Shantytown Heritage Park
Shantytown Heritage Park
4
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
About
Shantytown is a leading New Zealand culture and heritage attraction. Made up of over 30 historic buildings it is a faithfully recreated 19th century pioneer town, inspired by the West Coast gold rushes of the 1860s. Highlights include riding the heritage train, gold panning, the Beehive store with its range of traditional confectionery and the opportunity to have an old time photo portrait taken as a memento of your visit.
Duration: 1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Admission tickets
from $24.20
All you need to step foot in the door.
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

Top ways to experience Shantytown Heritage Park and nearby attractions

See what travelers are saying
  • kiwimusume
    Auckland, New Zealand37 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    It made me realise how much of our own history I didn't know
    The West Coast has such an important history that apparently at one point they planned to put the capital of New Zealand there. Going here made me realise that there's so much of our own history I didn't know. You can learn about the gold rush that happened here (and try panning for gold) as well as what life in general was like in the 19th century. Well worth a visit!
    Thanks heaps Kiwimusume We're pleased we helped give you a little glimpse of West Coast history and an appreciation of our tough it must have been for those who lived here back in the day. They were hardy folk no matter where they came from. A long way from our lives today thats for sure
    Written July 12, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited June 2023
    Traveled solo
    Written July 2, 2023
  • Jan R
    210 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Great Food for Business Event
    Fabulous event for our industry function. Was more about the food though. Been here a few times over the years for various events but this one really stood out. The food was exceptional. Staff were friendly and efficient too. Thanks team - well done.
    Visited July 2023
    Traveled on business
    Written August 31, 2023
  • Christina C
    1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Trains!!!
    We spent basically the whole day here, there was so much to look at! The staff were very friendly, especially the train driver who even let us ride in the cab. It's a shame the steam engine wasn't running, but that just means we'll have to come back another time!
    Visited November 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written December 25, 2023
  • GPM NZ
    Ashburton, New Zealand9 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Very informative
    We thought it would be a quick outing and we spent 5hrs there. Soo much history to see and read about. Lovely experience. A must is the old time photos, a lot of fun. Everybody was really friendly, The only negative was one lady at the cafe who was fairly rude, service was slow for the few people there. All out a great experience.
    Thank you for your feedback Global What an outstanding length of time you spent here. There is a lot to see and we are always happy when people leave having experienced just a little bit of the West Coast history. Sorry to hear about your observation of the cafe though. This is disappointing.
    Written January 7, 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited January 2024
    Traveled with family
    Written December 31, 2023
  • Paul Hartog
    Hamilton, New Zealand26 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Shantytown Greymouth
    A lot of potential but a rather sad experience. Slot of the audio experiences were not operating and the visual experiences on the tv’s were not available. Don’t believe it was value for money and the experience needs a bit of work. The train ride experience could be made alot more interesting and informative, rather than everyone just sitting there in the coach. Sorry guys.
    We're sorry too. The only experience not operating is the theatre (and its fix is underway) and the 2 story Coronation Hall. This has had an extensive outside restoration but we've yet to start on the inside. This a winter job for staff. I've checked the 'tv's' and all are running (sawmill, saloon, vintage car clubroom and foundry) There is an audio experience in each of the train carriages which covers the key aspects of operating a heritage train, and the history of the line it runs on including the sawmill and gold claim. Perhaps you were expecting a guard in each carriage to be providing a running commentary to all passengers? We've opted for the audio commentary so all passengers have the same experience each trip
    Written January 31, 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited January 2024
    Traveled with family
    Written January 9, 2024
  • Rae K
    3 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Could do with sprucing up!
    I love this type of historical attraction normally but this one is looking a little tired and uncared-for. Many of the audio recordings did not trigger on approach - those that did were interesting though. Not all buildings were open to view. Only the little train and the refreshment outlet were staffed and I feel the experience would be better if there were knowledgeable persons to engage with.
    Hmmmm, only one building was not open to view - the 1903 Coronation Hall which is part way through a significant restoration. I'm struggling to understand out why you felt only the train and cafe were staffed, as the entry, Beehive sweet and ice-cream store, Saloon and Old time photos are staffed daily, not to mention the Gold claim. Of course our educators who work out of the school, aren't back on deck in the public arena until schools are back this week Privately owned buildings such as the West Coast Gem & Mineral Hall, the West Coast Vintage Car Club rooms and the Masonic Lodge are only populated when those clubs meet and/or Shantytown organises community days .
    Written January 31, 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited January 2024
    Traveled as a couple
    Written January 11, 2024
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles692 reviews
Excellent
224
Very good
268
Average
133
Poor
39
Terrible
28

Suzanne803
New Zealand21 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2024 • Couples
Train buffs seemed to be enjoying themselves. It was overpriced, but ok, until we reached the hospital exhibit.
The human remains there are incredibly disrespectful imho. Explained as a “working skeleton” of a 16 year-old girl of Indian descent, she’s in a velvet-lined casket above the eye-line of children who “might be upset” by seeing her. We in Aotearoa-NZ expect respectful repatriation of tangata whenua remains from overseas. If the bones of this human being cannot be returned to her homeland, at least grant her some dignity with a burial or cremation. It’s not ok to still have her on show as some sort of sad display. 😔
Times have actually changed, Shantytown.
Written April 16, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

20jag20
20 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was easy to find. We enjoyed the train ride and watching the Weka and chicks. The exhibits were interesting and varied. The the staff and guided were friendly and knowledgeable. We all enjoyed our time there.
Written March 5, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Resort17559929627
St Helens, UK5 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2024 • Family
Yet another reminder from history that the deeds of our forebears took some doing and shouldn’t be forgotten. Well done to the conservation group for their restoration work
Written March 4, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Kim C
Wellington, New Zealand2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2024 • Couples
The concept of the shantytown is a good one, and it shows a lot of interesting history of the place.
However the overall feeling we left with was that it was a low energy place... while there were some staff who were passionate about what they were doing, the place lacked vibrancy.
Written February 24, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Mobile48809046862
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2024 • Couples
Amazing people, Such a lot of fun, loved it and highly recommend it to all. BUT BEWARE, you may get GOLD FEVER, LOL. My husband has it and sees every stream as a possibility to go panning in.
Written January 25, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brilliant to hear! Nothing wrong with getting gold fever - I reckon all of us who work here have it as well but we don't have time to fossick in the creek! We are pleased to hear you had fun and we hope you took at little bit of the West Coast back home with you
Written January 31, 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rae K
3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2024 • Couples
I love this type of historical attraction normally but this one is looking a little tired and uncared-for. Many of the audio recordings did not trigger on approach - those that did were interesting though. Not all buildings were open to view. Only the little train and the refreshment outlet were staffed and I feel the experience would be better if there were knowledgeable persons to engage with.
Written January 12, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hmmmm, only one building was not open to view - the 1903 Coronation Hall which is part way through a significant restoration. I'm struggling to understand out why you felt only the train and cafe were staffed, as the entry, Beehive sweet and ice-cream store, Saloon and Old time photos are staffed daily, not to mention the Gold claim. Of course our educators who work out of the school, aren't back on deck in the public arena until schools are back this week Privately owned buildings such as the West Coast Gem & Mineral Hall, the West Coast Vintage Car Club rooms and the Masonic Lodge are only populated when those clubs meet and/or Shantytown organises community days .
Written January 31, 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Paul Hartog
Hamilton, New Zealand26 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2024 • Family
A lot of potential but a rather sad experience. Slot of the audio experiences were not operating and the visual experiences on the tv’s were not available. Don’t believe it was value for money and the experience needs a bit of work. The train ride experience could be made alot more interesting and informative, rather than everyone just sitting there in the coach. Sorry guys.
Written January 10, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We're sorry too. The only experience not operating is the theatre (and its fix is underway) and the 2 story Coronation Hall. This has had an extensive outside restoration but we've yet to start on the inside. This a winter job for staff. I've checked the 'tv's' and all are running (sawmill, saloon, vintage car clubroom and foundry) There is an audio experience in each of the train carriages which covers the key aspects of operating a heritage train, and the history of the line it runs on including the sawmill and gold claim. Perhaps you were expecting a guard in each carriage to be providing a running commentary to all passengers? We've opted for the audio commentary so all passengers have the same experience each trip
Written January 31, 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Brian S
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2024 • Family
Whilst mildly interesting and quirky, the place just feels tired. The movie theatre was out of order, the old time photos were not operating, a number of the displays in the mining village were not working.
The gold panning was a bit of fun, even for the older kids. Maybe come here for a bit of nostalgia if that's your thing, just keep your expectations low. Certainly don't come for lunch! The icecreams are yummy though.
Written January 4, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit to Shantytown. I'd be interested to know the date you were here, as the Old Time Photos have been operating daily over the summer period thus far. The only display not open is the Coronation Hall which is still undergoing its internal restoration. Most certainly the theatre was not operating and we have that clearly advertised on the door and on the Shantytown web site. Sometimes technology stumps us!!!!
Written January 7, 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Wanderer57034758230
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2024 • Family
Was a bit disappointed with the lack of atmosphere, the train could of gone more frequent with the amount of people wishing to board, there were no slots for photos as told they were all booked, in 2 hours never seen any photos been taken, the bar had no staff, we were completely confused with China town!!
No movie was on, will not come back sadly
Written January 3, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hey Wanderer, when did you visit? We have scheduled trains summer and winter, and increase the scheduled times during summer, add more trips when daily visitation means the carriages are full and/or when unexpected groups arrive. With regards to the photos, the photographer works from the bar so unless photos were being taken around the township - as they often are, there would have been a presence in the saloon. During this summer, the photos have been booked out most days except for first thing in the morning. Not sure what has confused you with Chinatown. Yes the holographic theatre is closed and this is clearly noted on the Shantytown web site. Due to technology issues, this is not a quick fix however there is a lot more to the Shantytown experience, than the theatre!
Written January 7, 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

GPM NZ
Ashburton, New Zealand9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2024 • Family
We thought it would be a quick outing and we spent 5hrs there. Soo much history to see and read about. Lovely experience. A must is the old time photos, a lot of fun. Everybody was really friendly, The only negative was one lady at the cafe who was fairly rude, service was slow for the few people there. All out a great experience.
Written December 31, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your feedback Global What an outstanding length of time you spent here. There is a lot to see and we are always happy when people leave having experienced just a little bit of the West Coast history. Sorry to hear about your observation of the cafe though. This is disappointing.
Written January 7, 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 641
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Shantytown Heritage Park - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

Frequently Asked Questions about Shantytown Heritage Park

Shantytown Heritage Park admission prices can vary. Entrance tickets currently cost $24.50, while a popular guided tour starts around $1,454.64 per person.



All Greymouth HotelsGreymouth Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Greymouth
All things to do in Greymouth
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars