We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Derwent Hunter Day Tours

Shingley Drive | Abell Point Marina South, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Share
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Derwent Hunter Day Tours tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
More Info
$131.50*
and up
Tallship Sailing and Snorkeling Adventure from the Whitsundays
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Tall Ship Reef Adventure. Day Sailing on board the Australian legend Derwent Hunter. Whitsunday Islands, Great Barrier Reef. Help sail, snorkell fringing reefs, explore coral atolls of Langford Reef and Bali Hai. Multi award winning for adventure and eco tourism. Departs Airlie Beach.
  • Excellent79%
  • Very good15%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“tall ship” (30 reviews)
“sailing ship” (16 reviews)
“chocolate cake” (14 reviews)
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Shingley Drive | Abell Point Marina South, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tall ship"
in 30 reviews
"sailing ship"
in 16 reviews
"chocolate cake"
in 14 reviews
"day trip"
in 45 reviews
"fish"
in 49 reviews
"beautiful ship"
in 6 reviews
"actual sailing"
in 5 reviews
"morning tea"
in 17 reviews
"snorkeling spots"
in 11 reviews
"stinger suits"
in 17 reviews
"langford island"
in 5 reviews
"for sale"
in 4 reviews
"whitsunday islands"
in 17 reviews
"food was great"
in 10 reviews
"biscuits"
in 8 reviews
"plenty of food"
in 6 reviews
"small group"
in 8 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 315 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2018

Day trip taken with my wife and grandson March 2018 and it turned out to be way above our expectations. The 3 person crew Pete,Aimee and Nigel went out of their way to ensure we were safe at all times,their knowledge of sailing,the coral,fish and...More

1  Thank cprussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2018 via mobile

Unfortunately our day trip experience on the Derwent Hunter didn’t quite match up to the other reviews. Objectively I had an OK day, but I didn’t find it a very exciting day trip. There was not much to be seen at the first snorkelling spot...More

Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo L, Owner at Derwent Hunter Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2018

Thanks for taking the time to review us, we always welcome feedback. With your comments relating to snorkelling, we do recommend that you take your time with the snorkelling which is why we offer two snorkelling locations with plenty of in water time. Nature doesn't...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2018

Wonderful way to spend a day sailing, even helping the crew (if you want to) raise and lower the sails. Friendlies crew there is and love a laugh, kept us entertained from start to finnish and so professional too. Food on board was awesome, knowledge...More

Thank Eddy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2018 via mobile

Had a great day out with the Derwent Hunter and her crew. They were all very professional but at the same time happy to chat. Very knowledgeable on the area. The visibility for snorkelling was not great but nothing the crew could control. We got...More

Thank Cam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2018 via mobile

We had an amazing day out on the Derwent Hunter! We went on this trip with our 3 children aged 7, 5 and 6months. It was the perfect family day out. The ship was beautiful, and although we got a bit wet at times and...More

Thank Lea1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2018

We had an excellent chill & thrill package.....the old girl was magnificent with an amazing 2 girl crew and their pirate (Nigel) Loved loved loved it my boys said. I did tooo.

Thank Aurelia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2018

I was lucky enough to spend a day on the Derwent Hunter in October 2017. A brilliant day out. Would highly recommend this ship if you are after a relaxed atmosphere, and an authentic sailing ship, (which will sail under sail if the weather and...More

Thank MelA642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo L, Owner at Derwent Hunter Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2018

Many thanks for your review, great to hear about your day :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2018 via mobile

We did a day trip on the Derwent Hunter on 15 Jan - it came highly recommended by the team at the campsite we were staying at, they said it was the best and they were right! We loved the trip out to the reef,...More

Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo L, Owner at Derwent Hunter Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2018

Wonderful to hear that we were able to form part of your honeymoon memories, many thanks for your kind comments, and we hope to see you back one day:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2018 via mobile

Great day, great crew,really knowledgeable, big fun, good food and they had Swiss roll. Highly recommend it.

Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo L, Owner at Derwent Hunter Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2018

Thanks for the taking the time to review us, we really do appreciate it. Enjoy the rest of your travels :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2018 via mobile

I went on the Derwent Hunter day tour on Christmas Eve 2017 and it was fantastic. The Whitsundays are beautiful and it was fun sailing through the Whitsundays on the Derwent Hunter. The staff were friendly and very laid back. One of the staff members...More

Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo L, Owner at Derwent Hunter Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2018

Thanks Cindy for trusting us with your Christmas Eve, great to hear that you had a wonderful day. All the best for 2018 :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 10 hotels in Airlie Beach
Airlie Beach Motor Lodge
171 reviews
.22 miles away
Adventure Island Resort
151 reviews
.25 miles away
at Marina Shores
438 reviews
.27 miles away
Whitsunday on the Beach
168 reviews
.47 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Cafe One 3
299 reviews
.31 miles away
Little Vegas Burger & Bar
697 reviews
.41 miles away
Treehouse
134 reviews
.44 miles away
Shuckz Oyster & Champagne Bar
76 reviews
.43 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Abell Point Marina
100 reviews
.00 miles away
Shute Harbour
267 reviews
.17 miles away
Conway National Park
22 reviews
.17 miles away
Whitsunday Jetski Tours
2,477 reviews
.19 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Maggie G
February 17, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Jo L | Property representative |
Hi Maggie, We take a maximum of 39 guests (25-30 on average), there is no formal "chair'seating but plenty of cabin top space to sit.
0
Votes
sillyassfog
April 3, 2016|
Answer
Response from Jo L | Property representative |
Hi Paul, thanks for , the message, great to hear that you enjoyed your trip so much. We now offer day trips sailing in the Whitsundays, if you want a couple of days we do combo with ocean Rafting called "Thrill n Chill" for... More
0
Votes
;