Židovské Muzeum v Praze
Židovské Muzeum v Praze
4
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
About
The expositions of the Jewish Museum in Prague are located in four historical synagogues (Maisel Synagogue, Klausen Synagogue with the Ceremonial Hall, Pinkas Synagogue and Spanish Synagogue). The museum tour further includes the Old Jewish Cemetery and Robert Guttmann Gallery. The museum is open daily except Saturdays and other Jewish holidays: 9 a.m. – 6 p.m. (summer time) and 9 a.m. – 4.30 p.m. (winter time). Tickets can be purchased at the museum’s ticket offices, Information and Reservation Centre (Maiselova 15, Prague 1) or in the museum's e-shop.
Duration: 2-3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
Top ways to experience Židovské Muzeum v Praze
The area
Address
Neighborhood: Josefov
Josefov houses Prague’s Jewish community. This small neighborhood centered around Široká street is completely surrounded by Staré Město (Old Town). As the former Jewish Ghetto, today all that remains are a few synagogues and the oldest surviving Jewish cemetery in Europe. The narrow streets were once small enough that a person could touch the houses on both sides. You can still feel the dignity and history this neighborhood carries in its legacy as Franz Kafka’s birthplace. Nearby streets are full of kosher restaurants, museums and antique bookstores.
How to get there
  • Old Town • 5 min walk
  • Lesser • 10 min walk
Reach out directly
See what travelers are saying
  • F00lishTraveler
    Savannah, Georgia278 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Spectacular, historic sites - DO NOT MISS
    Wow! One ticket gets you entry to the Old-New, Maisel, Pinkas, Klausen, and Spanish synagogues plus the Cermonial Hall and the Old Jewish Cemetery. That's SEVEN sites for about 75 CZK each (around $3 each). Bargain! And you will be wowed by at least a couple of them. Every Holocaust denier should be FORCED to visit the Pinkas with tens of thousands of names memorialized on the walls. Old New synagogue is probably the most historic, Spanish the most spectacular (highly decorative Moorish style) and cemetery is perhaps the most moving. You can get an audio guide or be escorted by a human guide. This was mostly what we made the trip to Prague to do and it did not disappoint.
    Thank you very much and we´ll be pleased to see you again in the museum.
    Written July 25, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Written July 6, 2023
  • Brett A
    New York City, New York5 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    A lot to go through and expensive but we’ll worth it.
    Excellent review of the beginnings and end of a 1000 years of Czech Jewish existence. There is a ton of information well presented to go through. If spending enough time in Prague I would break the six visits through two or three different days. Returning to a site requires a lot of begging. Unfortunate as we got a late start and some of the party wanted to break for lunch. This would have meant no-readmittance to the synagogue we were in which would have been unfortunate as the material and presentation was excellent and deserved a complete review.
    Thank you very much and we´ll be pleased to see you again in the museum.
    Written August 7, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited August 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written August 5, 2023
  • mikebstravels
    Didcot, United Kingdom929 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Interesting but overpriced
    First off, there are multiple ticket options, and the lady at the Spanish Synagogue ticket office was unhelpful and extremely rude. She only wanted to sell the full ticket, didn't want to explain the other options and when the man in front asked for a ticket without audio guide she ranted at him 'you think you save 5 euros by not getting a guide but you waste 20 euros by not knowing what anything is'. At this point, we decided to leave and almost didn't bother to visit at all but decided to sit outside and research ticket options online. Once we knew the ticket and prices we went in and bought what we wanted. In terms of the museum, the Spanish Synagogue is beautiful, the names in the wall of Pinkas thought provoking, but the rest was a little bland. There were enough descriptions in each place not to need the audio guide, but in general, we felt it very overpriced for what you see. Would suggest revisiting prices and training staff in politeness.
    Dear visitor, thank you for your opinion. Please accept our apologies. Please be assured that we take customer complaints seriously. Please contact us at office@jewishmuseum.cz and at daniel@e-boutique.cz - specify the date of your visit to the museum and if the person was at the first checkout or the back-side checkout. Thank you. Sincerely JMP
    Written August 9, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited August 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written August 6, 2023
  • Jeff456789
    Bristol, United Kingdom319 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Limited on detail and way too crowded.
    Wouldn't recommend this, not very informative at all and far too overcrowded. Felt like I was in a huge conveyor belt of people shuffling round quite frankly fairly boring exhibits with next to no information. Not a patch on say the POLIN museum in Warsaw which is fantastic.
    Thank you for your review.
    Written November 27, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited November 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written November 26, 2023
  • Jon B
    86 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Must see
    Must visit . Started pinkas shul its devastatingly sad 80.000 plus names of jewish victims of germany . I believe names in red survived not sure . Another floor has drawing paintings of what happened how kids dreamed of going back to reality many drawings pics are of terizin . Old cemeterys part of it . Klausen shuls about costumes triditions so is ceremonial hall. Maisel shul history of jews in prague and beyond excellent stunning inside . Old new shul was a memorial to victims of palastinian brutality . Pray some hostages return . Spanish shul was on the holocaust another excellent display . Guttmann gallery shut sadly he died lodz ghetto .
    Visited April 2024
    Traveled solo
    Written April 7, 2024
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles3,322 reviews
Excellent
1,642
Very good
973
Average
408
Poor
183
Terrible
116

David M
St. Albans, UK7 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2024 • Couples
The museum exhibits themselves are informative, moving and very interesting. The audio guide is also pretty good, but could give better directions in places so we know what too look at.

The customer service, on the other hand, is surprisingly lacking. I tried to check before visiting where I could collect an audio guide. The website says you can get one at Pinkas Synagogue but the person responding to information centre emails point blank refused to answer a single question about the audio guides, instead directing me to the email address of the company that makes the guides. That company didn't respond, which is hardly surprising as how would they know how the Jewish Museum distributes them? Instead, I queued up on the day at Pinkas only to be told they don't have them and to go queue at the information centre instead. No idea why they refused to tell me that in advance.

At the information centre, I learnt that it is completely impossible to use the toilets without a paper ticket. They sell digital tickets and it scanned fine at the exhibits, but the toilets accept only paper tickets. I asked about this, expecting to be let in when I explained the situation. Instead I was told I had to buy something from the cafe! Eventually I was let in by a man who made sure to indicate what a tremendous inconvenience it was by his poor attitude. If it is so much bother for people to have digital tickets, why sell them?
Written April 23, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Isaline L
Paris, France2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2023 • Solo
I enjoyed the tour very much, which I think is a must-see in Prague, especially if you want to learn more about the city's Jewish history.

However, the price leaves a bitter taste... I paid 480 CZK for the ticket giving access to all the monuments except the Old-New Synagogue. I didn't pay much attention to the price when I paid, as the person at the ticket office was very friendly and told me I could benefit from the student rate, so I felt confident. What an unpleasant surprise when I discovered the price I'd paid afterwards... I tried to find out what justified such a price but on the museum's website, it was impossible to find a student rate corresponding to the price I'd paid. Reading some of the reviews, I also discovered that the audio guide was apparently not included, but optional (for a fee), something I was not at all informed about at the ticket office.

Not being transparent about the prices charged, letting customers believe they're getting a reduced rate, not informing them that the audio guide is optional and systematically adding it without asking permission... All very dishonest practices if they turn out to be real.

I would therefore appreciate an explanation of the rate I was charged, which would perhaps help to improve this overall poor opinion despite a very high quality visit.
Written January 5, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

mikebstravels
Didcot, UK929 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023 • Family
First off, there are multiple ticket options, and the lady at the Spanish Synagogue ticket office was unhelpful and extremely rude. She only wanted to sell the full ticket, didn't want to explain the other options and when the man in front asked for a ticket without audio guide she ranted at him 'you think you save 5 euros by not getting a guide but you waste 20 euros by not knowing what anything is'. At this point, we decided to leave and almost didn't bother to visit at all but decided to sit outside and research ticket options online. Once we knew the ticket and prices we went in and bought what we wanted. In terms of the museum, the Spanish Synagogue is beautiful, the names in the wall of Pinkas thought provoking, but the rest was a little bland. There were enough descriptions in each place not to need the audio guide, but in general, we felt it very overpriced for what you see. Would suggest revisiting prices and training staff in politeness.
Written August 6, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear visitor, thank you for your opinion. Please accept our apologies. Please be assured that we take customer complaints seriously. Please contact us at office@jewishmuseum.cz and at daniel@e-boutique.cz - specify the date of your visit to the museum and if the person was at the first checkout or the back-side checkout. Thank you. Sincerely JMP
Written August 9, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

TravelerTrecker
Houston833 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2022
This is a wonderful museum on the history of the Jewish community in Prague. The history of the community and the traditions are described through the different sites that include 5 synagogues (the Old-New, the Klausen, the Pinkas, the Maisel, and the Spanish synagogues), the Ceremonial Hall, the Old Cemetery, and the Robert Guttmann gallery.

I recommend buying the full ticket at the main ticket office . It is not too crowded and the staff is very good. Get the audio guide. You don't need guides or tours. Explanations are very good and more time important you need freedom and time to visit the different sites.

Some people say that the ticket is expensive; I don't think so. The ticket price is 22 US dollars and covers the eight sites and is possible to use for 7 consecutive days. In reality, you are paying less than 3 dollars for each site.

Every site is impressive and unique. You may need a whole day to visit the museum. The eight sites are close to each other and walking from one to the other, gives you the opportunity to enjoy Josefov, the Jewish quarter.
Written February 19, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you very much and we´ll be pleased to see you again in the museum.
Written February 20, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

seanspacegirl
Merritt Island, FL20 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2022
The Museum includes options to see many buildings/synagogs within the Jewish Quarter in Prague. The audio tour was a great way to explain what we were seeing and the history behind each area. I liked that the museum covered a much larger history of Jewish culture than just the Holocaust. Plus it was nice to walk in the quarter even on a cold day. Recommend seeing all the museum has to offer, old and new!
Written May 3, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you very much and we´ll be pleased to see you again in the museum.
Written May 4, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kellye P
15 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2023 • Couples
Nope. Don’t waste your time. It’s expensive unless you wanna pay more to get a recorded walking tour. The buildings are all spread out and you don’t know how to find them. The $40 does not get you to every single Jewish site. We went to one site and was told we could pay for that site but that our $40 ticket did not count for that particular synagogue
Written July 23, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Good morning, we're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit to the Jewish Museum. The Jewish Museum Prague (JMP) offers two types of tickets. The first type is for the Jewish Museum only, which does not include entry to the Old-New Synagogue (where, according to your review, you intended to go), admission is 20 USD, i. e. 40 USD for two tickets you purchased. The second type of ticket is for the Prague Jewish Quarter, and it costs 25 USD. We apologize for any confusion in locating our sites. There is a map available at the Information and Reservation Centre, and you can also find one on the ticket itself.
Written July 28, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Daria
Tel Aviv, Israel164 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020
If you are a Jew like me and know at least basic customs and traditions (and history of European Jews too) then all displayed in synagogues and ceremonial hall won't be so interesting , although I do think that this is the must to visit all places included in tour/ticket. The Pinkas synagogue with memorial of Shoah victims and childrens drawings from Terezin ghetto were the most impressive and breathtaking experience, I cried a lot. Old Jewish cemetery was very calm and this probably was the only one place where I really found audioguide to be useful.

PS. Was shocked when spanish tourist asked me to take her photo on the cemetery in front of old tombs. I didn't know such arrogant people exist. Please don't do this, and Synagogues along with Ceremonial hall is not a good place for selfies either. Prague is pretty enough and has a lot of beautiful places for photos.
Written January 24, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your review and we´ll be pleased to see you again in the museum.
Written February 26, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

F00lishTraveler
Savannah, GA278 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2023
Wow! One ticket gets you entry to the Old-New, Maisel, Pinkas, Klausen, and Spanish synagogues plus the Cermonial Hall and the Old Jewish Cemetery. That's SEVEN sites for about 75 CZK each (around $3 each). Bargain! And you will be wowed by at least a couple of them. Every Holocaust denier should be FORCED to visit the Pinkas with tens of thousands of names memorialized on the walls. Old New synagogue is probably the most historic, Spanish the most spectacular (highly decorative Moorish style) and cemetery is perhaps the most moving. You can get an audio guide or be escorted by a human guide. This was mostly what we made the trip to Prague to do and it did not disappoint.
Written July 6, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you very much and we´ll be pleased to see you again in the museum.
Written July 26, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Brett A
New York City, NY5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023 • Family
Excellent review of the beginnings and end of a 1000 years of Czech Jewish existence. There is a ton of information well presented to go through. If spending enough time in Prague I would break the six visits through two or three different days. Returning to a site requires a lot of begging. Unfortunate as we got a late start and some of the party wanted to break for lunch. This would have meant no-readmittance to the synagogue we were in which would have been unfortunate as the material and presentation was excellent and deserved a complete review.
Written August 6, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you very much and we´ll be pleased to see you again in the museum.
Written August 8, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Peter R
Provo, UT7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2022
Fantastic experience. Our tour guide, Dagmar Markova, is the best. Very kind, knowledgeable, and professional. You can feel the passion that Dagmar has for her job and if I could I would give her ten stars I would. I will request her again and would recommend her to all of you. Thank you!
Written May 1, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you very much and we´ll be pleased to see you again in the museum.
Written May 2, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 1,724
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Židovské Muzeum v Praze - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Prague HotelsPrague Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Prague
All things to do in Prague
Day Trips in Prague
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars