We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Butterfly Train

Valley of the Butterflies | Butterfly Valley, Petaloudes 851 00, Greece
+30 694 077 4608
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
No train to come back

At one o'clock there is no more train until 15 o'clock this is terrible to wait 2 hours without... read more

Reviewed October 10, 2017
Marlene H
via mobile
Does the job

The train to get up the valley of the butterflies was €4.50 each, and it does the job to get you up... read more

Reviewed August 20, 2017
LizzieLivo
,
England, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 28 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The “Butterfly Valley” has an unknown secret. The historic Monastery of “Kalopetra” (Good Stone). The Butterfly Valley is visited by thousands of tourists seasonally, but the monastery due to the location is missed by the majority. Why? With a distance of 1.5 klm of steep climb to the summit it is virtually impossible to reach, even by those who choose to walk to the top of the Butterfly Valley. Sounds tedious? Our convenient butterfly train can change that! It’s route within the valley is available to transport you up to the summit where you can visit this amazing historical monastery, dedicated to the Virgin Mary, built in 1780 in the exact same location as the original which dates back to the 13th century. Plus... it is a perfect opportunity to also experience some breathtaking views over the Butterfly valley, the coastline of Rhodes, and some of the Dodecanese islands, as well as the Turkish coastline. From the summit there is an entrance into the Butterfly Valley where you can follow the river down through the verdant valley full of small waterfalls, ponds and wooden bridges back to the entrance or alternatively just hop back on the butterfly train for the decent.
  • Excellent14%
  • Very good30%
  • Average28%
  • Poor21%
  • Terrible7%
Aug 20, 2017
“Does the job”
Oct 10, 2017
“No train to come back”
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Suggested Duration: < 1 hour
LOCATION
Valley of the Butterflies | Butterfly Valley, Petaloudes 851 00, Greece
CONTACT
Website
+30 694 077 4608
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2017 via mobile

At one o'clock there is no more train until 15 o'clock this is terrible to wait 2 hours without nothing to do .More

3  Thank Marlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly T, Public Relations Manager at Butterfly Train, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017

Dear Marlene, We don't thank you at all for your comments about the Butterfly train and the Butterfly Valley. -You are complaining because there were no butterflies during October - well of course there aren't any because on this period they are hibernating. -You are...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile

The train to get up the valley of the butterflies was €4.50 each, and it does the job to get you up the steep incline, however it is very slow and when the carriages are full it feels like it will roll backwards! Good for...More

Thank LizzieLivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile

At €4.50 each that doubles the entrance fee to the Valley itself! The train is nice if you're too hot to walk any more (or the Valley is just too busy), but it is a complete waste of money and you're missing out on the...More

Thank juliaandadam123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2017 via mobile

It was a particularly hot day when we visited butterfly 🦋 valley Definitely the right decision to take train up to monestry and then walk down through the valley , we could just wander down with ease 👍

Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2017

An essential on a hot day takes you from the lower car park of the butterfly valley to the top where there is a small orthodox monastary (well worth a look , free!) Ride itself is more for kids (but essential when its hot as...More

Thank Peter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2017 via mobile

We used the train on the return leg to Tholos. Route and times need to be displayed better. Slow way to travel a long distance.

Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2016 via mobile

From the monastery at the top of the valley to the main half way point was a whopping € 4.50 each. If you want to go up and walk down the fine but overpriced and nowt special.

1  Thank theflyingdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2016

The Butterfly valley has two options to view. 1. Park at the top of the hill and walk down, or 2, park at the bottom of the valley and walk up. Whichever option you choose, you have the benefit of taking the Butterfly train up...More

Thank Gadi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

We rode the train to the top of the valley. The views were amazing. Everyone including the children had a wonderful time

Thank Sam2030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2015 via mobile

We used the train to go down the hill to the Parking1. It was really good as we were tired after the valley and it was really sunny outside. Everything was good, just the price for the train is too high (4€ per person)

Thank Justinas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
wendy m
May 27, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from wendy m |
Thank you
0
Votes
Trevor G
July 8, 2016|
Answer
Response from David V | Property representative |
for July the departure program is 09:30-10:00-10:30-12:00-12:30-13:00
1
Vote