We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hervey Bay Eco Marine Tours

Features Animals
Hervey Bay, Australia
More
About Hervey Bay Eco Marine Tours
Discover the wonders of the Great Sandy Marine Park. Explore Round Island, swim, snorkel, relax. Join us on our search for turtles, dolphins, dugongs, reef fish and seabirds.Cultural guided ecotours available from morning through to sunset. Our Eco friendly glass bottom vessel is proudly named the "Milbi" which carries the Butchulla meaning 'sea turtle".
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Hervey Bay Eco Marine Tours
208Reviews0Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 174
  • 20
  • 6
  • 6
  • 2
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sharon T wrote a review Aug 6
4 contributions
Nice day, sad boat though. Glass bottom boat that was so dirty it was green and brown, couldn't see anything. Average lunch and no tropical fruit as promised. Never been asked to help push the boat away from a catamaran when docking. Joe was a character and the beaches were beautiful but the tour was not worth $120 each.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hervey Bay E, Owner at Hervey Bay Eco Marine Tours
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for your feedback. Our apologies for the glass bottom our regular cleaner was unable to clean that day. The lunch was Subway, due to covid we had to outsource and the fruits are in season. We previously provided a tropical fruit platter but again, due to covid we had to change to whole pieces of fruit. With regards to pushing the boat away from catamaran, very occasionally a north wind will slide the vessel as it is a glass bottom and is unlike any other vessel. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed Joe Joe, he's certainly a character.
Read more
Jacek L wrote a review Jul 2022
Brisbane, Australia1 contribution
From booking to disembarking this tour was a joy. It is truly like taking a trip to escape to paradise for a few hours. The boat is gentle and perfect for either large groups or solo travellers. The peace and tranquillity aboard the boat are amazing. I came back feeling renewed. It is difficult to find this level of authenticity and professionalism in one place. Every friend or family member who comes to Hervey Bay will be booked on these tours. It's the first place you should call when you are looking for things to do. The sunsets in Hervey Bay are truly beautiful but aboard the boat, you feel like you are witnessing something really special. Did I mention that the boat has a glass bottom? I found the staff to be very polite and accommodating Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hervey Bay E, Owner at Hervey Bay Eco Marine Tours
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback, we do aim to provide relaxation on the waterways for our guests onboard. And yes, the Hervey Bay sunsets are truly magnificent. We look forward to welcoming your family and friends in the future.
Read more
Matthew G wrote a review Jul 2022
Brisbane, Australia39 contributions32 helpful votes
Booking and check in were great Once on the boat... all bad - the skipper was terrible and struggled to park the boat on many occasions, including on return to harbour (first time ever ive seen this on an excursion in 20 years around the world...) The guide wasnt interested in the group and just walked off by himself, didnt involve the group in much if anything he did, didnt interact with the group on the boat except when pulling into the harbour and explaining a didgeredoo... We got to walk around 2 small islands, no fish or turtles, nothing worth snorkelling for (location, water conditions), the atmosphere on the boat was non-existnet. When we boarded they joked no management on boat so they could relax, they indicated a few management subordinate jokes, just sounded like disgruntled employees. While i appreciate you cant predict water conditions, everything is that was wrong is in your control, get s better guide, a decent skipper and someone knowledgable on water conditions and alternate sites. The highlight was crystal clear water on the last island, although no fish or coral and sand that collapsed when you walked on it which we found ammusement in!, and we were lucky enough to see a few dolphins about 300m away from the boat Lunch was a 6" subway sandwhich, and no drinks were offered on board..... Overall $240 wasted and 4 hours of the day lost sitting aimlessly on a boat to look at rocky beachs & walk in circles with no purpose, if you do decide to do it, take shoes you dont mind getting wet or lose your feet!.....
Read more
Date of experience: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hervey Bay E, Owner at Hervey Bay Eco Marine Tours
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Matthew Thank you for your review we value the opinion of each and every guest. We have not received these kind of comments before so can you please let me know the date of your tour so I can look into this further to investigate. The skipper we have is extremely experienced and as the vessel is a flat bottom boat it can tend to slide in certain wind conditions so I would like to know the date to check the conditions of the day. Kind regards Jacqui.
Read more
Maffrin wrote a review Jul 2022
Duncraig, Australia26 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
I did three tours - the Djinang Walking Tour, the Milbi Sunset Tour and the Cultural Ecotour. I loved every experience. We were a bit unlucky not to see turtles but the weather was perfect. All the staff were friendly and knowledgeable, and it was great to have Butchulla guide Aaron who shared his knowledge and didge playing.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hervey Bay E, Owner at Hervey Bay Eco Marine Tours
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you Catherine for your reviews on all our tours. Each of the tours offer a different experience so I’m thrilled you enjoyed each one. Hope to see you another day. Kind regards ,
Read more
Anakha26 wrote a review Jun 2022
Gold Coast, Australia50 contributions7 helpful votes
An amazing experience! Friendly, knowledgeable and helpful crew. Such a beautiful boat ride with tasty food and informative and fun guide (Aaron) Definitely a must do
Read more
Date of experience: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hervey Bay E, Owner at Hervey Bay Eco Marine Tours
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much. Hervey Bay sunsets are particularly stunning at the moment. Glad you enjoyed the food and of course our Butchulla guide. The indigenous culture of this area is certainly wonderful to be immersed in.
Read more
Previous
123456