not enjoy it as much as every one else. We do appreciate your comments, its great to get varied feedback from... More 

Travelers who viewed Beachcomber Fun Cruises also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Beachcomber Fun Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Beachcomber Fun Cruises staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?