We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 194 Cable Bay Road, Nelson 7071, New Zealand
Phone Number: +64 3-545 0304
Website
Description:

Experience guided ATV 4 wheel quad bike tours; ride the world's only...

Experience guided ATV 4 wheel quad bike tours; ride the world's only Skywire flying fox; play Paintball; enjoy a horse trek or ride in the amphibious Argo.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 197 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 150
    Excellent
  • 35
    Very good
  • 6
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
Quad biking and Skywire

My partner and I prebooked the Bay View track and the Skywire. We didn't have a rental car so we asked the staff what the easiest way to get there and back was. They very kindly... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed 2 days ago
Ellie D
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 193: English reviews
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

My partner and I prebooked the Bay View track and the Skywire. We didn't have a rental car so we asked the staff what the easiest way to get there and back was. They very kindly offered to pick us up and drop us off which was amazing. We went on the track with Dan leading is. He was super... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ellie D
Cumbria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Me and 2 friends visited Happy Valley Adventures to do the Skywire yesterday. The whole experience was brilliant. We were picked up at our hostel in central Nelson and driven the 20 minutes out of the city to the venue. We were taken up the mountain and generally looked after by Evan, he was great and a lot of fun.... More 

Helpful?
Thank sunseeker846
kja68, General Manager at Happy Valley Adventures, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. We have had some stunning but cold frosts out here. Even though we have warm gear for the flyers, we encourage to rug up aswell this time of year. More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Not too bad. One host was very negative and condescending, talked us out of riding the quad bikes. Then couldn't work out how much to refund us, kept changing prices. Told us all we were going to crash. The upside was the the other host, very friendly and understanding that we were nervous about the quad bikes and was still... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maddison H
kja68, General Manager at Happy Valley Adventures, responded to this review

We apologise that your experience wasn't so happy. Our staff are trained to emphasis the safety risks involved with Quad biking and ultimately are responsible to keep all personal involved safe. An alternative is given to customers who are not competent enough to ride on their own. Unfortunately sometimes the "Kiwi" trait of saying things how it is can be... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016 via mobile

Great location for some adventure. As we went there while it was low season so they were a bit short staffed and needed to wait for the next ride for almost an hour. We were kindly offered coffees while we waited and it was a stunning day so we sat outside n enjoyed the sun. The 4x4 ride up for... More 

Helpful?
Thank DeoSan
kja68, General Manager at Happy Valley Adventures, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We apologise that your wait in the café was longer than expected. We did not anticipate for the day to get as busy as we did. Normally we can get you away within 30 minutes. I'm glad you enjoyed your trip on our Skywire. We have only lost the odd hat and keys. The tree tops... More 

Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

An excellent place to spend a day driving four wheel drive quad bikes around the hills and finishing with a lovely lunch at the cafe. The sky wie is a thrill seeker.

Helpful?
Thank Denis W
kja68, General Manager at Happy Valley Adventures, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I'm glad you had a great day out at Happy Valley. More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2016 via mobile

It is such an amazing and unique experience. For young and for adults. Also the guide are very nice. Go there !

Helpful?
Thank 636talt
kja68, General Manager at Happy Valley Adventures, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. More 

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016

So much fun, the guide was great and knowledgeable. Amazing view from the top and so fun going backwards! Would do again but probably do the combo if we had more time

Helpful?
Thank Anna E
kja68, General Manager at Happy Valley Adventures, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Combining the Skywire & Quad bikes is a great way to enjoy the scenery and adding a bit of excitement along the way. It only adds approx. 10minutes to your bike tour. Such a shame you did not have time but its a great excuse to come back! More 

Picton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2016

Our family went here and were not disappointed! The sky-wire was awesome. The guide who drove us to the top was friendly and helpful. Staff were very welcoming. Great views from the platform and a thrilling ride all the way down. Will be coming back!

Helpful?
Thank Peanut8twitch
kja68, General Manager at Happy Valley Adventures, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Great to hear your family has had an awesome experience. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2016

Good fun but finished all to soon. Staff very nice. We only did the sky wire so can't say about the other activities. Just cost too much for what we did compared to other activities in the region.

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
kja68, General Manager at Happy Valley Adventures, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are sorry that you were unhappy with the price. It is very hard to compare prices with other activities in nelson as there is nothing like the Skywire in the World. Its a once in a life time experience, one that we hope you will never forget. More 

Kincardine, Canada
Level Contributor
231 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2016

The Flying Fox at Happy Valley adventures was easily a highlight of our trip to New Zealand! The drive up to the flying fox was a bit alarming at spots, but the views at the top were stunning. We had the facility to ourselves and sat in the two middle seats. We wore what we thought of initially as goofy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janeway62

Travelers who viewed Happy Valley Adventures also viewed

 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Happy Valley Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Happy Valley Adventures and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Happy Valley Adventures staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?