Fogasház

Fogasház, Budapest: Hours, Address, Fogasház Reviews: 4/5

6:00 PM - 4:00 AM
Monday
6:00 PM - 4:00 AM
Tuesday
6:00 PM - 4:00 AM
Wednesday
6:00 PM - 4:00 AM
Thursday
6:00 PM - 4:00 AM
Friday
6:00 PM - 4:00 AM
Saturday
6:00 PM - 4:00 AM
Sunday
6:00 PM - 4:00 AM
About
Come to one of the famous ruin pubs in the center of Budapest and discover that Fogasház is much more than just a place to party.We’d like to give you various leisure and pleasure activities. We give space for theaters for rehearsal and stages, contemporary art galleries, civil lectures and debates. We have film clubs, flea market and of course parties at night. We now planning on opening the first ruin vine bar in Budapest.You can find the Lomography shop, Fogaskerékpár a bike rental and repair shop, and a pizzeria in the house of Fogasház.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
Top ways to experience Fogasház
The area
Address
Neighborhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
District VII is the very heart of Budapest and houses the city’s Jewish Quarter. Its streets are lively and colorful, its buildings narrate different histories in an assortment of architectural styles, and its cafes and bars are frequented and loved by the enthusiastic crowds. Grand and magnificent, the striking star of the district is the Great Synagogue, the largest in Europe and one of the biggest in the world. Distinctly Moorish in style, crowned by the twin onion shaped domes, the Synagogue is the very emblem of District VII and one of the main attractions in the capital.
How to get there
  • Opera • 7 min walk
  • Oktogon • 7 min walk
Popular mentions

4.0
354 reviews
Excellent
164
Very good
91
Average
37
Poor
26
Terrible
36

Black Bride
1 contribution
Theft and rudeness of the bouncers!
Feb 2020 • Couples
Do not recommend. Lots of cases of stealing (my iPhone got stolen), security is super unhelpful, bouncers are rude, police won’t do anything (they didn’t even come and kept hanging up on me). Avoid at any cost.
Written February 22, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear black_II_bride, Thank you for sharing your honest opinion with us! We are sad to hear that you were not content with us and you had some problems. Please be assured that we work hard to provide the very best to our guests and we will look after the mentioned issues because they are not usual at Fogasház. Warm regards, Hotel Management
Written March 4, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Steve
1 contribution
Unfriendly
Feb 2020 • Friends
Visited here as part of a party of 10. Although it was early and very quiet buying a round of 6 drinks seemed to be a big effort to work out for the staff. Having followed signs for seating and sat for approx 20 mins we were then asked to leave this area as it was apparently closed! We were moved into the cold courtyard area where we finished our drinks. When buying drinks a deposit is required for the plastic containers. On returning these we were told one person could only return 2 at once despite being given 6 on buying the round. To make matters worse on returning these we were accused of bringing a container from another bar! Why would we do this? The bar wasn’t busy at this time and the staff really should have remembered serving us! In addition to this the ladies toilets were in a poor state (and this was at the start of their evening) with no soap, toilet roll or any method of drying hands. This is most definitely the most unwelcoming bar in Budapest and I would not recommend a visit.
Written February 20, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Guest, We are thankful for sharing your opinion regarding Fogasház! We heard it sadly that you werw not satisfied with us and you had some inconveniences. Please be assured that these are not usual at our hotel and please accept our apologies regarding it! It would be nice to welcome you back and prove the real professionalism which we work with here in Fogasház! Kind regards, Fogasház Management
Written February 21, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Márcio-André D
1 contribution
The most racist place in Budapest
Jan 2020
Foreigners, don't come. Fogashaz is no longer for us. I used to come to this place since I moved to Budapest seven years ago. But now it seems that everyone who works there has become racist and the security guards at the door are a group of violent skinheads who hate anyone who doesn't speak Hungarian. History of violence against foreigners at the entrance has been frequent.
Written February 20, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Guest, Please accept our deepest apologies regarding your inconvenience in our place and be assured that your complaint is taken seriously due to the fact that our staff welcomes everybody warmly and it is not usual here at all! Here at Fogasház we do not make difference between foreigners and Hungarians we treat them equally. We would be happy to welcome you back and prove the very best form of hospitality. Kind regards, Fogasház Management
Written February 21, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Annamaria D
1 contribution
Absolutely disgusting behavior
Feb 2020 • Solo
The staff is abusive, racist, homophobic, xenophobic and just plainly insane. A complete shame to Budapest. The bouncers belong in jail.
Written February 14, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Jessica R
3 contributions
Mixed review
Jan 2020 • Friends
Me and my friend came here on a Saturday night and it took us over 45 minutes to get in and once we had, everyone was very rude and shovey! This place was so busy you could hardly move and the bar staff were very rude, it was not made clear until getting to the bar that they were all cash only so we had to pay 1600 HUF to get cash out.
A new group of friends joined us and insisted going again the Sunday night, to my surprise it was loads better, I think maybe the over crowding of a Saturday night forced everyone in there to be rude.... if you are looking to go here I suggest saving it for any day other than a Saturday
Written January 27, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Guest, We really appreciate for visiting us and for taking your precious time to share your thoughts and experience with us. At the same time, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you faced. Thank you once again for your honest review about Fogasház! We hope you will give us an other chance to welcome you back again very soon! Kind regards, Fogasház Management
Written February 1, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Hannah B
Nantwich, UK6 contributions
Awful
Jan 2020 • Friends
Do not come here!! As an English person it was not a nice experience to come here - constantly shoved and harassed and then if you confront them they people get very aggressive with you. You have to PAY for toilet roll- we queued 40 minutes to get in here. Do not ignore- AVOID AVOID AVOID .
Written January 25, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Matt I
4 contributions
Quite poor
Jan 2020 • Couples
The bar itself is fun. Lots of rooms and different areas to drink.
The staff are horrendous, sitting on their phones behind the bar while customers line up.
Security sat watching YouTube videos while people waited to get in.
The bar staff automatically placed a tip on every drink order without even mentioning it to us. All they did was open a fridge and hand a bottle to us...
Written January 23, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Николай Т
Sheregesh, Russia30 contributions
Nice ruin bar
Dec 2019 • Friends
We have visited this bar recently with my friends. Design is not so sophisticated as it is for Szimpla Kert, but diversity of music is wider: from 2000ths gangsta rap to house, dnb and even some pop rock songs. We had a good time here.
No words about prices, everything is quite cheap especially if you live in Moscow.
Recommend to visit for Budapest's night life oversight.
Written December 21, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Nikolay_Tabakaev, For a start, allow us to express our most sincere gratitude to you for not regretting your time to write down and share your kind words with us on Tripadvisor. We are really happy that you decided to try out our place and you had a good time in our Fogasház. We are glad you were satisfied with our prices and special thanks to you for highlighting the different music genres. We genuinely hope that you were enriched by many memorable experience during the time you spent here and that you will come back to us soon. Kind regards, Fogasház Management
Written December 23, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Oliver_P
1 contribution
Humiliating, Disrespectful and Racist Security Guard
Dec 2019
We had an easy night on thursday with some of my friends, and we didn't want to go too crazy so we decided to go Fogas. We tried out the famous hungarian spirit called "palinka" which I think was awsome but not my friend..After the shot he was about to throw up, so we ran to the toilet instead of doing the thing there...

In less than 30 sec two security guys were banging and kicking the door as loud as possible. They were taking photos over the toilet as well. They forced us to leave the place beacuse we were taking drugs!?!? I tried to explain the situation but they were pushing us out and they were making humiliating sentences during that time that WE WERE GAYS! And we went there to SUCK EACH OTHER and so on..!! They were showing the picture around like "LOOK THE GAY GUYS"!!! HERE THEY ARE IN THE TOILET!

After we left the place waited for our friends they were keep humiliating us in front of all the guest standing outside.. and talking about drug issues, that our eyes are big and we are gays, so go home..

Crazy! And we just had our first shot, we spent like 10 min there! :) Unbelievable..

I just ask would that be really a problem if someone is gay? Such an unintelligent security staff!

MAXIMALLY DO NOT RECOMMEND THE PLACE GUYS!
Written December 6, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Guest, We are thankful for your shared review regarding Fogasház! We are so sorry for the aforementioned situation, please accept our deepest apologies. Also, please be assured that we will look after the situation because it is not usual at all at our place. At our place we welcome everyone with the same friendly attitude and we love to entertain our guests! Once again, we are sorry for your inconvenience! Kind regards, Hotel Management
Written February 1, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Laura
19 contributions
Not even one star
Nov 2019 • Couples
Absolutely disgraceful staff!!!!
The man and women working on the bar on the left side as you walk in (Friday the 15th). We went in to have a drink for my boyfriends 28th birthday to be greeted by the most miserable women that we have ever came across. We ordered our drinks after being rushed. She passed over my boyfriends IPA and then we realised they only took cash which is strange considering the other bars took card so we expected it would be the same. I told her we didn’t know and she shouted at us saying go to the cash point then another member of staff started shouting at me and my boyfriend saying that we should know that they don’t take card and that we should’ve asked as soon as we got to the bar. We left straight away there’s no need to waste your money in that absolute dive of a place with the most arrogant, vile,and disgusting staff!! Many other amazing places to visit where you don’t get treated like crap.
STAY FAR AWAY FROM THIS PLACE
Written November 17, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 227
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing