Monastery of the Discalced Augustinians

Monastery of the Discalced Augustinians

Monastery of the Discalced Augustinians
3
What people are saying
vakantiejozef
By vakantiejozef
Klášter bosých augustiniánů
Aug 2012
The history of this monastery and Church is closely linked with the history of the city of Tábor. Religion was deeply rooted in Tábor and after the defeat of the rebellion of the Czech Protestant States in the 1621 battle of Bílé hoře (White Mountain) Tábor had to convert to Catholicism. Therefore its Council members decided on establishment of a monastery to support in this manner the counter-reformation which would help to spread the Catholic relegion. Their proposal to rebuild a monastery which was strongly damaged by imperial troops during a previous battle was rejected. Strahov Premonstratensian Monastery (Norbertines) demanded a the building of a new monastery at the expense of the city, a financial burden which impoverished the city of Tábor dearly. An agreement with the prior of the Augustinian monastery sv. Václav led to the founding of the monastery. The city gave them a barren plot of land, its corner stone was laid september 8, 1642, between 1642-1652 construction of the monastery, 1652 construction of the Narození Panny Marie church choir (birth of the Virgin Mary Church), monastery and Church completed in 1666, architect Antonio Alfieri (an Italian living in Prague). The monastery gradually ceased their activities and after its abrogation early 19th century it was converted to a prison, subsequently used as barracks and currently houses the seat of the Hussitemuseum, the Church was not secularized

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

3.0
1 review
Excellent
0
Very good
0
Average
1
Poor
0
Terrible
0

vakantiejozef
Olen, Belgium6,113 contributions
Solo
The history of this monastery and Church is closely linked with the history of the city of Tábor. Religion was deeply rooted in Tábor and after the defeat of the rebellion of the Czech Protestant States in the 1621 battle of Bílé hoře (White Mountain) Tábor had to convert to Catholicism. Therefore its Council members decided on establishment of a monastery to support in this manner the counter-reformation which would help to spread the Catholic relegion. Their proposal to rebuild a monastery which was strongly damaged by imperial troops during a previous battle was rejected. Strahov Premonstratensian Monastery (Norbertines) demanded a the building of a new monastery at the expense of the city, a financial burden which impoverished the city of Tábor dearly. An agreement with the prior of the Augustinian monastery sv. Václav led to the founding of the monastery. The city gave them a barren plot of land, its corner stone was laid september 8, 1642, between 1642-1652 construction of the monastery, 1652 construction of the Narození Panny Marie church choir (birth of the Virgin Mary Church), monastery and Church completed in 1666, architect Antonio Alfieri (an Italian living in Prague). The monastery gradually ceased their activities and after its abrogation early 19th century it was converted to a prison, subsequently used as barracks and currently houses the seat of the Hussitemuseum, the Church was not secularized
Written September 4, 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Monastery of the Discalced Augustinians, Tabor

Frequently Asked Questions about Monastery of the Discalced Augustinians

Hotels near Monastery of the Discalced Augustinians: View all hotels near Monastery of the Discalced Augustinians on Tripadvisor

Restaurants near Monastery of the Discalced Augustinians: View all restaurants near Monastery of the Discalced Augustinians on Tripadvisor