We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shantytown Heritage Park

Rutherglen Rd | Paroa, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand
+64 3-762 6634
Website
Save
Review Highlights
A hidden gem

Really authentic reproduction of life in NZ 150 years ago. Much thought and time has been spent on... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Linda J
,
Auckland Region, New Zealand
via mobile
Good impression, like it

I notice a previous reviewer mentions it being a great special place for something like a wedding... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
williamjohnson1994
,
Otago Region, New Zealand
Read all 442 reviews
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Overview
More
Shantytown is a leading New Zealand culture and heritage attraction. Made up of over 30 historic buildings it is a faithfully recreated 19th century pioneer town, inspired by the West Coast gold rushes of the 1860s. Highlights include riding the steam train, gold panning, the Beehive store with its range of traditional confectionery and the opportunity to have an old time photo portrait taken as a memento of your visit.
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good42%
  • Average21%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“gold panning” (120 reviews)
“steam train” (86 reviews)
“shanty town” (31 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
LOCATION
Rutherglen Rd | Paroa, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 3-762 6634
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Really authentic reproduction of life in NZ 150 years ago. Much thought and time has been spent on this recreation - we spent almost 4 hours there and might have stayed longer if we hadn't got other places we really wanted to see.

Thank Linda J
Shantytown, Manager at Shantytown Heritage Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Linda, Thanks for leaving us a review. It's heart-warming when we receive feedback recognising the hard work we've put into our Museum to keep it interesting, fun and relevant. We hope the rest of your trip went well.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I notice a previous reviewer mentions it being a great special place for something like a wedding and the friend in Queenstown who suggested we drop in to Shanty had told us same. It is reasonably expensive @ Bill, me and our youngster but we...More

Thank williamjohnson1994
Shantytown, Owner at Shantytown Heritage Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to call into Shantytown and for leaving us a review! Great to learn we were recommended to you and you and your family had an enjoyable visit! Thanks for the recommendation! We hope the sun stayed out for the rest...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Joined in the wedding celebrations of our friends sons wedding at the Shantytown Hall - what a great venue - very well laid out and amazing catering - will be a wedding we will not forget. A great day for all concerned.More

Thank Brynkoru
Shantytown, Manager at Shantytown Heritage Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there, I think it might be our first review on our Conference and Events service so thank you!! We're very pleased to receive your feedback. Our Miner's Hall is a very special event space especially for weddings. It was a pleasure to host your...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

$33 per adult is an absolute rip off and you wonder what this actually buys you as you still pay $7 if you want to do some gold panning or god knows how much if you wanted to take your picture in old heritage dress...More

1  Thank ThePearOrchard
Shantytown, Manager at Shantytown Heritage Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're sorry to learn your visit to Shantytown didn't meet your expectations but we're glad to hear your kids enjoyed the gold panning! I wish we had gold nuggets to give away!! The alluvial...More

Reviewed July 12, 2017

A neat experience, to visit a place that has actual local history! Good fun on a good day!!! Been here a few times over the years and its stiil good to visit.

1  Thank Antony602016
Shantytown, Manager at Shantytown Heritage Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Antony. Thanks for your support. Great to hear from our repeat visitors :)

Reviewed July 11, 2017

This is a family favourite over the years, there are many activities for both young and old and the attractions have been upgraded over the years. I particularly like the sawmill and of course the steam train. Being interested in geology the Miners hall was...More

1  Thank Alaine B
Shantytown, Manager at Shantytown Heritage Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Alaine, Thanks for your review. We're delighted to hear we're a family favourite!

Reviewed July 9, 2017 via mobile

The brochures promoting this made it seem we were in for a real treat but honestly it was crap, way overpriced and so many things either not working or closed for the day. I would recommend people go elsewhere for gold panning as $7 for...More

Thank RMHOP
Shantytown, Manager at Shantytown Heritage Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're sorry we didn't meet your expectations. I'd be interested to learn what was closed or not working on your visit so I can address this issue. I'll PM you so you can send us...More

Reviewed June 28, 2017

We visited Shantytown on the morning of Monday, 26th June, 2017. When we purchased the ticket, the lady at the counter recommended to check out the gold panning. She said it would be fun. We listened to her recommendation, and we paid for $80 ($33...More

1  Thank Johnny N
Shantytown, Manager at Shantytown Heritage Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2017

Hi Johnny, Thanks for your review. I'm really sorry to learn of your recent experience at Shantytown. You're correct, you should have received 2 gold coin tokens if you had paid $80.00 at the ticketing office. For this, I apologise on behalf of our ticketing...More

Reviewed June 26, 2017 via mobile

Kids (8,7 and 5) enjoyed the park. The big hit was the gold panning which resulted in a small vial of gold. The train ride was a bit of fun and the kids liked the gold sluicing demonstration. Our guide was very helpful.

1  Thank DanMarlee
Shantytown, Manager at Shantytown Heritage Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2017

Hi DanMarlee, Thanks very much for taking the time to write us a review! We love reading about family fun experiences at Shantytown!

Reviewed June 6, 2017 via mobile

Been here several times, including a first visit about 46 years ago when most of the old stuff was new 😉. Serveral disappointing visits since, but things have greatly improved in recent, judging by today's visit. The entry fee includes a steam train ride but...More

Thank Gavin6114
Nearby
Sponsored by:
Nearby Restaurants
The Junction Honey Cafe
47 reviews
4.28 miles away
Maggie's Kitchen
220 reviews
6.18 miles away
Ali's Eating & Drinking
320 reviews
6.21 miles away
Buccleugh's on High
408 reviews
5.31 miles away
Nearby Attractions
On yer bike! Adventures
475 reviews
8.77 miles away
Coal Creek Track
10 reviews
9.55 miles away
Monteith's Brewing Company
511 reviews
5.79 miles away
Mitchells Gully Goldmine
35 reviews
6.11 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
vickie413
March 29, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Kim H | Reviewed this property |
Half a day would be enough ... we arrived at lunchtime and left at closing time.
1
Vote
Ian L
July 17, 2015|
Answer
Response from DDSWM |
Taxi
0
Votes