St. Elizabeth Church
St. Elizabeth Church
3.5
Churches & Cathedrals
Read more
Write a review
What people are saying
vakantiejozef
By vakantiejozef
Church and surounding cemetery
Aug 2012
This church, located in one of Trebon's suburbs is only opened whilst prayer service going on. The church is surounded by a cemetery. Built 1570 on the site of an older church near the Svět lake, commissioned by Vilém z Rožmberk: simple construction without architectural decoration, cemetery around the church, consecrated July 1576. In 1619 by military troops burned and partially destroyed the church, restored 1649-1651. Oblong nave, vaults in a semicircle with lunettes connected to a choir, five bays, irregular octagonal buttresses. The Windows are arched at the bow of the forefront, but without tracery nor bars. 1784 Tower added, cornerstone in southern corner with inscription: "ZAKLADNI KAMEN LETA PANE 1784. DNE 20. JULI" (cornerstone year of our Lord 1784. Day 20. July). The roof has a pear-shaped form with a lantern. In the choir a gravestone which was most likely used to cover the most important Tomb in the monastery church, measuring 1.1 m wide and 2 m high. In 1666 Solomon Gottfried Job painted the main altar, on which present the painting "Agony Christi" (Christ's agony in Gethsemane) by Pieter van Roy from the vanished tomb chapel " Smrtelných úzkostí Krista Pána" (agony Christ the Lord). 1756 Saint John of Nepomuk altar (which was moved 1787 from the sv. Jiljí Church to this church as it was replaced by the St. Barbara altar from the defunct St. Barbara Church). The new pulpit absolutely does not match with the rest of its Interior. More inventory: silver-plated chalice with st Vitus, st Wenceslas, st John of Nepomuk and St. Adalbert in silver medallions, iron Baroque candlestick and pewter Baroque candlesticks. The largest clock came from the defunct St. Barbara Church, Middle clock “Salvator mundi”, the smallest bell “Virgin Mary” was casted in 1876 by A. Perner (České Budějovice). At the Cemetery entrance a small cross in iron sheet, 18th century headstones of cast iron on stone pedestals.

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

3.5
7 reviews
Excellent
0
Very good
3
Average
4
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Jana C
Prague, Czech Republic4,619 contributions
Couples
We walked past this church and cemetery on our way back to the car. I wouldn't go out of my way to find this run down looking church. This is a Roman Catholic church built in 1570 by William of Rosenberg. There is a local cemetery surrounding the church.
Written June 2, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

vakantiejozef
Olen, Belgium6,113 contributions
Solo
This church, located in one of Trebon's suburbs is only opened whilst prayer service going on. The church is surounded by a cemetery. Built 1570 on the site of an older church near the Svět lake, commissioned by Vilém z Rožmberk: simple construction without architectural decoration, cemetery around the church, consecrated July 1576. In 1619 by military troops burned and partially destroyed the church, restored 1649-1651. Oblong nave, vaults in a semicircle with lunettes connected to a choir, five bays, irregular octagonal buttresses. The Windows are arched at the bow of the forefront, but without tracery nor bars. 1784 Tower added, cornerstone in southern corner with inscription: "ZAKLADNI KAMEN LETA PANE 1784. DNE 20. JULI" (cornerstone year of our Lord 1784. Day 20. July). The roof has a pear-shaped form with a lantern. In the choir a gravestone which was most likely used to cover the most important Tomb in the monastery church, measuring 1.1 m wide and 2 m high. In 1666 Solomon Gottfried Job painted the main altar, on which present the painting "Agony Christi" (Christ's agony in Gethsemane) by Pieter van Roy from the vanished tomb chapel " Smrtelných úzkostí Krista Pána" (agony Christ the Lord). 1756 Saint John of Nepomuk altar (which was moved 1787 from the sv. Jiljí Church to this church as it was replaced by the St. Barbara altar from the defunct St. Barbara Church). The new pulpit absolutely does not match with the rest of its Interior. More inventory: silver-plated chalice with st Vitus, st Wenceslas, st John of Nepomuk and St. Adalbert in silver medallions, iron Baroque candlestick and pewter Baroque candlesticks. The largest clock came from the defunct St. Barbara Church, Middle clock “Salvator mundi”, the smallest bell “Virgin Mary” was casted in 1876 by A. Perner (České Budějovice). At the Cemetery entrance a small cross in iron sheet, 18th century headstones of cast iron on stone pedestals.
Written September 14, 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

St. Elizabeth Church, Trebon

Frequently Asked Questions about St. Elizabeth Church