We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Culinary Hungary Home Cooking Class and Market Tour

Budapest, Hungary
More
About Culinary Hungary Home Cooking Class and Market Tour
Join our hands-on home cooking classes for a fun and interactive experience with an insight into history, culture, food, wine and tradition. Visitors to Budapest often count Hungarian cuisine as one of the most memorable parts of their trip. Culinary Hungary's intimate, in-home cooking classes allow you to learn to cook Hungarian in a relaxing environment. Add a market tour and you will end up with a one-of-a-kind, delicious Budapest experience. Hosts Agnes and Andrew, a native Hungarians, will guide you through Hungarian food and cooking techniques spiced up with interesting stories in a lovely Budapest apartment. All lessons are hands-on and held in English. No cooking skills required. Lessons end with eating your very own home-cooked Hungarian meals.
Read more
Tours and Tickets by Culinary Hungary Home Cooking Class and Market Tour
Overview
The Great Market Hall is Budapest’s biggest covered market, but with three stories to explore, it’s hard to know where to start. Make the most of the market on a tour that showcases its wares and their place in Hungary’s cuisine and culture. Peruse the stalls, get your guide’s take on the products, and enjoy tastings equivalent to a meal—all to ensure a more enriching experience than visiting independently.
231Reviews5Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 225
  • 4
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
msbourgeois wrote a review Jan 2020
Biloxi, Mississippi6 contributions3 helpful votes
Met with Andrew at the Hungarian Food Market for a look at the freshest vegetables and meats! He took us through the market for some samples of local foods, then on to his apartment for some cooking! We made Goulash soup with pinched noodles, cabbage rolls and poppyseed bread pudding! We had such a fun time with Andrew—he was very personable and funny! The food was EXCELLENT! I would highly recommend him if you are interested in a great experience! 👍🏻
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Ian W wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
This was a very worthwhile tour in which to take part. Andrew took the 2 Queenslanders on a very interesting walk around Budapest’s Central Market Building - the building an historical attraction in itself, the people watching (locals getting their supplies) irresistible, the range of food and other goods gobsmacking, and the local tastes to which he introduced us mouthwatering! (hint - don’t have a big breakfast beforehand). Then it was into a cab and off to Andrew’s kitchen to use the meat and veggies we’d purchased to good effect. Andrew showed us the local techniques to make (as we had requested) a goulash soup, paprika chicken and cottage cheese and apricot crepes - all accompanied by local wines. And the recipes follow by email. Delicious, interesting and educational. Highly recommended.
Read more
Helpful
Share
12071986 wrote a review Sep 2019
23 contributions10 helpful votes
I bought this cooking class for me and my Hungarian born fiancé. We both live in London and having attended a very poor cookery class in London recently, this one-on-one class more than made up for it. This was his birthday present for him whilst visiting his family in September 2019. We were not dissapointed with anything and he was so happy with the experience which was important given his background. Having grown up with these meals as a child, my fiancé was absolutely thrilled at being able to make them and their authenticity. The recipes are simple and accessible for everyone (to those who have written average reviews: you must do your research on Hungarian cuisine first because by it's nature it IS simple). The class equipped us with the confidence to understand the steps and replicate it easily at home. We found Andrew great: relaxed, friendly and very knowledgeable. Agnes was always prompt in responding and accommodated our request to make two desserts when he couldn't decide between his two childhood favourites :) Thank you for making this an authentic and special birthday gift!
Read more
Helpful
Share
lois L wrote a review Sep 2019
13 contributions6 helpful votes
Sadly I did not enjoy this private cooking class and market tour. I found Andrew who took the market tour, self centred and at times unprofessional which made for a long 6 hours. Additionally, the Buda apartment where the cooking class was conducted did not have air conditioning on a 30+ degree day, which made cooking and eating uncomfortable. After doing many cooking classes in other parts of the world, I found this one expensive and not enjoyable.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from AgnesBarath0, Owner at Culinary Hungary Home Cooking Class and Market Tour
Responded Sep 24, 2019
Dear Lois, TripAdvisor wants to provide reviews people can trust. Reading your review travelers would think that you wanted to book a private cooking class, you chose us and our service was poor. It is not the case, please let me paint a full picture of the situation. 1. You signed up for our market food tour combined with cooking class. We clearly say several times on our website that our cooking classes are private events. I also explained it in my email that I have sent to you. You agreed with that and confirmed it for 2 people. For me it meant that this was what you were looking for. Then it turned out at the market that you actually were looking for a group cooking class. Realizing it was a private session, you became disappointed. Here is what you wrote me in your email. „I failed to register it was a private class with just my husband and I which is possibly my fault. Had I realized this, I would not have booked the long session.” You did not read our website and my email properly, booked an experience that you were not looking for and was disappointed. I do not think this is our fault. 2. The first 90-120 minutes of this experience is the market tour with food samplings. Again, we explain on the website and three times in my email that you are going to sample Hungarian specialties at the market, please have just a light breakfast or no breakfast. You did not read it, arrived with full stomach and became frustrated that you had to eat. “As this is the start of the day, we had just had breakfast and so for me it was a waste as I could not appreciate the food or finish half the food.” We have 2 reasons to start the tour upstairs where the food stands are: A) The langos place and the other food stalls usually get very busy around 10:00-10:30, it takes too long to order food and there are not any free table to sit down or even just eat comfortably. B) If you eat a lot at the end of the tour, you will not be hungry by lunch time. Then you would complain that you could not eat the lunch that you have cooked in your cooking class, because you just had food at the market. If you book a market food tour with opportunities for tastings, please read the recommendations and do not eat before your tour or eat just a little, so you can appreciate the country’s local specialties. I guess that is why people book culinary experiences. According to your email, you became disinterested by the time you got around to cooking and found Andrew self-centered, he talked a lot about himself without interacting with you and was unprofessional. I think it is very hard to contact people who are disinterested, but he did his best to tell you about Hungary’s culture, culinary traditions, eating and shopping habits. He showcases culture, history, food through personal and other people's memories and experiences. He cannot showcase his city and his culture through textbooks and generic answers. He showcases it through himself. I am sorry to hear that they found it self-centered. Andrew has spent 4 years in professional kitchens, being totally up to date in current politics, culture, food trends, techniques, city happenings, food science. Hollywood stars, for example Mila Kunis and Ashton Kutcher picked Andrew to be their private chef and provide their daily meals during their 2-months stay in Budapest. I doubt they wanted an unprofessional chef to cook for them and their children for 8 weeks. 3. We offer a 100% money back guarantee to our clients. You can read it on our website and in the email I have sent you. “Our cooking program comes with a 100% money back guarantee. If at anytime during the cooking session you decide it is not for you, you are not satisfied with our service, or just expected something else, please let us know and you do not have to pay or we will be happy to refund your money. No question asked.” I figure 1.5-2 hours is enough time to decide if you do not wish to enjoy someone's company. We gave you the right to stop the tour and leave, even if it was not our fault. You could have said "I am sorry, I was looking for a group tour, I am not hungry, it is my fault that I did not read the tour information properly and booked this experience." Then just leave, not wasting your money, not wasting your and Andrew's time. Also, at the end of the day Andrew offered you not to pay, yet you did. I was happy to learn from your email that you very much enjoyed the food that you cooked in your cooking class. Agnes Barath
Read more
geldav wrote a review Sep 2019
Melbourne, Australia203 contributions128 helpful votes
Andrew is a creative chef. We shopped at the Market and after a little retail therapy we created a menu and shopped across the market for the ingredients. We had great fun with the cooking and learnt a few new tricks. Hungarian dishes will now start to appear on our own menu. We travelled from the market by taxi to a small apartment on the Buda side. Everything was well organised, hands on and details explained. Afterwards we caught a tram just up the road back to the Pest side where we were staying. At the market Andrew purchases some samples of different dishes for us to taste. A really good experience.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456