We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 1 Emma Place | Rous Head, Fremantle, Western Australia 6959, Australia
Phone Number: 1300 467 688
Website
Description:

Rottnest Express has been serving the Island for 50 years now and knows it...

Rottnest Express has been serving the Island for 50 years now and knows it better than most. If you’re a visitor to Perth, Rottnest is the must see destination and we’d love to take you there. If you’re a local and haven’t been to Rotto for a while — it’s time to rediscover Rotto — it’s easier than you think.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
$103*
and up
Rottnest Island Tour from Perth or Fremantle
More Info
$60*
and up
Rottnest Island Round-Trip Ferry from Perth or Fremantle
More Info
$84*
and up
Rottnest Island Bike and Snorkel Tour from Perth or Fremantle

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 817 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 328
    Excellent
  • 244
    Very good
  • 112
    Average
  • 31
    Poor
  • 28
    Terrible
Good Experience

The trip out and back was smooth because of the good weather a few passengers could do with manners training as they pushed past to get views etc. But overall good trips.

4 of 5 starsReviewed 4 days ago
Mike A
,
Maitland, Australia
Add Photo Write a Review

817 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 743: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were picked up at our hotel on time and the ferry trip to Rottnest was really great. We also had the 90 minute bus tour on the island which was very informative. Plenty of free time on Rottnest for lunch and walking with lots of quokkas to see!

Helpful?
Thank Carole H
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The trip out and back was smooth because of the good weather a few passengers could do with manners training as they pushed past to get views etc. But overall good trips.

Helpful?
Thank Mike A
RottnestExpress, Customer Service at Rottnest Express, responded to this review

Hello Mike A, Thanks for providing feedback, and it's great you enjoyed the trip and experienced the best of Perth winter! More 

Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great crew, especially the blonde guy who is really nice and kind! This is the best way to reach and incredible heaven on earth!

Helpful?
Thank GretaV93
RottnestExpress, Customer Service at Rottnest Express, responded to this review

Hello Greta, We agree, our staff are lovely, and Rottnest is a beautiful place to be! Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your trip, much appreciated. More 

Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As we wanted to do more sight-seeing in Freemantle (the Maritime Museum) in the afternoon, we only did a half-day tour to Rottnest Island. The vegetation on the island is a bit limited. We saw the Quokka's - which was our aim. Got some photo's. Had a tasty lunch at Aroma's. Went wandering around and found a general store, bakery,... More 

Helpful?
Thank tandd2015
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,872 reviews
1,318 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Rottnest Island, is best known to Western Australians as Rotto. It's Perth favourite holiday destiantion. The best way to get to Rotto is to take the ferry. Most visitors do a day trip -- the trip isw half the fun. By the way, the trip back when the sea breeze has come in can be a bit rough, so don't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeffry B
RottnestExpress, Customer service at Rottnest Express, responded to this review

Hi Jeffry, Thanks for passing this information on. The sway of a boat certainly isn't everyone's cup of tea, and we're happy to pass on tips for our passengers who experience sea sickness. Good tip about the pub - a bit of rest and relaxation down on the beach after a pub lunch might be in order. Thank you again,... More 

Horsham, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We really enjoyed out time on Rottnest Express, comfortable and fast trip. Service and views were great too. Rottnest Island was also a great experience too.

Helpful?
Thank Gardensrfun1
RottnestExpress, Customer service at Rottnest Express, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for giving us feedback on your trip to Rottnest Island; it's great to hear you had an enjoyable day out with us. More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Paid $198 for a round trip journey to Rottnest Island for 2 people. The price also include bike hires. We got 26-inch 3-speed bikes. Encountered some rough water on the way to Rottnest Island. It was definitely a first-time experience for me as my previous boat/ferry rides had been calm and peaceful. I felt a bit sick and the Rottnest... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Liyana N
RottnestExpress, Customer service at Rottnest Express, responded to this review

Hello Liyana, Yes, the winter weather this year has provided a few bumpy rides. The staff want everyone to enjoy their day, and it's good to hear you were looked after. The ferry and bike package is very popular - it's a great way to see the island. Thanks for letting us know about your trip! More 

Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

An easy way to get to Perth. The commentary was a bit disappointing as it was the same information on the way up and the way back. Wine tasting was good. Staff are friendly

Helpful?
Thank annaville2016
RottnestExpress, Customer service at Rottnest Express, responded to this review

Hello Anna, Was that on a Rottnest Express trip? It sounds as though you may have been travelling with another company as we don't offer any wine tasting. Thank you! More 

singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It was wet weather when we went to Rottnest island. And we were caught in hailstorm on the way back. It was very choppy water and the ferry was really swaying left to right , right to left. Almost got sea sick. But the ride back was super fast and sitting at the lower deck, you could just see the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dreamgal86
RottnestExpress, Customer Service at Rottnest Express, responded to this review

Hello Dreamgal, Thank you for your feedback and positive attitude! There have been a few wild days this winter, and even though our ferries are capable of travelling in storms, it can, as you said, result in a fair bit of movement! Hopefully you can travel with us again on one of the many sunny Perth days. More 

New Zealand
Level Contributor
128 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We used Rottnest Express to get to Rotto and they were on time every time what more could we ask for.

Helpful?
Thank meatm8
RottnestExpress, Customer Service at Rottnest Express, responded to this review

Hello! Being on time is one of our key goals - thanks for appreciating it, and taking the time to give us feedback. More 

Travelers who viewed Rottnest Express also viewed

 
Fremantle, Greater Perth
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 

Been to Rottnest Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Rottnest Express and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Rottnest Express staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?