Hokitika i-SITE Visitor Information Centre

Hokitika i-SITE Visitor Information Centre

Hokitika i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
4.5
Visitor Centers
Read more
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Write a review
About
Call in to the Hokitika i-SITE and the friendly staff can help with bookings for accommodation,activities and transport all over New Zealand and with no booking fees. Free Maps and Brochures. Open Mon - Fri 9.00 - 5:00pm Sat - Sun 10:00am - 2pm We are also an AA Driver and Vehicle Licensing Agent. Open 9am - 4:30pm
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
98 reviews
Excellent
60
Very good
27
Average
9
Poor
2
Terrible
0

roaming_kiwi58
Christchurch, New Zealand2,723 contributions
Helpful staff, good selection of info leaflets and retail items. We stopped by here to pick up a leaflet about the town heritage walk. They have a notice up saying they are cashless, but I was able to pay for my single page leaflet with coins - I could have used eftpos, but it seemed hardly worth it for 50 cents!
Written April 1, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Sachin K
New York City, NY5,842 contributions
Solo
This visitor center has helpful staff who are committed to ensure that any tourist gets the best out of one’s dedicated time in Hokitika. A great place to start planning for, when in Hokitika.
Written November 30, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Mike Clapham
Ekala, Sri Lanka322 contributions
Family
The nationwide i-Site Visitor Centre network is set up to help travellers. All major towns and cities have an i-Site Visitor Information Centre and in Hokitika it is on Weld Street. If you need help to find your way around the area, this i-Site Centre is where you should start. The helpful staff can advise on what to do and what to see in this small town and also the Westland. They can also book your accommodation, travel and attractions
Hokitika not only gives you views of the Southern Alps, the Hokitika Gorge and an unspoilt beach but it is an ideal base from which to explore the west coast but has a very interesting history that is well worth investigating.
Hokitika, current population 3,100 was founded and settled in 1864, after the discovery of gold during the West Coast Gold Rush. It was an important river port, but many ships came to grief on the notorious ‘Hokitika Bar’ – a sandbar that moves with every tide. By late 1866, it was one of New Zealand's most populous centres. In 1867, the port of Hokitika ranked first in New Zealand in both the number of vessels entering and in the total value of exports; principally gold. On 16 September 1867, there were 41 vessels alongside the wharf at Hokitika, in some places three and four deep. It was a dangerous port, however, with 108 strandings and 32 ships lost from 1865 to 1867. The lack of nearby coal meant that the port declined as rapidly as the gold petered out, though Hokitika remained an official entry port until the 1950s. If you stand quietly on the beach amongst the driftwood and jetsum you can imagine what this wild and beautiful place must have been like during the days of the gold rush that lasted just 3 years.
The major industries of pounamu, gold, coal, and forestry have all dwindled over the last century, but a growing ecotourism industry has grown up and the town is starting to show signs of recovery. It has become a major tourist stop on the West Coast's main highway route, with carving of greenstone an important local industry.
Today Hokitika is a popular but quiet tourist destination popular with walkers and cyclists using the many tracks and trails in the area.
Things to do in Hokitika can be sourced from the iSite Centre, including a self-guided walking tour around this historic town, visiting galleries that specialise in pounamu jewellery and quality art works. Gold jewellers, wood turners and potters provide other souvenir opportunities.
The Hokitika Sock Machine Museum in town has on display a collection of antique sock-knitting machines and invites visitors to knit their own socks.
The Arahura River, which enters the sea just north of Hokitika, is a traditional source of pounamu (greenstone) and guided greenstone tours are given by informative Maori guides. Scenic flights to view Mt Cook and the glaciers are available, subject to favourable weather conditions.
Hokitika’s icon event is the Wildfoods Festival, held at the end of summer, in March. It has been running since 1990. Available wild food ranges from the intriguing to the disgusting.
Written December 6, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

etiguys
Invercargill, New Zealand92 contributions
Couples
I know Southland and Otago well. and the Grey District part of WC as have rellys there, but was quite unsure about anywhere south of Kumara Junction on the WC especially at wintertime, so it is really great to have somewhere in Hokitika where you can get all the info you need about Hoki, south WC, Fiordland, etc., rather than troll through the Net (tho Trip Advisor is excellent on specific places of course). A good place with helpful information and local informative staff.
Written August 23, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write a review from us. I'm glad we could help you gather some information on Fiordland and the West Coast. We have a passion for our beautiful country and love to help the locals experience it.
Written August 27, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sue H
Bexhill, England, United Kingdom44 contributions
Couples
Got to Hokitika late in the afternoon and just caught the i-SITE open. The staff seemed pleasant and helpful, lots of information available about the area. Situated in the main street opposite a fish and chip shop. Plenty of parking nearby
Written July 7, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I am pleased your caught us open so we could help you gather some information. We are very lucky to have a prime, easy to find spot just off the main road. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels!
Written August 27, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

TeeAyBee
Westgate-on-Sea, UK30 contributions
Couples
As I said in the title, this place cannot do enough for you. The British Tourist Information centres would do well to learn from the New Zealand iSites. Make the iSite *your* first port of call in any town in New Zealand!
Written May 2, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are always over the moon to hear from happy customers who have enjoyed their experience with us :) I hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels!
Written August 28, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Dan_Explorateur
Gatineau, Canada225 contributions
We were recommend by friends to stop in Hokitika and we therefore stopped at the i-Site to get some information about this very nice little City, home of the pounamu (greenstone) artworks. We were very received and got great recommendations from the friendly staff of this I-Site. Very nice visit of this small city accordingly.
Written December 26, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Totosfamily
Dunedin, New Zealand178 contributions
Couples
So I should clarify.... Service was fine. Lady was pleasant enough. Heaps of info. I guess that ticks the boxes for an I-site.

But I bought a Wilderness Cycle Trail Guide for $20 (100% mark up that I’m pretty sure doesn’t get back to the trail) and its an old, out of date version. That’s poor guys. I even asked it it was current. I know old stock is a perennial issue but it’s 2019 so the 2017 version isn’t good enough.

Ended up buying another up-to-date one elsewhere.
Written April 16, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kia Ora. Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you felt the retail price for the guide book was marked to high. The Wilderness Cycle Trail guide books differ in that one is from Greymouth to Ross and the other guide is from Ross to Greymouth with a few updates. The guide books for Ross to Greymouth are now available from the trust. We would be happy to refund your money if the book is still in good order. I am sorry for the delay in response. We support the West Coast Wilderness trail by providing advertising, donation collection and itineraries using local operators and sponsors of the cycle trail. I'm glad that you were able to purchase the guide book that you were after. Nga mihi maioha. (Thank you with appreciation)
Written May 7, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

santo t
Auckland, New Zealand7,589 contributions
Couples
Probably the best service I ever get in travelling around NZ so far. Firstly when I arrived the staff lady happily and cheerfully told me about what attractions available in the locality of Hokitika town, one of them was to see the biggest gold nugget ever found in Hokitika and still able to be displayed to the public in a gold shop named The Gold Room, something very unique for me. Then I lost my reading glasses, a bit worry after looking for at several places I returned to this I-Site and the staff kept my glasses safely after one of the visitors found my glasses. Unforgettable experience, thanks. Location is very close to the Hokitika Clock Monument intersection, in the town centre.
Written May 12, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Santo T We try and be cheerful as well as helpful !! and the Gold nugget sure is a sight to see We like to hold onto lost property for as long as we can so people can retrace their steps back to us, so glad we could be of assistance. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your journey around the country
Written October 28, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Edward R
Palm Cove77 contributions
Couples
Staff were very helpful. Free wifi with good speed.
Nice gift section and some DOC maps and info as well.
Written May 3, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 85
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Hokitika i-SITE Visitor Information Centre - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go

Frequently Asked Questions about Hokitika i-SITE Visitor Information Centre

Hokitika i-SITE Visitor Information Centre is open:
  • Mon - Fri 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  • Sat - Sun 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM