Sileni
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
About
Come visit our winery set in the beautiful Bridge Pa Triangle of Hawke's Bay. We offer wine tastings, platters full or delicious local goodies and don't forget to take a bottle of wine or two home with you. Sign up to our wine club to receive 10% off your online, phone or cellar door wine purchases.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.

Top ways to experience Sileni and nearby attractions

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles183 reviews
Excellent
135
Very good
31
Average
6
Poor
5
Terrible
6

Composs
Lakewood, Australia26 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 • Friends
We went on a tour through Princess Cruises excursions to Sileni Estate and we were bitterly disappointed.
The lady who was pouring the wines for tasting rushed us through them , even to the point we barely had time to taste and enjoy before the next one was poured .
It was right on lunchtime and no, we weren’t expecting lunch but it would have been nice to have a little cheese or crackers or even water on the table! Our friend had a coughing fit and was offered a glass of water but no other tables were offered any .
We felt rushed, it was as if they didn’t want to deal with any more tourists..
Sorry, didn’t buy any wine , or anything from the very small gift shop.. We had intended to buy some wines as we do love NZ wines but didn’t because of their attitude.
Not recommended I’m afraid
Written March 9, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi there, We are really sorry to hear you had a poor experience at your wine tasting. Our Cellar Door staff love hosting our guests and showcasing our wines so we will follow up what went wrong on that day. Was it Monday the 9th March that you were here? If you would like to contact us directly please feel free to do so on info@sileni.co.nz
Written March 10, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Daisy W
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2022
We came here a couple of years ago for a birthday celebration and I absolutely loved the vibe of this place. The staff were chill, fun and super accommodating to our needs. I decided we could not leave Sileni off the list when we came back to do the bike wine tour in the weekend for a joint 24th & 25th birthday celebration. Platters were absolutely destroyed by our group and the wines were our favourites of the day. Highly highly recommend!
Written November 20, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

mncrbest
Stroud, UK595 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020
Full tour of the production plant (one hour) for our group of twelve followed by an eight wine tasting.Emphasis on Sauvignon Blanc (x 3) but also outstanding Syrah. All followed by a comprehensive cold platter with local cheeses and of course lots more wine.

A great and fulfilling visit with an excellent guide/tutor.
Written March 14, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Renee M
Hamilton, New Zealand62 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022 • Friends
We went on Easter Saturday and the customer service by the woman at the bar was disgusting. There were only a few tables outside with people and she told us that she couldn't deal with us for a tasting and we really should of booked for the busiest day of the year. It's the 'busiest day', though she couldn't even provide the people in front of us a full cold bottle of bubbles as the only one cold was open. Her tone was rude and she should get another job if that's how she's going to treat customers. I had never been to that winery before and I won't be going back.
Written April 22, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Robbie S
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2024 • Family
Terrible experience from the welcome to the exit. Staff obviously at odds with one another. We were told there was a wine your coming that needed our table almost as soon as we sat down. Staff the served us were rude particularly singling one guest out as old and unable to understand the tasting. We were rushed and generally made to feel unwelcome. I am a local in HB and very disappointed if this is what guests to our region are encountering. Better to have the doors shut than let customers see this type of behaviour.
Written January 12, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Wayne N
Sydney, Australia2,522 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 • Couples
The service we got at Sileni Estates was outstanding.

Not a lot of people around as it was late afternoon. But we were not rushed, the host guided us through the wines.

Most enjoyable experience great vineyard!

Bathroom available. Does not serve lunch. Does have small delicatessen.
Written January 10, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We are so glad you enjoyed your visit. Please come back again soon!
Written March 10, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Darren H
Wellington, New Zealand49 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020
Wow - so much better than I expected. I've been a bit of a wine snob and have not previous visited Sileni. I went there after a bad experience at another vineyard and wow it was the polar opposite. The staff were helpful and friendly and doing tastings all day is not easy. I arrived at about 4pm so they must have been tired but it didnt show. I asked lots of questions as they made me feel comfortable and were open when they didnt know but even better they asked one of the other members of staff to come and help. I tried a wide range as was very surprised by not only the good basic wines but a few very fine wines amongst the range. Will be back and so happy I visited.
Written March 16, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jaclyn H
Seoul, South Korea44 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2017 • Couples
We visited Sileni right before Christmas and it was fantastic!! I would definitely give this place a try and I'm sure you'll enjoy your experience! The woman who served our tasting was very helpful and informative. She gave us a map of the whole country and advice for places to visit.

I would suggest going all around the triangle in this area for the day, there are many great places to try nearby.
Written January 1, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

peterdkiwi
Auckland, New Zealand61 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2014 • Couples
First time to the great winery, very pleasant staff, great wines to taste, lots of goodies to buy in their shop. Will be on the must do list for future visits to the HB
Written October 12, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Glad you enjoyed your visit and please do pop in again sometime.
Written October 16, 2014
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jonathan M
Versailles, France5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2014 • Couples
We had a tour with Anne the retail manager who was such a delight! Very interesting winery with an olive press attached to boot. The cellar door was great and the tour was informative too. We visited Mission Estate and Elephant Hill the same day. Sileni was definitely the best wine we had!
Written June 18, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 178
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Sileni - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Hastings HotelsHastings Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Hastings
All things to do in Hastings
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars