We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Slovenian Dinner Experience

Ljubljana, Slovenia
More
About Slovenian Dinner Experience
Authentic Slovenian dinner interwind with laughter, education about the food and getting to know our culture.
Read more

Slovenian Dinner Experience
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
15Reviews0Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
lenart wrote a review Nov 2019
Klagenfurt, Austria5 contributions6 helpful votes
We really liked our Slovenian Dinner Experience. It is definitely not a typical going out for dining event. We enjoyed lavish dinner setting, games were super funny and activities were not dry at all :) Place also has great interior design. We will definitely recommend you to our friends and colleagues. Cheers to the best team!
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
STess05 wrote a review Oct 2019
Albuquerque, New Mexico37 contributions34 helpful votes
There are a lot of good reviews about this “experience” on Trip Advisor. Usually, I can count on the reviews here; but for the first time, they let me down. I booked this event for six people. I received a confirmation email with a two different addresses. First, I went to the listed address on the Slovenian Experience website. At six in the evening that location had little or no traffic. Through the window, I could see a basic room that looked like a small school cafeteria. No one was there. We went to the second address. This was more of what I expected. It was a cozy kitchen with a dining area. A young women stood in front talking to six people. When I told her why I was there and that we were a group of six, she looked disconcerted. She had no reservation for us and she said we were at a cooking class. Moreover, before I walked in, two other unexpected guests had arrived. She called her manager. I spoke with her manager who told me that we did not have a reservation. When I said that we had booked with Slovenian Experience on Trip Advisor, she seemed incredulous. I explained that both the cooking class address and the abandoned location address had been on my confirmation email. She then told me that the two things were related, but she had no reservation for us at either. She clearly doubted my reservation. I texted her my confirmation email and my receipt. Ultimately, she admitted a mistake. Whether it was due to a website malfunction or disorganization was never clear. Because the cooking class could not accommodate an additional six people, she asked if we could come back tomorrow, but we could not. An hour later, while my group of six was actually having dinner, she called and said that she could book us somewhere else for dinner that night, but it was too little, too late. My credit card has been reimbursed. We were disappointed that we never got to have the experience so highly praised on this website. But the experience I had undermines its rave reviews. The venue did not look all that great and while the girl at the cooking class was very nice, everyone else’s knee jerk reaction was to assume we were the ones who had made a mistake. And, I guess we did.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Sloveniandinnerexper, Guest Relations Manager at Slovenian Dinner Experience
Responded Oct 18, 2019
Thank you for your review. We honestly apologize that you were not able to participate in our Slovenian Dinner Experience. Due to a technical problem we have never received your reservation. When you made this reservation you also received an automatic reply i.e. email confirmation. However, reservation was not processed into our booking calendar and that is why our stuff was not able to organize this experience for that day. We are very glad that our young moderators was able to assist you upon your visit to the second location where they had cooking class organized at the time. We also organize cooking class which was fully booked on that day, Otherwise, it would be our pleasure to host you on our cooking class experience as an alternative interactive choice. We hope that restaurant recommendations our moderator gave you were useful. We are aware that Slovenian restaurant visit is not the same as the interactive experience that we organize and that is why we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you in the near future on our experience! We hope that you will have good memories of Slovenian national dishes and that you managed to taste some of the traditional recipes of which we are very proud.
Read more
Penny Mars wrote a review Oct 2019
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Although I'm not that into cuisine, I really enjoyed the Slovenian dinner experience. Glad my friend insisted. They explained it in a fun way, we were included in the making of sausages which I loved! I learned so much about food tradition and history that I started to appreciated more. And the wine was excellent! If you happen to be in Ljubljana, instead of going to a dinner in a restaurant, go to the dinner experience.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Sloveniandinnerexper, Guest Relations Manager at Slovenian Dinner Experience
Responded Oct 18, 2019
Thank you for your review! We are glad that you have great experience trying our national dishes and wines in a little bit different setting and atmosphere :) We hope that you will have some lasting memories and of course photso from this dinner!
Read more
danijcohen wrote a review Sep 2019
3 contributions
At first we were a bit sceptical if we would get enough to eat as we know modern cuisine isn't famous for its rich dishes. We were happy when we saw that we would actually EAT! :-) This Slovenian dinner experience is both delicious and interesting. And really soooooo much food, at the end we could hardly walk :-) Chapeau!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Sloveniandinnerexper, Guest Relations Manager at Slovenian Dinner Experience
Responded Oct 18, 2019
Thank you for your review and for taking this step into experiencing something different but still delicious :) We thank you for your kind words and for your rating!
Read more
Alex G wrote a review Aug 2019
3 contributions1 helpful vote
You can go to a restaurant like we usually do or you can go for something different. I wanted to surprise my girlfriend for our anniversary and I organized a Slovenian dinner experience. We had a wonderful time, learned a lot and ate like royalties!
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Sloveniandinnerexper, Guest Relations Manager at Slovenian Dinner Experience
Responded Oct 18, 2019
Dear Alex thank you for choosing this unique experience as your gift. We are very glad to hear that it was a successful surprise and we hope that you made some amazing photos to remember this delicious dinner ;)
Read more
Previous