We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Abbey Cellars Winery and Brewpub

Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 1769 Maraekakaho Rd, Hastings 4171, New Zealand
Phone Number: +64 6-879 6171
Website
Today
11:00 am - 5:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Fri - Sat 11:00 am - 5:00 pm
Description:

Situated on red metal soils in Hawkes Bay, New Zealand, Abbey Cellars...

Situated on red metal soils in Hawkes Bay, New Zealand, Abbey Cellars Winery is a boutique 'Single Estate' Winery owned and operated by the Haworth family. Abbey Cellars wines have an exclusive focus on producing smaller volumes of hand-picked ultra premium quality wine. The winery itself is a spectacular sight. Architecturally designed, this winery is our unique interpretation of a Gothic abbey. Abbey Winery & Brewery also produces Fat Monk craft beer.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
$29*
and up
Hawkes Bay Wineries Self-Guided Bike Tour
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 33 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 19
    Excellent
  • 7
    Very good
  • 4
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Brilliant spot but be prepared to forget to carry on travelling, so good you just want to stay longer

Stop #2 on a late afternoon dash around some of the Vineyards, thought we had time to do 4. Hmmm, wine tasting paddle board, you get to choose 4 varieties so good value, then the... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed May 17, 2016
megpage2015
,
Auckland, New Zealand

Similar Things to Do in Hastings

Add Photo Write a Review

33 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 32: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful building and setting. Staff seemed stressed and couldn't cope with numbers at the time. Wines mixed- liked some didn't like others. Well worth a look though to check out the building and cool label names on their wine bottles.

Helpful?
Thank nztraveller476
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016

Great location and venue, staff attentive. We were a bit disappointed my husband couldnt try a beer or two, without having to buy a tasting tray. It wasnt the cost, more the fact it was 4 x 150ml glasses of beer, just too much when having to drive. I know he could have left some undrunk, but he knows he... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kiaoraall
Dermot H, Manager at Abbey Cellars Winery and Brewpub, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. Unfortunately, we don't have a machine to do tastings. We only have a flagon filler, which pours warm to start. So we just do wine tastings smaller than a glass. Cheers, More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

Stop #2 on a late afternoon dash around some of the Vineyards, thought we had time to do 4. Hmmm, wine tasting paddle board, you get to choose 4 varieties so good value, then the craft beer accompanied by a delicious platter. The mum and dad were helping out as they were short staffed and had a few bigger groups... More 

Helpful?
Thank megpage2015
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

We turned up at Abbey Cellars and were greeted by a very flustered and stressed staff member. The tasting process wasn't explained clearly and we wanted the $5 tasting, not the $13 tasting trays. We ordered a cheese platter and it was $30 and contain only two small cheese, both very bland and not what you want when ordering a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nataz246
Dermot H, Manager at Abbey Cellars Winery and Brewpub, responded to this review

Hi, unfortunately we don't do cheese platters in the winter season. It's an anti-pasto platter, which is listed on the menu. Also, we don't do beer tastings. Only the Beer flight in the tray is available. Please take a few more seconds to look at the menu of the premise you enter. Thanks More 

Pukekohe East, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
185 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2016

We visited some years ago and sat outside with a wine and listened to some live music. We returned with friends on a cycle and ate a late lunch platter. The boys enjoyed the selection of beer as a tasting after a day of wine. The rose was our choice as they don't have a Pinot Gris:(. No music this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tracy H
Greater Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2016

Make at least 3 hours to take advantage of the this setup, so much to offer. Abbey Cellars provided morning tea, their knowledge of local complimentary products such as the 'Light Blue-vein cheese' I cannot remember the name, but ask Jan she knows. The Riesling is note worthy (I found this exceptional) an individual who is 20 minutes down the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
Level Contributor
131 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2016 via mobile

Have been here a couple if times now, once with just 2 of us for tasting and once when they had a band on. Tasting with just the 2 of us was interesting, wines were great but staff was difficult to engage with. Same staff member was there when we went when band was on and much the same. Older... More 

Helpful?
Thank Localkiwii
Feilding, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2016

Beautiful venue, great live music. Customer service severely lacking and disorganised with food order and delivery.

Helpful?
Thank Charlee26
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2016 via mobile

Visited on a rainy day, didn't get to enjoy the fabulous outdoor setting but did the beer starting indoors. Beer drinker said beers were fab and was well impressed. Lovely service, beautiful building. Will go back!

Helpful?
Thank EStephens
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2016 via mobile

Ask for The Fat Monk Ales which are crafted here!!!!! The Family that Runs the Establishment are very well travelled, and very welcoming. The reception was warm, friendly and intoxicating. It is the the Only Wine farm in the Area with an authentic European Esque but fresh feel to the architecture and surroundings :) Had a very happy and fun... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ash C

Travelers who viewed Abbey Cellars Winery and Brewpub also viewed

Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Abbey Cellars Winery and Brewpub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Abbey Cellars Winery and Brewpub staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?