We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

E-Ko Tours

Features Animals
Closed Now: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Share
Book In Advance
Tours from E-Ko Tours tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
201
All photos (201)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent84%
  • Very good9%
  • Average3%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
About
We provide award-winning, wildlife and conservation focused guided cruises and dolphin swimming experiences through the beautiful Marlborough Sounds. Those looking for the thrill of a lifetime can join us for our Dolphin Swim or View Experience or...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
1 Wellington Street, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Website
+64 3-573 8040
Call
Ways to Experience E-Ko Tours
from $68.10
More Info
from $68.10
More Info
from $113.60
More Info
from $68.10
More Info
Most Helpful Positive Review
Reviewed December 25, 2014

Notwithstanding that we did not see the hyped dolphins this was still a really good cruise seeing plenty of other wildlife, including Penguins, and with a lovely guided walk on Motuara Island where we saw baby Blue penguins. The cost for 2 was NZ$ 198,...More

3  Thank broadhurstannema
TikitheKiwi, Owner at E-Ko Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2016

Kia Ora , Thanks so much for the wonderful review. Always great to get good comment about our knowledgeable staff and the fantastic experience you had with the wild dolphins and wildlife . We are the only local company with qualified guides whom go through...More

Most Helpful Critical Review
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This was the fourth time I was swimming with dolphins, whales, seals, etc. After we were fitted with thick wetsuits we had an extensive briefing of the many types of dolpins ever been seen in the Marlborough sound. It is unlikely that on a very...More

3  Thank huys25
TikitheKiwi, Owner at E-Ko Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2016

Kia Ora , Thanks so much for the review. Always great to get good comment about our knowledgeable staff and the fantastic experience you had with the wild dolphins and wildlife . The wild dolphins on that day choose to be traveling towards the outer...More

Reviews (377)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveler rating
283
31
15
5
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
283
31
15
5
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim with the dolphins hector dolphins fur seals motuara island cookies wild animals dolphin tour bird sanctuary these beautiful creatures fantastic morning saw lots of wildlife great trip booked this tour amazing experience nature cruise dolphin watching local wildlife
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 345 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Fantastic afternoon - we saw everything / dolphins, blue penguins,seals and lovely marine birds. Great guides and nice wine too. Would recommend - Marlborough Sounds were looking beautiful.

Thank kerry898
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked this on line a few weeks prior to arriving in Picton on Radiance of the Seas. We always try to pick local companies rather than booking through the cruise line so as to help the local business out. This is the first time...More

Thank Kaycee1966
TikiB22, Manager at E-Ko Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Kaycee, Sorry to hear your experience was not what you expected. Picton with all the beautiful hills and bush was created by rain, all from Australia and lots of it over millions of years. So yes we can get torrential rain and this we...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Had an amazing swim with Dolphins. We had 2 x swims where the Dolphins came and swam around and thru us!!!! It was incredible. They even supplied us with a hot drink and biscuits while we waited for some Dolphins to finish hunting fish....and had...More

Thank CChapz
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Helpful and friendly staff. Nice smooth boat ride with lots to see. The island was the highlight. Saw penguins in their nest boxes, saddlebacks, bellbids and the orange fronted kakariki which I've not seen ANYWHERE else. Saw dolphins on the way back which rounded the...More

Thank Jess K
Reviewed October 4, 2018

We enjoyed a trip during September headed towards Motuara Island. A great crew informed us as we went of the bird and sea life in the Marlborough Sounds constantly on the look out for things for us to see and experience. Sadly we didn't see...More

Thank Sharon C
Reviewed October 1, 2018

I booked my trip 12 months in advance but was told thirty minutes before the boat was supposed to leave that the cruise was cancelled because I was the only one on it and they needed a minimum of 4 people. The manager was rude...More

1  Thank dtabak2018
TikiB22, Manager at E-Ko Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Sorry, your tour was cancelled. Check-in for tours is 24 hours before departure as per the T+ C, this is so we can inform you of any items that may affect your tour running. We also request full contact details so we can call you...More

Reviewed September 22, 2018 via mobile

We had an amazing day on board the e-ko dolphin & wildlife cruise. No dolphins to be seen unfortunately but that didn't faze the kids (2 x 7yr olds) they enjoyed the day so much so the lack of dolphins wasn't a concern ♡ We...More

Thank mandawicks1982nz
Captain Paul K, General Manager at E-Ko Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2018

Thanks for positive feedback and we look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed September 21, 2018 via mobile

We had a great afternoon with E-Ko tours today, saw lots of wildlife including many birds and some fur seals too. Disappointed not to see any dolphins during our trip but that’s just how the day went. We loved chatting to the staff, Rob in...More

Thank Becky W
Reviewed September 1, 2018 via mobile

Excellent customer experience from booking, tour guide and captain. We saw dusky dolphins, heaps of fur seals and birds. Highly recommended!

Thank DarcySOP
TikiB22, Manager at E-Ko Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks for positive feedback :-)

Reviewed August 17, 2018

Our Captain and naturalist both provided interesting and thoughtful commentary on both the marine life and bird life on the sanctuary island Motuara. Worth every penny of the very reasonable price.

Thank MarkD7047
Captain Paul K, General Manager at E-Ko Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2018

Kia Ora, thanks for your positive feedback

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 nearby hotels
Escape to Picton Boutique Hotel
185 reviews
.09 miles away
Gateway Motel
1,053 reviews
.09 miles away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
346 reviews
.11 miles away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
301 reviews
.13 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 46 nearby restaurants
Gusto
474 reviews
.10 miles away
Oxley's Bar & Kitchen
278 reviews
.03 miles away
Seumus' Irish Bar and Restaurant
126 reviews
.07 miles away
DA's Barn Restaurant & Bar
393 reviews
.12 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 60 nearby attractions
Edwin Fox Maritime Museum
308 reviews
.17 miles away
Picton Sound
230 reviews
.05 miles away
Picton i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
99 reviews
.12 miles away
Picton Museum
64 reviews
.10 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
sweetyladdha
May 11, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Captain Paul K | Property representative |
Hello there, thank you for your question and congratulations on your up coming wedding. I am sorry but our tours leave at 9am for swimming so you would not be able to do that one. We have a tour in the afternoon which goes... More
0
Votes
katherinee340
December 14, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Captain Paul K | Property representative |
Please email info@e-ko.nz for all details , thanks
0
Votes
Becky S
October 27, 2017|
Answer
Response from Captain Paul K | Property representative |
Hi, we do mot pick up. Piblc buss shuttles bring you to the main information center. We are 4 minutes walk from there.
1
Vote