We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunreef

Features Animals
Closed Now: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Share
Book In Advance
Tours from Sunreef tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
96
All photos (96)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent81%
  • Very good10%
  • Average2%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travelers talk about
“whale swim”(18 reviews)
“hmas brisbane”(31 reviews)
“sun reef”(5 reviews)
About
Sunreef Mooloolaba is the longest established dive centre in the region and the largest dive centre in South East Queensland. Sunreef Mooloolaba offers Australia’s first Swim with Humpback Whales experience, from July to October each year, as well...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
The Wharf 123 Parkyn Pde | The Wharf Mooloolaba, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Website
+61 7 5444 5656
Call
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveler rating
177
23
6
9
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
177
23
6
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhale swimhmas brisbanesun reefwedgesamazing morninghumpback whalesdiving experiencewild animalsonce in a lifetimewhale watchingstaff were so friendlythese guysan incredible experiencedive shopsurface intervalamazing divefantastic trip
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 225 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Had a beautiful day out onto the ocean. Saw plenty of whales. You are literally boating around for whales and when you see them line up on the boat and make a mad dash with the fluoro guide to the Wales. It's hard work and...More

Thank MattyW100
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

when 6+ people spend the entire trip (3 hrs) vomitting, you know something’s wrong and it’s not just sea sickenss. you’ve been warning (because nobody will warn you).More

Thank Melbourne_commander
SunreefMooloolaba, Manager at Sunreef, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your comment. We realise that everyone is different in their resistance to seasickness, this activity is conducted in Open Sea Conditions as this is where the whales are. This is why in our product description and our booking confirmations we specifically reference...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I am studying at the USC for the semester and when my parents came to visit we decided we wanted to do a whale watching trip. We had been whale watching before, but never swimming with whales so we jumped at the opportunity. When we...More

Thank Courtney C
Reviewed 1 week ago

Fantastic dive at the HMAS Brisbane today. Ben and Grant were our guides with Ben driving the boat and Grant diving with us. Grant managed to find a stingray for us and also an octopus, both which we wouldn't have spotted on our own. On...More

Thank Michelle L
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The crew are amazing - very enthusiastic, passionate and knowledgeable. We saw some great whale action from the boat, with a couple of whales coming to check us out and putting on a show. At Sunreef they are very (rightly so) conscious of our safety,...More

Thank Clara D
SunreefMooloolaba, Manager at Sunreef, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Clara, Thanks for your review and for your understanding that we do operate 100% on the whales terms. We are sorry they were a little shy for you and look forward to seeing you back next year!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had no idea how breathtakingly beautiful whales could be, so to see them up close and actually swim in the water with these magnificent creatures was an experience I will not forget. The team at Sunreef were fantastic. We felt well instructed and well...More

Thank Jackie P
SunreefMooloolaba, Manager at Sunreef, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks so much Jackie. So glad you had such a good time. Hopefully we will see you soon for another aquatic adventure!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I went swimming with whales today onboard 4shore with Sunreef. It was an amazing experience the crew were very friendly and easy to get along with or ask questions to. A shout out to the crew we had today captain Bill along with Sherry, Matt...More

Thank bshowie45
SunreefMooloolaba, Manager at Sunreef, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks so much. We are really glad you enjoyed your 'whaley' experience with us. We hope to see you for another aquatic adventure soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I want to start by saying I understand that whales are sometimes just not interested in us humans. I had been looking forward to this swim for a couple of months. We went out and were disappointed that the whales were just not unto us....More

2  Thank Marnie72
SunreefMooloolaba, Manager at Sunreef, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Marnie, thanks for your review and for your feedback. Sorry you were disappointed. As you mentioned, and as we tell all our customers, it is a natural experience and 100% on the whales terms. Our swim with whales tours operate differently to whale watching...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My partner and I went on their 11.30am swim with the whales tour on 18th August and absolutely loved it! I can not stop raving about the professionalism of the crew as well as the fun environment they provided, knowledge and passion they had for...More

Thank babyfish657
SunreefMooloolaba, Manager at Sunreef, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Babyfish - thanks so much for the great feedback and for being such a great ambassador for us. We are really passionate about the whales and want everyone to love them as much as we do - we hope to see you and your...More

Reviewed August 11, 2018

Great fun and family friendly with very short travel time offshore. Beautiful backdrop. Crew were so friendly and fun to be with. The Wild One boat is a great platform for the whole experience. This nature experience will have you buzzing. Next time I hope...More

Thank Troy S
SunreefMooloolaba, Manager at Sunreef, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2018

Thanks Troy - hope we see you back again!

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 16 hotels in Mooloolaba
Beachcomber On The Spit
53 reviews
.15 miles away
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
195 reviews
.17 miles away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
319 reviews
.18 miles away
Landmark Resort
1,020 reviews
.24 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 195 restaurants in Mooloolaba
Rice Boi
188 reviews
.03 miles away
Good Bean
200 reviews
.21 miles away
See Restaurant
403 reviews
.07 miles away
Siam Thai Restaurant
142 reviews
.18 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 53 attractions in Mooloolaba
Mooloolaba Beach
1,535 reviews
.08 miles away
HMAS Brisbane
174 reviews
.08 miles away
Sea Life Sunshine Coast
1,614 reviews
.08 miles away
The Wharf
111 reviews
.17 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
y y
July 17, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from SunreefMooloolaba | Property representative |
Hi Geoff, Thanks for your question - so far we are having a fantastic season with some great encounters. The season peak is mid-August to mid to late-September, but we are already seeing lots of whale calves. Give the crew... More
1
Vote
Megathyy
April 12, 2016|
Answer
Response from SunreefMooloolaba | Property representative |
Hi, We run our scuba diving trips to the EX-HMAS Brisbane all year round! During the cooler months including June we experience some amazing visibility which makes this a magical time of year to dive! We also run our dive... More
1
Vote